Zalman VF900-Cu

Installation

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 04/12/2006
Author: Nicholas Sarpolis (NickS)
Hardware Acquired: Silicon Valley Compucycle & Newegg,com

Installation

Installing this card is fairly easy, and I think uses a much better method than the VF700-Cu.  The VF700-Cu, only makes use of 2/4 mounting holes available on most modern cards, while the VF900-Cu uses all four, better distributing pressure.. which leads to better overall contact and heat transfer.  Heres some pictures of the VF700-Cu, the card, and eventually the VF900-Cu mounted.

 
Enter a short description of the image  Enter a short description of the image

As you can see, the mounting system isn't the best.  The bracket for the VF700-Cu is quite cumbersome during installation.  Let's get to installing the VF900-Cu, shall we?  I've been reading up on these heatsinks a lot, and people say with the VF series, it's best to spread an even coat of Arctic Silver 5.  I did so, with my leet high-school student ID card.  Any credit card type card works.

Enter a short description of the image  Enter a short description of the image

Mounted up.  Really nice heatsink in my opinion.  Great contact too.  Make sure you tighten down each knob extremely tight.  The tighter the better, until a certain point.  The springs limit you, to how much you can tighten the heatsink down.  I pretty much flattened the springs.

Enter a short description of the image  Enter a short description of the image  Enter a short description of the image

Looks good, I must say myself.  Now let's look at the performance.

 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-04-2006, 20:34:18

NickS

Today I reviewed the new Zalman VF900-Cu heatsink, and has proven itself to be a great performer.

Questions, comments, constructive critisizm welcome.

Review Here

Nick

12-04-2006, 20:58:33

Raging
that is a good reveiw bro

reps for you!

might have to get me one of these soon for my 7800gt

cheers.

12-04-2006, 21:11:27

NickS
Thnx, Raging

I'll try to post some 7900GT results in the review when my Dad's VF900-Cu arrives. He ordered one, and it should be here by Friday

Nick

12-04-2006, 23:12:21

WC Annihilus
Very nice review man, looks beastly One thing, you should include prices on the last page in $, Euro, GBP, AUD, w/e. Besides that though, nice

13-04-2006, 01:58:07

youpla
Nice review and very good product indeed. Zalman is obviously making quality products. I owned the Fatality version of the VF700 before I switched to W/C and it was doing an excellent job cooling my 7800GT.

I bet that the 900 would be my choice if I had to move back to air cooling at the moment.

One thing I would just like to add is that although Zalman has good products, their customer support is extremly poor not to say inexistant!!! I bought a lot of their products, including the VF700, Reserator 1 Plus, fans etc...

I have tried to contact their support center by emails several times, without any answers. Posted in their support forum without any answers too. Many users on their support forum have been reporting this absence of support has well... And not to mention that a couple of weeks ago the support forum went down and has now totally disappeared from their website!

Just thought it was worth mentioning

13-04-2006, 04:02:03

JN
Top review mate, very easy reading. I'm impressed.

Only small gripe is that it might have been better to take some of those pictures on a white background, as a couple are quite dark.

Apart from that, A+++

13-04-2006, 04:12:54

FarFarAway
Good review Nick. We'll see about sorting you out with some more

13-04-2006, 10:52:05

NickS
Thanks guys!

@ XMS. I used two different camera's for the review.

The one I used that took the darker pics, was my parents' Fujifilm Finepix 3.2MP, as I thought it would be better. It was better at taking clearer pix (close up) but the flash sucks tbh.

The brighter pix were taken by my trusty 2MP Kodak. I guess I should stick to the Kodak, as it takes pretty good closeups. The picture of the box with the specs on the back was taken by the Kodak, pretty impressive.

Anyway, thanks again!

I'll see if I can whip up a little picture area with a white background. (White paper? lol)

Nick

13-04-2006, 11:24:35

Raging
a pure white sheet against a white background if possible would look quite a bit more proffesional but just a white sheet would do i guess

cheers.

13-04-2006, 16:59:34

mrbeef
i want one ive got the gfx version and they look so cool

14-04-2006, 16:13:48

NickS
7900GT CO SE results added!

Nick

14-04-2006, 16:18:49

WC Annihilus
Looking pretty slick there man. However, you still didn't put prices!

14-04-2006, 17:37:28

NickS
I'm keeping it clean. If anyone want's to price hunt, they can do so.

Nick

16-04-2006, 18:11:26

NickS
http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?type=3&id=39&page=9

Please re-read my conclusion. I have a conclusion for both ATi & nVidia cards.

Why? I was still unhappy with the performance of this heatsink on my graphics card. Despite reapplying the thermalpaste, and trying both Arctic Silver Ceramique and Arctic Silver 5.. I was still getting load temperatures in the mid to HIGH 70*C range. So, I investigated. The STOCK cooler, with Arctic Silver Cermaique, performs about 5-10*C better than the VF900-Cu. The VF series cannot handle X1K series cards, and their high heat output. With the fan speed set to dynamic, my card SLOWLY crawled up to 65*C, 81% fan speed, with the stock cooler after 6 minutes of ATi Tool. It bounced back and forth between 65*C and 64*C. So, I re-edited my review accordingly. Thanks,

Nick

16-04-2006, 18:14:30

WC Annihilus
Why did you put "Good Performance (on NON X1K cards)" next to nVidia cards? That should be down under ATI cards

16-04-2006, 18:15:09

FarFarAway
Good work Nick. Thorough. nice

16-04-2006, 18:59:35

NickS
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Why did you put "Good Performance (on NON X1K cards)" next to nVidia cards? That should be down under ATI cards
Fixed.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.