XSPC 290X & 290 Razor Waterblock Review and Fitting Guide

RX 360 v3

XSPC Razor R9 290 290X Review and Fitting Guide

RX 360 v3

As we're going to be building a full loop we thought it best to mate the Razor with XSPCs latest version of the already established RX series radiator.  As we're going to be using the 2011 rig along with the toasty R9 290 we're going to need to ensure we're able to adequately dissipate the heat.  For us, the RX360 v3 was the obvious choice. 

 

Technical Specification

 Materials Brass Core, Copper Fins
 Dimensions 130x56x398.5 (WxDxH)
 Core Thickness 46mm
 Channels 2 rows of 21mm x2mm tubes
 FPI 13 (Splitter Fin)
 Ports 4xG1/4" (2 blanks supplied)
 Weight 1630g (empty)
 Fans Up to 6x120mm (3 preside)
 Fan spacing 15mm
Fittings 12x6mm and 12x30mm 6-32 screws

 

As with all XSPC products the RX 360 v3 comes in a simple card box but is protected by may layers of packaging within.  Even the screw pack, which contains all the screws you should need for mounting and fan installation is taped to a thick piece of card and positioned so as to not damage the radiator underneath.       

XSPC Razor R9 290X/290 Review and Fitting Guide     XSPC Razor R9 290X/290 Review and Fitting Guide

 

Like Previous RX units before it, the RX 360v3 is finished in Matt Black with a lightly embossed XSPC logo visible on both sides of the shroud.  Fan mounts are of a standard 15mm spacing and are located down both sides of the rad.  The rad is just 56mm thick but of course this will rise to some 81mm with a single set of fans and 106mm if you go push pull.

XSPC Razor R9 290X/290 Review and Fitting Guide     XSPC Razor R9 290X/290 Review and Fitting Guide

 

Four G1/4" ports are located at one end giving access from the top or either side.  The common flow tank at the other end is slim which helps keep the overall length down and is devoid of a bleed plug.

XSPC Razor R9 290X/290 Review and Fitting Guide     XSPC Razor R9 290X/290 Review and Fitting Guide

 

The RX V3 has a 46mm thick Brass core and copper fins.  It has a fin density of 13FPI with two rows of 21mm deep 2mm tubes.  There are nine of these on each of the two layers.

XSPC Razor R9 290X/290 Review and Fitting Guide     XSPC Razor R9 290X/290 Review and Fitting Guide  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-06-2014, 07:18:41

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...170009869l.jpg

Let's see how well the latest Razor from XSPC can tame the tempestuous R9 290


Continue Reading

23-06-2014, 07:29:26

Watsyerproblem
Good Review Gary as always. I agree with all your points fully, as I do own the same water block on a r9 290.

If XSPC were only slightly cheaper they would easily dominate the market IMHO, I just love their LED lighting!

23-06-2014, 08:04:47

barnsley
Man that is a real beaut.

23-06-2014, 09:14:01

Grimsons
What did you use with the Kraken G10?I was thinking of doing it that way with an Corsair H55. Or would that be to small for the amount of heat produced. Should I just go for a full custom loop. I already have an H100 in the system for my cpu.

23-06-2014, 09:27:50

RickPlaysWarr
Great Review Gary. I love the point where you just stopped and said we need to bask in the glory of the assembled card/backplate. The design is simply lovely. I took a look and see they make a block for the R295x2. Now that would be an awesome pair if I ever found the $2K or so it would take to make it happen.

I love the simplicity and classy design that XSPC putting into the Raystorm line of products.

Thank you much Gary

23-06-2014, 09:32:20

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimsons View Post
What did you use with the Kraken G10?I was thinking of doing it that way with an Corsair H55. Or would that be to small for the amount of heat produced. Should I just go for a full custom loop. I already have an H100 in the system for my cpu.
Go read the G10 review dude

23-06-2014, 10:06:59

Grimsons
Will do thanks I didn't realize there is one... I'm new :P

23-06-2014, 11:45:42

looz
Nice, the beast has finally been tamed!

23-06-2014, 14:43:10

SnowmanFromHell
Nice... especially that the block actually covers the entire PCB, unlike certain other blocks (*ahem* aquacomputer *ahem*) that basically end at the VRMs and leave an unsightly part of uncovered PCB (yeah yeah, I know, you probably won't see it anyway... but just KNOWING that the block doesn't cover the whole card is annoying )

24-06-2014, 07:22:25

polar
great review, spot on with everything, only thing i'd add would be that by using better, than the provided in the box, thermal paste on the GPU and thermal pads on the VRMs, you can get even better temps.
love my razor 290, it's probably the best bit of upgrade kit i've bought, in terms of making a difference from the vanilla component.

24-06-2014, 07:31:15

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by polar View Post
great review, spot on with everything, only thing i'd add would be that by using better, than the provided in the box, thermal paste on the GPU and thermal pads on the VRMs, you can get even better temps.
love my razor 290, it's probably the best bit of upgrade kit i've bought, in terms of making a difference from the vanilla component.
We always use MX4 or Noctua NT-H1

24-06-2014, 07:49:14

polar
used gelid gc extreme and a strip of fujipoly ultra extreme on the VRMs myself. unfortunately haven't got the test equipment to back up any claims scientifically but i saw something like 5-7 drop in temps on full load on the GPU core and even more on the VRMs, especially so on the problematic VRM1.
if nothing else, it helped ease my mind about baking the card when playing a game : )
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.