Zalman VF900-Cu

Specifications & Accessories

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 04/12/2006
Author: Nicholas Sarpolis (NickS)
Hardware Acquired: Silicon Valley Compucycle & Newegg,com

Specifications

Directly from the Zalman USA website.

Specifications
- Dimensions : 96(L) X 96(W) X 30(H)mm
- Weight : 185g
- Base Material : Pure Copper
- Bearing Type : 2-Ball
- Speed : 1,350 ~ 2,400rpm ± 10%
- Noise Level : 18.5 ~ 25.0dB ± 10%

Enter a short description of the image

Accessories

The heatsink comes with many accessories, that justifies the price of this heatsink.  Included with the Zalman VF900-Cu, are the following items.

1) Heatsink Assembly (VF900-Cu)
2) Eight RAM Heatsinks
3) Four Nipple
4) Four Fixing Nuts
5) One PVC Washer Plate
6) Four Rubber Rings
7) Four Springs
8) Thermal Grease
9) FAN Controller(FAN MATE 2)
10) Cable for FAN MATE 2
11) Dual-sided Tape(to attach FAN MATE 2)
12) User's Manual - in English and Korean

Enter a short description of the image  Enter a short description of the image

It even includes the very useful and versitile Fan Mate 2, a $7 item alone.  This is better than the usual 5V/12V adapters they give you.  The Fan Mate 2 gives you ultimate control, and balance between silence and performance.

Included is also a very thorough manual, some thermal paste, a nice Zalman case badge, and all of the required hardware for proper installation on just about any card on the market.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-04-2006, 20:34:18

NickS

Today I reviewed the new Zalman VF900-Cu heatsink, and has proven itself to be a great performer.

Questions, comments, constructive critisizm welcome.

Review Here

Nick

12-04-2006, 20:58:33

Raging
that is a good reveiw bro

reps for you!

might have to get me one of these soon for my 7800gt

cheers.

12-04-2006, 21:11:27

NickS
Thnx, Raging

I'll try to post some 7900GT results in the review when my Dad's VF900-Cu arrives. He ordered one, and it should be here by Friday

Nick

12-04-2006, 23:12:21

WC Annihilus
Very nice review man, looks beastly One thing, you should include prices on the last page in $, Euro, GBP, AUD, w/e. Besides that though, nice

13-04-2006, 01:58:07

youpla
Nice review and very good product indeed. Zalman is obviously making quality products. I owned the Fatality version of the VF700 before I switched to W/C and it was doing an excellent job cooling my 7800GT.

I bet that the 900 would be my choice if I had to move back to air cooling at the moment.

One thing I would just like to add is that although Zalman has good products, their customer support is extremly poor not to say inexistant!!! I bought a lot of their products, including the VF700, Reserator 1 Plus, fans etc...

I have tried to contact their support center by emails several times, without any answers. Posted in their support forum without any answers too. Many users on their support forum have been reporting this absence of support has well... And not to mention that a couple of weeks ago the support forum went down and has now totally disappeared from their website!

Just thought it was worth mentioning

13-04-2006, 04:02:03

JN
Top review mate, very easy reading. I'm impressed.

Only small gripe is that it might have been better to take some of those pictures on a white background, as a couple are quite dark.

Apart from that, A+++

13-04-2006, 04:12:54

FarFarAway
Good review Nick. We'll see about sorting you out with some more

13-04-2006, 10:52:05

NickS
Thanks guys!

@ XMS. I used two different camera's for the review.

The one I used that took the darker pics, was my parents' Fujifilm Finepix 3.2MP, as I thought it would be better. It was better at taking clearer pix (close up) but the flash sucks tbh.

The brighter pix were taken by my trusty 2MP Kodak. I guess I should stick to the Kodak, as it takes pretty good closeups. The picture of the box with the specs on the back was taken by the Kodak, pretty impressive.

Anyway, thanks again!

I'll see if I can whip up a little picture area with a white background. (White paper? lol)

Nick

13-04-2006, 11:24:35

Raging
a pure white sheet against a white background if possible would look quite a bit more proffesional but just a white sheet would do i guess

cheers.

13-04-2006, 16:59:34

mrbeef
i want one ive got the gfx version and they look so cool

14-04-2006, 16:13:48

NickS
7900GT CO SE results added!

Nick

14-04-2006, 16:18:49

WC Annihilus
Looking pretty slick there man. However, you still didn't put prices!

14-04-2006, 17:37:28

NickS
I'm keeping it clean. If anyone want's to price hunt, they can do so.

Nick

16-04-2006, 18:11:26

NickS
http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?type=3&id=39&page=9

Please re-read my conclusion. I have a conclusion for both ATi & nVidia cards.

Why? I was still unhappy with the performance of this heatsink on my graphics card. Despite reapplying the thermalpaste, and trying both Arctic Silver Ceramique and Arctic Silver 5.. I was still getting load temperatures in the mid to HIGH 70*C range. So, I investigated. The STOCK cooler, with Arctic Silver Cermaique, performs about 5-10*C better than the VF900-Cu. The VF series cannot handle X1K series cards, and their high heat output. With the fan speed set to dynamic, my card SLOWLY crawled up to 65*C, 81% fan speed, with the stock cooler after 6 minutes of ATi Tool. It bounced back and forth between 65*C and 64*C. So, I re-edited my review accordingly. Thanks,

Nick

16-04-2006, 18:14:30

WC Annihilus
Why did you put "Good Performance (on NON X1K cards)" next to nVidia cards? That should be down under ATI cards

16-04-2006, 18:15:09

FarFarAway
Good work Nick. Thorough. nice

16-04-2006, 18:59:35

NickS
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Why did you put "Good Performance (on NON X1K cards)" next to nVidia cards? That should be down under ATI cards
Fixed.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.