Zalman VF900-Cu

Conclusion

Conclusion

I'm extremely impressed by this heatsink. The way it performed in my small, Antec Super Lanboy case was amazing. My computer is relitively quiet, compared to the average overclocked rig. With only low-speed fans in use, there is more of a slight breeze internally, than most wind-tunnel like pc's. With this limited amount of airflow, the VF900-Cu still trounced the VF700-Cu, in both performance and noise.

The price vs. performance ratio is awesome. Yes, it is one of the most expensive video card heatsinks on the market, but it includes the Fan Mate 2, and has awesome performance.

The VF900-Cu on a 7900GT CO SE performed just as good. With a slightly larger case (Antec Solution Series), and slightly more powerful fans (2x 120x38MM Panaflo's on LOW via Zalman FanMate II's), it held up great temperatures, not passing 50ºC at any time. This is truly a revolutionary video card cooler, and I reccomend it to anyone with either an nVidia or ATi based graphics card.

Zalman Tech Support: I called Zalman USA earlier, and spoke to one of their tech reps. First off, he spoke proper english. Look's like Zalman didn't outsource their tech support. Secondly, they're sending me new springs USPS, ASAP! Great, prompt tech support. I also noted that the guy seemed to know what he was doing, and was even interested in the card I was using! Techs that are into the tech, now that's cool.

For the nVidia cards...

Pro's
Good Performance
Quieter than most heatsinks
Light weight
Great build quality & base

Con's
Can be out of some people's price range


Enter a short description of the image  

For the ATi Cards

Pro's
Light Weight
Quiet
Good build quality & base

Con's
Can be out of some people's price range
Stock X1K Heatsink, with aftermarket thermalpaste performs better

Enter a short description of the image

Discuss this review in our forums...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-04-2006, 20:34:18

NickS

Today I reviewed the new Zalman VF900-Cu heatsink, and has proven itself to be a great performer.

Questions, comments, constructive critisizm welcome.

Review Here

Nick

12-04-2006, 20:58:33

Raging
that is a good reveiw bro

reps for you!

might have to get me one of these soon for my 7800gt

cheers.

12-04-2006, 21:11:27

NickS
Thnx, Raging

I'll try to post some 7900GT results in the review when my Dad's VF900-Cu arrives. He ordered one, and it should be here by Friday

Nick

12-04-2006, 23:12:21

WC Annihilus
Very nice review man, looks beastly One thing, you should include prices on the last page in $, Euro, GBP, AUD, w/e. Besides that though, nice

13-04-2006, 01:58:07

youpla
Nice review and very good product indeed. Zalman is obviously making quality products. I owned the Fatality version of the VF700 before I switched to W/C and it was doing an excellent job cooling my 7800GT.

I bet that the 900 would be my choice if I had to move back to air cooling at the moment.

One thing I would just like to add is that although Zalman has good products, their customer support is extremly poor not to say inexistant!!! I bought a lot of their products, including the VF700, Reserator 1 Plus, fans etc...

I have tried to contact their support center by emails several times, without any answers. Posted in their support forum without any answers too. Many users on their support forum have been reporting this absence of support has well... And not to mention that a couple of weeks ago the support forum went down and has now totally disappeared from their website!

Just thought it was worth mentioning

13-04-2006, 04:02:03

JN
Top review mate, very easy reading. I'm impressed.

Only small gripe is that it might have been better to take some of those pictures on a white background, as a couple are quite dark.

Apart from that, A+++

13-04-2006, 04:12:54

FarFarAway
Good review Nick. We'll see about sorting you out with some more

13-04-2006, 10:52:05

NickS
Thanks guys!

@ XMS. I used two different camera's for the review.

The one I used that took the darker pics, was my parents' Fujifilm Finepix 3.2MP, as I thought it would be better. It was better at taking clearer pix (close up) but the flash sucks tbh.

The brighter pix were taken by my trusty 2MP Kodak. I guess I should stick to the Kodak, as it takes pretty good closeups. The picture of the box with the specs on the back was taken by the Kodak, pretty impressive.

Anyway, thanks again!

I'll see if I can whip up a little picture area with a white background. (White paper? lol)

Nick

13-04-2006, 11:24:35

Raging
a pure white sheet against a white background if possible would look quite a bit more proffesional but just a white sheet would do i guess

cheers.

13-04-2006, 16:59:34

mrbeef
i want one ive got the gfx version and they look so cool

14-04-2006, 16:13:48

NickS
7900GT CO SE results added!

Nick

14-04-2006, 16:18:49

WC Annihilus
Looking pretty slick there man. However, you still didn't put prices!

14-04-2006, 17:37:28

NickS
I'm keeping it clean. If anyone want's to price hunt, they can do so.

Nick

16-04-2006, 18:11:26

NickS
http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?type=3&id=39&page=9

Please re-read my conclusion. I have a conclusion for both ATi & nVidia cards.

Why? I was still unhappy with the performance of this heatsink on my graphics card. Despite reapplying the thermalpaste, and trying both Arctic Silver Ceramique and Arctic Silver 5.. I was still getting load temperatures in the mid to HIGH 70*C range. So, I investigated. The STOCK cooler, with Arctic Silver Cermaique, performs about 5-10*C better than the VF900-Cu. The VF series cannot handle X1K series cards, and their high heat output. With the fan speed set to dynamic, my card SLOWLY crawled up to 65*C, 81% fan speed, with the stock cooler after 6 minutes of ATi Tool. It bounced back and forth between 65*C and 64*C. So, I re-edited my review accordingly. Thanks,

Nick

16-04-2006, 18:14:30

WC Annihilus
Why did you put "Good Performance (on NON X1K cards)" next to nVidia cards? That should be down under ATI cards

16-04-2006, 18:15:09

FarFarAway
Good work Nick. Thorough. nice

16-04-2006, 18:59:35

NickS
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Why did you put "Good Performance (on NON X1K cards)" next to nVidia cards? That should be down under ATI cards
Fixed.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.