XSPC X2O Delta CPU waterblock

Conclusion

Conclusion

Now there are two things that stand out particularly well during the testing phase of the XSPC X2O Delta. The mass of copper cooling pins present in the base of the X2O Delta not only caused the slight pressure drop that we saw in the test results, but they also managed to impede the the flow of heat away from the Intel Q6600's four cores enough to result in an elevated temperature when overclocking. This isn't to say that the XSPC X2O Delta is a slouch when it comes to cooling; nothing could be further from the truth. But the improved coolant channels and less-restrictive positioning of the pin structure on the D-TEK FuZion in my opinion makes it more efficient.

However, the XSPC X2O Delta is significantly cheaper than the D-TEK FuZion it was compared against. Whilst the XSPC X2O Delta can be purchased from WaterCooling UK for £28.99 including 17% VAT , the D-TEK FuZion comes in at £37.99. If you are looking for the creme-de-la-creme and best performing waterblock, then the D-TEK FuZion is it, but if you are looking for a great all-round workhorse capable of keeping a dual- or quad-core processor on the cool side then the XSPC X2O Delta will perform the task with ease.

The quality of the XSPC X2O Delta is very apparent and the chrome finish would certainly look the part on any high-end rig...plus you get to save a few pounds along the way. The universal adaptor plate is also great for allowing those on older sockets the flexibility of cooling their hardware too. Further; even though I had reservations about whether the adaptor plate would cause issues when mounting the waterblock on some of the newer motherboards, I am pleased to say that it doesn't, well not on my P5B Deluxe anyway.

The XSPC X2O Delta CPU waterblock today has earned the 'recommended award' for its performance, and the 'value for money' award based on its price.

Pros

+ Universal socket compatability
+ Very respectable performance
+ Price
+ Appearance

Cons

- Slightly more pressure drop than the D-TEK FuZion
- Beaten by the D-TEK FuZion in cooling performance.

Recommended Award Value For $$ Award

Overclock3d would like to thank WaterCooling UK for supplying the review specimen. Without their dedication and support, this review would not have been possible.

Discuss in our forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-09-2007, 10:27:41

PV5150
We take XSPC's latest CPU waterblock and pit it against the D-TEK FuZion. Take a look at the review and the results may surprise you.

Link

07-09-2007, 12:25:17

Uncle_Fluffy
Excellent review there PV,

I've been waiting nervously for this cos I'd already plumped for the FuZion

I'm now very happy I did with my hotter running B3

07-09-2007, 12:28:46

PV5150
Thanks Uncle_Fluffy for the feedback. The X2O Delta is still a very nice block and more than capable of cooling your quad-core. But you'll enjoy your D-TEK too

07-09-2007, 17:32:00

Ham
Nice review as ever Pvs.

08-09-2007, 00:52:53

ai_01
nice review Matt, i would not be surprised if this block would out preform the fusion when the 8 and 16 cores come out. kind of like the storm and fusion today.

08-09-2007, 01:40:40

PV5150
Hi ai_01 and Ham...thanks for the feedback. Your comment certainly holds some weight as XSPC are working on a new revision of the Delta as we speak. As I find out more details I'll let you know...

08-09-2007, 06:40:06

Mr. Smith
Superb review mate.

Having just ordered the fuZion I was especially pleased (as was Fluffy) when the comparison between the two concluded with the fuZion retaining the cooling crown.

This talk of revising the Delta has me worried!

Must... Have... Best...

08-09-2007, 06:44:13

PV5150
Thanks mate Yeah XSPC want to beat the FuZion for sure so it'll pay to keep an eye out in the near future, and with the next revision they may well do it.

08-09-2007, 06:51:47

llwyd
Tip top review there mate, well done. I'm happy with my Apogee for the moment though

08-09-2007, 14:56:03

FarFarAway
Nice review Peevs, comprehensive and well written as usual

09-09-2007, 05:41:25

Aqua-Pc's
impressive review

09-09-2007, 06:10:57

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
Tip top review there mate, well done. I'm happy with my Apogee for the moment though
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Nice review Peevs, comprehensive and well written as usual
Thanks lads

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Aqua-Pc's'
impressive review
Thank you sir

16-09-2007, 11:27:09

Barry
I would have though that the block not coming with barbs would have been seen as a con in the conclusion.

Nice review othwerwise though.

16-09-2007, 23:07:22

PV5150
The block does normally come with barbs but due to the supplier being exceptionally busy I was cutting him some slack. If you order the Delta it will come with barbs, hence the reason that I didn't include it as a con. Thanks for the feedback anyway mate

20-09-2007, 15:44:23

Brooksie
Nice review, this may be the CPU block I will use for my WC setup

21-09-2007, 08:56:36

PV5150
Thank you. The X20 Delta is a very capable waterblock and as an added bonus you get to save some money along the way.

21-09-2007, 11:05:06

nunzio
Aye this is a lovely waterblock, been in my loop since dayone, lovely
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.