Yate Loon D12SL-12 120mm Case Fan Review

Introduction

Introduction
 
I'd like to wager that there aren't many people who aren't familiar with the name Yate Loon. The Taiwanese based manufacturer of DC fans is very popular within the realms of the PC enthusiast, and more accurately, the water-cooling enthusiast.
 
Today I have been given the opportunity of reviewing some Yate Loon D12SL-12 120mm Fans. Will these fans deliver more air flow and an increase in static pressure which should make them the perfect candidates for heat sink and radiator cooling duties?
 
Yate Loon D12SL-12
 
Let's move on and have a look at the Yate Loon D12SL-12's specifications....
 
 
Specifications
 
The Yate Loon D12SL-12 specifications were unashamedly taken from the products webpage.
 
Model: D12SL-12
Dimensions:120x120x25mm
Rated Voltage: 12 Volts
Operation Voltage: 6.5~13.8 Volts
Input current: 0.30 Amp Max
Operation temperature: -10 to +65 C
Storage temperature: -40 to +70 C
RPM: 1350 +/- 10%
CFM: 47
dB: 28

The specifications look par for the field for the Yate Loon D12SL-12, although I would have preferred to see a little more information on the fans like MTBF and bearing type.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-02-2008, 04:40:46

PV5150
Looking for some capable fans without breaking the bank? I can certainly recommend the Yate Loon D12SL-12.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...025207233s.jpg

Review link

05-02-2008, 05:04:09

Barry
They are brilliant fans indeed.

05-02-2008, 07:19:04

NickS
Yate Loon FTMFW!

05-02-2008, 12:06:29

clone38
Only fans i will use

05-02-2008, 13:31:56

cybermaniac
would you recommend these over the noctuas?

05-02-2008, 13:33:49

clone38
Yes as they are cheap about 5 each.

05-02-2008, 13:38:28

Bungral
These aint much more than a fiver though and seem to have better tech spec... Not actually used mine yet though so dunno how they actually preform but I've heard good things.

http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=41_68&products_id=454

On the actual subject of this thread though.. Nice review man.. I've never used a Yate so have no right to say whether they are good or not but they do seem to do the job.

06-02-2008, 01:15:09

ai_01
yes YATES ftw, luv em.

I think stock Lian Li fans are Yates and they just slap a sticker on them. =/ wouldn't be surprised.

07-02-2008, 10:17:52

w3bbo
Nice review BUT you have the fan title wrong (or the pics). The pic is a D12SM-12 yet the review title is of a DS12SL-12 which is a different fan with different specs.

Model: D12SM-12

Dimensions: 120x120x25mm

Rated Voltage: 12 Volts

Operation Voltage: 6.5~13.8 Volts

Input current: 0.30 Amp Max

Operation temperature: -10 to +65 C

Storage temperature: -40 to +70 C

RPM: 1650 +/- 10%

CFM: 70.5

dB: 33

Model: D12SL-12

Dimensions:120x120x25mm

Rated Voltage: 12 Volts

Operation Voltage: 6.5~13.8 Volts

Input current: 0.30 Amp Max

Operation temperature: -10 to +65 C

Storage temperature: -40 to +70 C

RPM: 1350 +/- 10%

CFM: 47

dB: 28

08-02-2008, 10:32:09

w3bbo
Great fans especially the SL. Always use em now
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.