XSPC X2O Delta CPU waterblock

Packaging and Contents

Packaging and Contents

Ok let's take a look inside the X2O Delta's packaging to see what's included.

X2O Delta box

X2O Delta package contents

Hmmm, there's something missing from this image...ahh the barbs! Nevermind, it's just as well that I happen to have a few kicking about at my place. Anyway included in the XSPC X2O Delta's packaging are:

* 4 x mounting bolts complete with nylon washers, tension springs and tension nut.
* 1 x 3.5 gram syringe of thermal interface material (TIM)
* 1 x XSPC X2O Delta CPU waterblock
* 1 x XSPC X2O Delta CPU waterblock adaptor plate.

Everything is included in order to get your CPU water-cooling well underway. Although there weren't any barbs included in the packaging WatercoolingUK provide a drop-down menu on their website where you can choose between 1/2", 3/8", 10/8mm compression or 10mm push fit connectors.

Let's have a little bit of a closer look at the review specimen shall we...

A Closer Look

As I said on the previous page, the XSPC X2O Delta has received an increase in the pin count present on the bottom of the block. According to my rough calculations the pin-count is somewhere in the vicinity of 1000 pins on 1960 mm-squared. Pretty impressive stuff, but we'll have to wait a little longer until we see how it equates into overall performance.

X2O Delta pin count

Block measurement

Block measurement 2

The X2O water-block feels extremely solid and is certainly a very weighty little beast. The X20 also comes well lapped and the chrome finish certainly loves to retain fingerprints, but it's certainly eye-catching.

Lapped base

water block and hold-down plate

The Universal hold-down plate is an ever-increasing feature that we are seeing manufacturers include in an effort to provide compatability and longevity for those on older sockets. Whilst it certainly serves a purpose, you would no-doubt agree that the increased size of the plate may cause issues; especially on newer motherboards where the passive cooling solutions of ASUS and Gigabyte are bordering 'over the top'. However, I am happy to report that this didn't cause any problems when it came to testing the block.

The supplied thermal paste is a 'silver' based interface material and looks slightly granular and less viscous than AS5 in appearance.

Let's head over the page to see the test setup...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-09-2007, 10:27:41

PV5150
We take XSPC's latest CPU waterblock and pit it against the D-TEK FuZion. Take a look at the review and the results may surprise you.

Link

07-09-2007, 12:25:17

Uncle_Fluffy
Excellent review there PV,

I've been waiting nervously for this cos I'd already plumped for the FuZion

I'm now very happy I did with my hotter running B3

07-09-2007, 12:28:46

PV5150
Thanks Uncle_Fluffy for the feedback. The X2O Delta is still a very nice block and more than capable of cooling your quad-core. But you'll enjoy your D-TEK too

07-09-2007, 17:32:00

Ham
Nice review as ever Pvs.

08-09-2007, 00:52:53

ai_01
nice review Matt, i would not be surprised if this block would out preform the fusion when the 8 and 16 cores come out. kind of like the storm and fusion today.

08-09-2007, 01:40:40

PV5150
Hi ai_01 and Ham...thanks for the feedback. Your comment certainly holds some weight as XSPC are working on a new revision of the Delta as we speak. As I find out more details I'll let you know...

08-09-2007, 06:40:06

Mr. Smith
Superb review mate.

Having just ordered the fuZion I was especially pleased (as was Fluffy) when the comparison between the two concluded with the fuZion retaining the cooling crown.

This talk of revising the Delta has me worried!

Must... Have... Best...

08-09-2007, 06:44:13

PV5150
Thanks mate Yeah XSPC want to beat the FuZion for sure so it'll pay to keep an eye out in the near future, and with the next revision they may well do it.

08-09-2007, 06:51:47

llwyd
Tip top review there mate, well done. I'm happy with my Apogee for the moment though

08-09-2007, 14:56:03

FarFarAway
Nice review Peevs, comprehensive and well written as usual

09-09-2007, 05:41:25

Aqua-Pc's
impressive review

09-09-2007, 06:10:57

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
Tip top review there mate, well done. I'm happy with my Apogee for the moment though
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Nice review Peevs, comprehensive and well written as usual
Thanks lads

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Aqua-Pc's'
impressive review
Thank you sir

16-09-2007, 11:27:09

Barry
I would have though that the block not coming with barbs would have been seen as a con in the conclusion.

Nice review othwerwise though.

16-09-2007, 23:07:22

PV5150
The block does normally come with barbs but due to the supplier being exceptionally busy I was cutting him some slack. If you order the Delta it will come with barbs, hence the reason that I didn't include it as a con. Thanks for the feedback anyway mate

20-09-2007, 15:44:23

Brooksie
Nice review, this may be the CPU block I will use for my WC setup

21-09-2007, 08:56:36

PV5150
Thank you. The X20 Delta is a very capable waterblock and as an added bonus you get to save some money along the way.

21-09-2007, 11:05:06

nunzio
Aye this is a lovely waterblock, been in my loop since dayone, lovely
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.