Xigmatek Utgard Review

Initial Impressions

Xigmatek Utgard Review

Initial Impressions

Starting of with the basics... Its a mid tower case, and quite pleasingly from my point of view is that its lines are very clean and simple, the designer was definately not taking anything stronger than Valium. Our case side panel has a large mesh section that can have up to 4x 120mm fans fitted or a 1x 200mm fan and all the mounts also have rubber grommets to help with keeping the noise down, but you can also buy a version with a clear windowed side panel should you prefer it.

Xigmatek Utgard Review     Xigmatek Utgard Review

Xigmatek Utgard Review     Xigmatek Utgard Review

There are 9x optical bays covering the whole of the front of the case which all have dist filters on the back. At the top of the front panel you'll find 4x USB ports, 2x eSATA, a headphone and a microphone port. The obvious power button is there but no reset button. With the wonders of Windows 7 you can set the power buttons secondary use to be rest if you use it so often you can not live without it. The top panel also has a pair of fan controllers each control 3 fans a very welcome addition to a case at this price point.

On the top of the case there is a large meshed panel which can be removed. It exposes an area that a a 2x120mm or 2x140mm radiator up to 46mm thick can be fitted. This is nothing new in todays day and age but lets remind ourselves that this case only costs £65... Finally manufacturers are giving us what we want without the need for mortgaging kidneys. Kudos.

Xigmatek Utgard Review     Xigmatek Utgard Review

Cracking the side open reveals yet more surprises, the first one being the internals are all powder-coated black, and the case ships with a Xigmatec 120mm exhaust fan, a 170mm roof fan, and another 120mm fan attached to the removable 4x hard drive mount that takes up 3 drive bays. The motherboard tray is not removable but it is covered in cable tidy holes, and a large cutout for fitting heatsinks on even the funkiest design of motherboard.

Xigmatek Utgard Review     Xigmatek Utgard Review

All 9 of the drive bays have tool less mounts, but its worth reminding you all that you could technically fit another 240mm radiator in the front of the case should you need to *wink wink*. The bottom of the case has a tool free mount for another 120mm fan and its always nice to see an additional dust filter for the PSU vents aswell.

Xigmatek Utgard Review     Xigmatek Utgard Review

Xigmatek Utgard Review      Xigmatek Utgard Review

All this talk of watercooling lets not forget to test this with our air system, we normally test our Q6600 with a Nexus HOC-9000 but yet again a case with a roof fan it doesnt fit. When tested with a Cooler master V8 temperature did not go above 50. Its hard to compare because of the new heatsink but with our pair of HIS 4870's at 50% fans they did not go above 73c. Thats the same temperatures that the In Win Maelstrom has just acheived even though the Utgard doesnt have any side fans!

Xigmatek Utgard Review     Xigmatek Utgard Review

Lets head over to the conlusion and wrap this up. 

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-04-2010, 05:32:01

tinytomlogan
So you have a 100 to spend on a case and it either has to have great airflow or support watercooling? You really need to be reading this review then!

Continue Reading

01-04-2010, 06:13:43

killablade
I've always liked Xigmatek. They make some quality products, and the Utgard is just another great product from Xigmatek!

01-04-2010, 06:43:44

rachaelbrian
We have recently brought home a Xigmatek and I tell you it is fabulous comprising of such excellent features and giving commendable results.

01-04-2010, 13:46:08

BloomerzUK
Tom, you just made my next purchase!

01-04-2010, 16:24:17

Ghosthud1
bye bye antec 1200.

01-04-2010, 17:14:34

thestepster
the midgards a great case and this looks to trump it in every way very hard decision what to choose for my next case!

01-04-2010, 18:17:45

ToeJam
truly shocked by this case, a step in the right direction and of course another brilliant review from ttl

01-04-2010, 21:02:21

Makol
that is a really nice case.

27-04-2010, 16:53:41

BloomerzUK
Ordered this from KustomPCs earlier today, should be here tomorrow! Will post piccars..

30-07-2010, 15:41:42

Fat Tony
I have just received this case and am having trouble fitting in a Asus P6X58D-E mobo ... it seems that the protusions on the motherboard (on the rear side) do not match the cut out on the case. Or is it me? I am a complete novice. Can anyone help?

30-07-2010, 16:22:56

AMDFTW
do the motherboard standoffs match the holes on the mobo?

30-07-2010, 16:49:57

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Fat Tony'
I have just received this case and am having trouble fitting in a Asus P6X58D-E mobo ... it seems that the protusions on the motherboard (on the rear side) do not match the cut out on the case. Or is it me? I am a complete novice. Can anyone help?
You have to use the motherboard standoffs mate, you dont mount the board straight into the case...

30-07-2010, 19:07:15

Fat Tony
OK, please ignore me - new user error! I forgot to add the spacer screws!

Thanks for your help.

30-07-2010, 20:50:48

AMDFTW
hope it boots ok

27-10-2010, 08:25:18

streetgang
A really good case, Iv'e got the standard version with two side fans installed, should mention that the HDD drive caddy is fixed with two small black screws to the rear that are fairly well hidden, I spent 20 minutes trying to pull the damn thing out before I noticed lol, no mention of them in the manual, Hi to all btw

27-10-2010, 09:20:58

J0s3e
I've had this case for a while now, and what really annoys me, is that the front audio jack has reversed R/L channels. Whatever I do, I can not make it work properly. I found a temporary solution, though

http://img836.imageshack.us/img836/7416/dsc00051xg.jpg

However, I am going to receive some new goodies for my PC tomorrow, so I am going to have another look into it.

It's not the soundcard (Xonar DX), because it worked in another two cases just fine.

31-10-2010, 07:26:51

Telltale
Quote:
Originally Posted by J0s3e View Post

I've had this case for a while now, and what really annoys me, is that the front audio jack has reversed R/L channels. Whatever I do, I can not make it work properly. I found a temporary solution, though

However, I am going to receive some new goodies for my PC tomorrow, so I am going to have another look into it.

It's not the soundcard (Xonar DX), because it worked in another two cases just fine.
I have the exact same problem with my Utgard, my solution was simply to use an extension cable from the port on my soudn card instead. It's very annoying though, let me know if you come up with a solution.

31-10-2010, 14:22:50

F-alienware
Get the solder iron out.

01-11-2010, 12:16:59

Heebs
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Get the solder iron out.
Exactly, cut the wires and resolder. Done.

01-11-2010, 14:47:11

mayhem
Just ordered one for testing some fluids out. 63.00 from http://specialtech.co.uk mind you im all so getting them to add a window as well which will save me some time.

when i get the time im gonna mod the hell out of it.

01-11-2010, 14:51:47

tinytomlogan
They make a windowed version

01-11-2010, 15:18:41

mayhem
the window is 25 (inc Vat) from the cheapest shops but i got it hand made for 18.00 instead and its larger. Not in a x shape. .

02-11-2010, 07:46:40

Rastalovich
65/63 is crazy cheap.

08-11-2010, 18:07:38

mayhem
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastalovich View Post

65/63 is crazy cheap.
its is quite cheap but you'll notice it when you start getting to play with it.

on the top section on mine 3 stand off broke with in seconds. The metal is fairly thin on the side panels, how ever these are all minor things to be honest. Another problem though is the Fan spacing on the top for were you fit a rad are not correct they are not 15mm but 17mm how ever you can mess around a little and make it work quite well.

You need to be careful when moving it about as the plastics are a little on the flimsy side but alas what do u expect for the money.

I personally dont like the fans it came with as i found them to be quite low cfm with to much noise so i chucked in a couple of NZXT's which do the job better. How ever its not a complaint in any way cause getting 3 fans at this price is a bonus.

08-11-2010, 18:30:18

tinytomlogan
Didnt get a gold award from me for nothing!

08-11-2010, 18:40:56

AMDFTW
so can u justt fit 1 rad in it

08-11-2010, 18:44:50

mayhem
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

so can u justt fit 1 rad in it
No if i played i could get a 2 x 120mm in the top, a 3 x 120mm in the front , 1 x 120mm in the bottom and 1 x 120mm on the back.

The reason why only 1 rad is fitted in atm is to check the efficiency of the fluid. As its not only cooling as over clocked CPU quite well but its all so a over clocked chip set and on-board GPU and that double rad with the fluid is handling it easily with out any problems. All so the fans are only running at 1/2 speed though out the whole system so its close to virtually quiet.

This pretty much proves that the case air flow is working very well with its windows side panel but with the 4 x 120mm side panel it would run even cooler.

as for the over clock on a 45 MB , CPU and Ram (thks to stephy for that) well this is it ->

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1470565

08-11-2010, 20:07:12

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem View Post

No if i played i could get a 2 x 120mm in the top, a 3 x 120mm in the front , 1 x 120mm in the bottom and 1 x 120mm on the back.
But that would look stupid wouldnt it

Also that wont be getting hot...... Its an AMD matey.

09-11-2010, 14:20:37

Jujumonkey
the review states that the xigmatek is the best sub 100 quid case available. Surely its not better than the cm 690 II advanced?? you can fit 2 liquid rads in that and its only 73 quid

09-11-2010, 14:36:34

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jujumonkey View Post

the review states that the xigmatek is the best sub 100 quid case available. Surely its not better than the cm 690 II advanced?? you can fit 2 liquid rads in that and its only 73 quid
We reviewed this before that came out. But technically you can get a 360mm rad in the front of the Utgard soooooo................

10-11-2010, 00:43:49

Aurus_OC
Wasn't there supposed to be a full tower coming from xigmatek sometime soon? Any news on that? But the utgard surely is a great case

28-11-2010, 10:46:36

Todd
Does it fit a D14? Really considering buying one now

28-11-2010, 11:11:43

AMDFTW
so is the advanced 2 better than the utgard?

28-11-2010, 11:55:35

tinytomlogan
I think a D14 should fit although I never tested it with one it was so long ago.

28-11-2010, 12:04:27

Todd
Thanks, mate. Will compare the sizes of the V8 used and the NH-D14. Your gran getting better?

28-11-2010, 12:08:37

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd View Post

I know it's probably asking too much but could you test-fit one for me if you've still got the Utgard around?
Your right it is asking too much

28-11-2010, 12:14:40

Todd
2 slow granddad, I edited it already Didn't mean to sound like an arse but now you've quoted me.. I sure hope it fits. Would CCL be willing for me to return it if it doesn't?

28-11-2010, 12:43:55

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd View Post

2 slow granddad, I edited it already Didn't mean to sound like an arse but now you've quoted me.. I sure hope it fits. Would CCL be willing for me to return it if it doesn't?
Not if youve used it It should be fine mate.

28-11-2010, 12:50:49

Todd
Thanks. You're too awesome

28-11-2010, 16:21:12

BloomerzUK
I've got one.. what do you need to know?

29-11-2010, 07:01:30

Todd
Does an NH-D14 fit inside. Size is 160 x 140 x 158mm ( H x W x D) .

12-01-2011, 21:08:36

bobkelso
I should have this case in the next week or so for 65 and the fact it has those fans included and the fan controllers sold it for me, I also think it's a good looking case getting the standard non windowed vers (may get the windowed side panel in the coming months). This is for my first pc build ever, making the jump to pc gaming (first ever gaming pc ) I can't wait to start the build rather excited. Anyway that is all oh and thanks for the review.

29-01-2011, 10:20:22

CSB30
Sounds like a good case. I had thought I found the case for me (The cooler master haf 932 black edition)

But I can not find it on any site. Any body help?

So possible the Xigmatek UTGARD (Window version) or the Cooler Master Haf-X will have to do.

But another good review TTL

29-01-2011, 10:47:16

CSB30
One more thought, when buying a new case should a USB3 be considered Vital/Necessary/nice to have?

29-01-2011, 10:48:23

CSB30
One more thought, when buying a new case should a USB3 (in the front panel)be considered Vital/Necessary/nice to have?

29-01-2011, 12:04:33

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSB30 View Post

One more thought, when buying a new case should a USB3 (in the front panel)be considered Vital/Necessary/nice to have?
Depends, for me it isn't because I don't have any USB3 devices, even than I don't mind going to the back of my case and plugging it in, since the rear fans illuminates that area

29-01-2011, 12:16:09

Aurus_OC
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSB30 View Post

One more thought, when buying a new case should a USB3 (in the front panel)be considered Vital/Necessary/nice to have?
I would say nice to have. There aren't that many USB3 devices out there yet. So if you don't own one that you are going to carry with you and plug in and out of your computer daily, I wouldn't say it is necessary. Also remember most cases do not have the USB3 header as a connection, just a regular plug that you route to the back of your IO.

29-01-2011, 18:56:18

Tainted
I bought one of these a couple of weeks ago for my new build. Can't wait to get my rig setup in there, it looks like a great case for the money.

Possible build so far...

Case: Xiggy Utgard

Motherboard: Intel P55

CPU: i5 750 (possibly)

Cooler: Xiggy Thor's Hammer (Thanks Tom!)

GPU: HIS 5770 1gb (Again, cheers Tom!)

HDD: Samsung F3 1TB

PSU: Possibly a Corsair TX650

RAM: 4GB Mushkin RAM

I'm going for a nice black and orange theme to go with the inside of the case. I've got some orange SATA cables and I'm looking at some Xigmatek Orange Fans too, possibly some Orange LED's to set it off a little.

Should be nice.

Thanks again, TTL!

29-01-2011, 20:26:14

bobkelso
I've got mine sitting in my bedroom, and I ordered this aria bundle friday on a special offer couldn't resist I was gonna go amd but this being pre built is nice, knabbed my hdd and optical drive while I was there aswell. It's for my first build so it's nice knowing it's been tested and it's all working, I'll be getting the rest over the next 2-3 weeks then hopefully It will be smooth sailing when it's all set up.

29-01-2011, 21:54:56

Squirrel-666
i was looking at that case last year then i won it over at specialtech and used it for a bit not a bad lil case for the money. i recommend it

strangley enough i never used the fan controller lol

30-01-2011, 10:28:46

CSB30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aurus_OC View Post

I would say nice to have. There aren't that many USB3 devices out there yet. So if you don't own one that you are going to carry with you and plug in and out of your computer daily, I wouldn't say it is necessary. Also remember most cases do not have the USB3 header as a connection, just a regular plug that you route to the back of your IO.

30-01-2011, 10:29:04

CSB30
Thanks Guys your views are appreciated.

One thing I have noticed that lot of manufactures are stating/indicating size of motherboards-GPUs the case will take. Note Xigmatek havent done that.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.