Xilence Interceptor Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

 Xilence Interceptor Review  

 

Introduction

Xilence isn't perhaps one of the first names that springs to mind when you're thinking about that new case purchase, but lets not just dismiss them out of hand merely because they're not well known.  As a German based company utilising Chinese manufacturing they certainly tread a well worn route with regards to design and manufacturing.  So at the very least some of the basics of the recipe are there.

The interceptor is part of a range of 3 cases all with similar rugged looks but with varying specs and capacity.  At the bottom of the range lies the smaller "Hornet", and at the top the monolithic Interceptor pro.  Here we take a look at the mid range £149 Interceptor.  By no means a small case, standing 580mm tall, it's able to accept some of the largest motherboards on the market today, including the HPTX.

Xilence also appear to have included a few innovative solutions in their designs, such as all SSDs and HDDs having hot swap capability and a variable geomety roof venting system.  Lets hope they haven't let this get in the way of the basics.

 

Technical specification

Case material/thickness: SECC 0.6&0.8mm
Front panel material: ABS
Dimensions: 230mm x 605mm x 580mm
Drive slots: 4x 5.25” exposed / 6x 2.5” SSD/SATA-HDD (with hot swap tray) / 2x 3.5” HDD internal (hidden)
Expansion Slots: 10x PCI
Rear Cooling:1x 140mm
Front Cooling: 2x 120mm
Side Cooling: 2x 120mm or 2x 140mm or 1x 230mm (optional)
Top Cooling: 3x 120mm or 2x 140mm or 1x 230mm (optional)
Front I/O: Main case: 1xUSB 3.0 + 2xUSB 2.0 + HDaudio +Reset + Power
Possible Watercooling: 1x 360mm radiator / 1x 240mm radiator / 1x 120mm radiator + 1x 120mm fan

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-07-2012, 04:01:16

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...044218791l.jpg


With rugged looks and a capacious interior able to accept HPTX motherboards, lets see if the Xilence interceptor has what it takes to make the OC3D "A" list


Continue Reading

11-07-2012, 08:09:32

Ru5ty_t00l
good review.
what about a review fot the interceptor pro case?

11-07-2012, 09:49:19

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ru5ty_t00l View Post
good review.
what about a review fot the interceptor pro case?
Probs wont happen for a bit (if at all) use this as a guide its not rocket science to work the rest out tbh.

11-07-2012, 10:26:32

airdeano
kinda looks like if the HAF X and the Switch had a baby.. this is what you'd get.
a HAF Switch...

airdeano

11-07-2012, 10:33:53

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by airdeano View Post
kinda looks like if the HAF X and the Switch had a baby.. this is what you'd get.
a HAF Switch...

airdeano

I think it would need much uglier parents than that.....

Looks like it fell out of the ugly tree imho.

11-07-2012, 12:19:49

PEXON
And the HAF-X didn't?!

11-07-2012, 19:58:39

CPMFW
nice review...
to me it looks a bit cheap to be honest
i like the red accents, tho

12-07-2012, 00:41:28

airdeano
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
I think it would need much uglier parents than that.....

Looks like it fell out of the ugly tree imho.
and hit every branch and twig on the way down, too!
LOL!!

airdeano

PS, too bad you dont have a second channel and tons of extra time to make an "unknown"
video of zero use PC products. rip and screw the bullet pointed ideas of the
product and evaluate the "crash" factor of how it performs from a 5-story roof
top to the ground!

12-07-2012, 07:13:45

aznseank
as mentioned above....this is by far the ugliest case I've seen in my life. Who the hell design this monstrocity? I am also very glad that tinytomlogan isn't giving raving reviews just because the company sent him a sample. I hope overclock3d continues to be unbiased in its reviews unlike so many other websites. In the long run, people aren't stupid, so be honest in your reviews.

12-07-2012, 15:50:31

G-Dubs
Regardless of who undertakes the reviews here at OC3D you can rest assured that they are always unbiased. If something doesn't measure up there's no point saying it does as your trust in us and our reputation as being firm but fair would just disolve.

13-07-2012, 16:14:34

RyanAndrew
Looks like it fell out of the ugly tree imho.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.