Yate Loon D12SL-12 120mm Case Fan Review

Testing

Testing
 
You can see from the included graph that the Noctua NF-P12 fan provides considerably more static pressure than the Yate Loon D12SL-12. Please bear in mind that my ghetto testing equipment only provides an indication of static pressure, and according to the results below the D12SL-12 provided static pressure between 0 - 0.09 cmH2O and the NF-P12 - 0.199 cmH2O.
 
Static pressure chart
 
You can see from the free air flow chart that the NF-P12 facilitates slightly more airflow than the Yate Loon D12SL-12, even though the NF-P12 has a slighly lower rotational speed than the D12SL-12.
 
 Free Air Performance
 
The D12SL-12 doesn't cope as well with the radiator testing, mainly due to its inability to generate more static pressure. However I was surprised at the results that it managed to muster regardless.
 
Radiator Air Flow
 
Installing the D12SL-12 and NF-P12 120mm fans on the radiator for our cooling tests yielded some slightly predictable, but  interesting results. The NF-P12 certainly has the goods and it performs well whilst being almost totally quiet. The Yate Loon D12SL-12 on the other hand is slightly noisier than the the Noctua @12v, but at 7v they sound pretty much on par.
 
D12SL-12 vs Noctua NF-P12 Temperature Comparison
Voltage (v)7v  7vΔT12v12vΔT
Radiator probe configinout inout 
Yate Loon D12SL-1237.534.92.637.134.22.9
Noctua NF-P1234.331.6 2.734.130.93.2
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-02-2008, 04:40:46

PV5150
Looking for some capable fans without breaking the bank? I can certainly recommend the Yate Loon D12SL-12.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...025207233s.jpg

Review link

05-02-2008, 05:04:09

Barry
They are brilliant fans indeed.

05-02-2008, 07:19:04

NickS
Yate Loon FTMFW!

05-02-2008, 12:06:29

clone38
Only fans i will use

05-02-2008, 13:31:56

cybermaniac
would you recommend these over the noctuas?

05-02-2008, 13:33:49

clone38
Yes as they are cheap about 5 each.

05-02-2008, 13:38:28

Bungral
These aint much more than a fiver though and seem to have better tech spec... Not actually used mine yet though so dunno how they actually preform but I've heard good things.

http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=41_68&products_id=454

On the actual subject of this thread though.. Nice review man.. I've never used a Yate so have no right to say whether they are good or not but they do seem to do the job.

06-02-2008, 01:15:09

ai_01
yes YATES ftw, luv em.

I think stock Lian Li fans are Yates and they just slap a sticker on them. =/ wouldn't be surprised.

07-02-2008, 10:17:52

w3bbo
Nice review BUT you have the fan title wrong (or the pics). The pic is a D12SM-12 yet the review title is of a DS12SL-12 which is a different fan with different specs.

Model: D12SM-12

Dimensions: 120x120x25mm

Rated Voltage: 12 Volts

Operation Voltage: 6.5~13.8 Volts

Input current: 0.30 Amp Max

Operation temperature: -10 to +65 C

Storage temperature: -40 to +70 C

RPM: 1650 +/- 10%

CFM: 70.5

dB: 33

Model: D12SL-12

Dimensions:120x120x25mm

Rated Voltage: 12 Volts

Operation Voltage: 6.5~13.8 Volts

Input current: 0.30 Amp Max

Operation temperature: -10 to +65 C

Storage temperature: -40 to +70 C

RPM: 1350 +/- 10%

CFM: 47

dB: 28

08-02-2008, 10:32:09

w3bbo
Great fans especially the SL. Always use em now
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.