XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 Watercooling Kit Review

Up Close: Raystorm CPU Block

XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 Watercooling Kit Review

 

Up Close:  Raystorm CPU Block

Seen by many as the successor to the RASA CPU water-block (which is a cracking waterblaock and still very much available), the Raystorm offers greater performance and increased CPU compatibility. (a separate AMD version is available so fret not).  The Raystom comes in 3 parts, the main block, the acrylic mounting bracket, and the black aluminium trim.  This trim can be easily removed should you not wish to use it, or perhaps, if you wish to change it's colour or appearance.

XSPC EX240 Watercooling Kit Review     XSPC EX240 Watercooling Kit Review

The copper face of the water block is finished to a very high sheen (believe it or not, the picture below right is taken with the protective plastic film still attached.  There is decent spacing between the G1/4 threads to allow for the attachment of bulky compression fittings.  The outer mounting bracket can be rotated though 90 degrees, not that this matters too much as each of the 4 sides has a hole for a 3mm LED.  

XSPC EX240 Watercooling Kit Review     XSPC EX240 Watercooling Kit Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-06-2012, 05:51:35

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...052921351l.jpg


We all know of XSPC as being one of the main players in the watercooling world. The relaease of their new line of water cooling kits, based around the Raystorm CPU block and the new EX series Radiators, along with the classic X20 750 Pump/res combo's see's them make a bid for the throne.


Continue Reading

28-06-2012, 08:15:18

SieB
Not bad at all, worth the extra 50 over the H100 anyway.

28-06-2012, 12:40:28

airdeano
im glad to see the performance comparisons. undoubtably, the thin radiator is growing
and that manufacturers are also improving on their goods.
i know there is really no replacemnet for the standard radiator, but are these newer
revisions of thinner radiators "comparable" to the duties of the standard rads?
2-5? 10? 15?
with the flow of new cases and their bullet-pointed captions of support for water-cooling
really is making for some interesting questions in water-cooling. plus the crowds
are trying to make water-cooling the band-aid for either a bad over-clock or
wrong system design. i can see where the thin maybe in.. but for serious
usage of water-cooling for looks and function, i can not see the standard
radiator being replaced for the proper way to water-cool a system.

airdeano

28-06-2012, 17:04:15

Master&Puppet
Fantastic results again from XSPC. Some people really hate the idea of "pre-made custom kits" but XSPC have been on to a winner for a good while now and I'm impressed to see that this 240 rad has come so close to the old RS360.

I was an owner of a RS360 kit for a good while as my first WC kit and I couldn't have been any happier. This does the same thing in a smaller package.

For the record I had absolutely no issue with the 750 pump either. For 6 months it ran perfectly and silently. If people are getting noise it's because they are surely failing to bleed properly, or mounting the res poorly. Highly recommended.

28-06-2012, 17:11:27

airdeano
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master&Puppet View Post
If people are getting noise it's because they are surely failing to bleed properly, or mounting the res poorly. Highly recommended.
10-4 'dat...

airdeano

28-06-2012, 19:06:40

WillSK
This looks great! definitely the kind of thing i'd wanna try when i first venture into water cooling. I wonder if it'd fit well in a 600T i'll admit i get a bit confused about radiator sizes i.e 240 vs 360 is it the thickness?

Sorry to sound dumb

28-06-2012, 19:12:08

Josh Weston
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillSK View Post
This looks great! definitely the kind of thing i'd wanna try when i first venture into water cooling. I wonder if it'd fit well in a 600T i'll admit i get a bit confused about radiator sizes i.e 240 vs 360 is it the thickness?

Sorry to sound dumb
A 360mm rad uses 3x120mm fans - it's the length of the rad.
Rads are also rated in their thickness, i.e. 30mm, 60mm, 80mm
It doesn't matter how thick the rad is, it shall still be, more or less, the same length.
You can get rads that use 120mm fans, 140mm fans and 180mm and 200mm+ fans too

28-06-2012, 19:13:30

WillSK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Weston View Post
A 360mm rad uses 3x120mm fans - it's the length of the rad.
Rads are also rated in their thickness, i.e. 30mm, 60mm, 80mm
It doesn't matter how thick the rad is, it shall still be, more or less, the same length.
You can get rads that use 120mm fans, 140mm fans and 180mm and 200mm+ fans too

Perfect! thank you

28-06-2012, 21:27:14

arnzzz
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post
Not bad at all, worth the extra 50 over the H100 anyway.
This kits close to 300 over at specialtech, little bit more than the H100

still i know which id prefer

28-06-2012, 23:03:49

airdeano
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillSK View Post
I wonder if it'd fit well in a 600T
had you looked here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jdoW6LFOOd8&feature=plcp

this is Toms 600T water cooling guide....

airdeano


Quote:
Originally Posted by arnzzz View Post
This kits close to 300 over at specialtech, little bit more than the H100
here's the specialtech link for ex240 "raystorm" @ 149.99
http://specialtech.co.uk/spshop/customer/XSPC-Raystorm-750-EX240-WaterCooling-Kit--EX-Series-Kit-pid-16244.html

you might be figuring the D5 RX360 @ 289..

airdeano
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.