XSPC 290X & 290 Razor Waterblock Review and Fitting Guide

Performance and Testing

XSPC Razor R9 290 290X Review and Fitting Guide

Performance and Testing

The test set up consisted of the following

Intel i7 3960X 4.0GHz @ 1.25v Gigabyte X79 UD3 Corsair Vengeance LP Memory Corsair HX850 V2 Corsair Force GT 60GB Coolermaster Storm Trooper. 

Our aim here is not to review the performance of the R9 290 card, but to examine the affects that aftermarket cooling has on the temps.  To this end we've compared the figures received to those of the stock cooler and the MSI R9 290 Gaming, as well as other recently tested after market solutions.

With the Razor completing our testing process we think the graph below gives a clear indication of just how great an effect after market cooling solutions and in particular the XSPC Razor can have on a GPU.  The Razor keeps the previously toasty R9 290 down at just 27 degrees at rest (a full 10 degrees cooler than the stock solution) and even under full load only rises to a max of 40 degrees which, remembering that the CPU is also included in this loop is still an amazing 15 degrees cooler than the Kraken G10.  If you want further confirmation of this solutions potential it might be worth reflecting on how even under full load the R9 290 coupled with the Razor is only 3 degrees hotter than the stock cooler at rest!

Yes a full loop is going to cost you more, and yes it will take time and planning to put together, but the results speak for themselves. 

 

XSPC Razor R9 290X/290 Review and Fitting Guide  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-06-2014, 07:18:41

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...170009869l.jpg

Let's see how well the latest Razor from XSPC can tame the tempestuous R9 290


Continue Reading

23-06-2014, 07:29:26

Watsyerproblem
Good Review Gary as always. I agree with all your points fully, as I do own the same water block on a r9 290.

If XSPC were only slightly cheaper they would easily dominate the market IMHO, I just love their LED lighting!

23-06-2014, 08:04:47

barnsley
Man that is a real beaut.

23-06-2014, 09:14:01

Grimsons
What did you use with the Kraken G10?I was thinking of doing it that way with an Corsair H55. Or would that be to small for the amount of heat produced. Should I just go for a full custom loop. I already have an H100 in the system for my cpu.

23-06-2014, 09:27:50

RickPlaysWarr
Great Review Gary. I love the point where you just stopped and said we need to bask in the glory of the assembled card/backplate. The design is simply lovely. I took a look and see they make a block for the R295x2. Now that would be an awesome pair if I ever found the $2K or so it would take to make it happen.

I love the simplicity and classy design that XSPC putting into the Raystorm line of products.

Thank you much Gary

23-06-2014, 09:32:20

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimsons View Post
What did you use with the Kraken G10?I was thinking of doing it that way with an Corsair H55. Or would that be to small for the amount of heat produced. Should I just go for a full custom loop. I already have an H100 in the system for my cpu.
Go read the G10 review dude

23-06-2014, 10:06:59

Grimsons
Will do thanks I didn't realize there is one... I'm new :P

23-06-2014, 11:45:42

looz
Nice, the beast has finally been tamed!

23-06-2014, 14:43:10

SnowmanFromHell
Nice... especially that the block actually covers the entire PCB, unlike certain other blocks (*ahem* aquacomputer *ahem*) that basically end at the VRMs and leave an unsightly part of uncovered PCB (yeah yeah, I know, you probably won't see it anyway... but just KNOWING that the block doesn't cover the whole card is annoying )

24-06-2014, 07:22:25

polar
great review, spot on with everything, only thing i'd add would be that by using better, than the provided in the box, thermal paste on the GPU and thermal pads on the VRMs, you can get even better temps.
love my razor 290, it's probably the best bit of upgrade kit i've bought, in terms of making a difference from the vanilla component.

24-06-2014, 07:31:15

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by polar View Post
great review, spot on with everything, only thing i'd add would be that by using better, than the provided in the box, thermal paste on the GPU and thermal pads on the VRMs, you can get even better temps.
love my razor 290, it's probably the best bit of upgrade kit i've bought, in terms of making a difference from the vanilla component.
We always use MX4 or Noctua NT-H1

24-06-2014, 07:49:14

polar
used gelid gc extreme and a strip of fujipoly ultra extreme on the VRMs myself. unfortunately haven't got the test equipment to back up any claims scientifically but i saw something like 5-7 drop in temps on full load on the GPU core and even more on the VRMs, especially so on the problematic VRM1.
if nothing else, it helped ease my mind about baking the card when playing a game : )
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.