Xigmatek Elysium Video Review

Xigmatek Elysium Video Review

Xigmatek Elysium Video Review

Introduction

Xigmatek are a company known by many in the enthusiast community. They seem to have a never ending trail of well priced CPU coolers being released every couple of months plus an ever growing range of cases. Talking of cases, every now and then a case arrives that doesn't immediately look much from the box and the promo photos but once you actually get to work with it you can see that a lot of thought has been put in to try and cover all of our enthusiast picky needs.

One such case from Xigmatek was the Utgard, an instant hit with all the staff at OC3D Towers. It managed to cram in 9 optical drive bays, 240mm water cooling support, cable management, 120mm HDD cooling and a window into a mid tower sized chassis for £65! It walked away with with the prestigious gold award and a value for money award. It was an outstanding achievement from the team at Xigmatek to deliver all of those features at such a good price point.

So the stage has been set and the expectations for the Elysium are high, mainly because in our eyes this chassis is an Utgard on steroids with support for huge motherboards, masses of water cooling radiators and the oh so pleasing ALL optical bay front perfect for chucking yet another radiator in... On paper this case is a water coolers dream, and all for £140!?

Lets move on and take a look at some of the details we have 'borrowed' from the Xigmatek website:


Support HPTX super big M/B and 10 PCI slots for four graphic cards.

Hot-swappable 2.5/3.5” SATA HDD docking on top panel.

Two USB3.0 super-speed ports on top panel with dust-proof cover.

Both side screw-less ODD holders.

Dual PSU possible on the top and bottom.

360/420mm water cooling radiator possible.

Fully external twelve 5.25” bays with two “4 in 3 HDD cage”.

3.5” HDD anti-vibration rubbers inside of 4 in 3 cages.

Anti-vibration rubbers and bottom dust filter for PSU.

Aluminum on the front mesh panel with removable dust filters.

 

Product NameELYSIUM
Product NumberCCC-HSA0DS-U01~04
Dimension(W)230 x (H)618 x (D)663 mm (9.06*24.33*26.10 inches)
Drive Bay5.25" External x 12 with tool-free holders.
(Including two external 3.5" device adapter and one 4 in 3 3.5" HDD adapter.)
Expansion Slot10 slots
Motherboard SupportHPTX, XL-ATX, E-ATX, ATX, Micro ATX, ITX (with backside hole for CPU cooler)
Power SupplyStandard P/S2 ATX/EPS power supply unit
1. Two PSU space on the top and bottom.
2. Intake airflow hole with dust filter.
3. Available for face upward and downward installation.
4. Within anti-vibration rubber.
Cooling SystemAir-cooling
Front Fan : Pre-installed 120mm white LED with black blades x 2 
                    (On the 4 in 3 HDD cages.)
Rear Fan : Pre-installed 140mm white LED with black blades x 1
                    (120mm fan is available)
Side Fan : Pre-installed 200mm white LED with black blades x 1
CPU Fan : 80/120mm fan x 1 available
Bottom Fan :
 *If PSU was installed on bottom space: 120/140mm fan x2 or 200mm fan x 1
 **If PSU was installed on top space: 120/140mm fan x3 or 200mm fan x 2
Top Fan :
 *If PSU was installed on bottom space: 120/140mm fan x3 or 200mm fan x 2
 **If PSU was installed on top space: 120/140mm fan x2 or 200mm fan x 1
Water-cooling
Water pipe holes x 7 (with rubber cover)
Available for 360/420mm radiator
I/O PanelTop Panel: Power On/Off switch, USB3.0 x 2, USB2.0 x 2, e-SATA x 1,
Audio in/out x 1 (HD Audio).




















Video Review

 

Conclusion

My my my, where in Fods name do I start? How about Epic, glorious, fantastic, fan-dabby-dozey even! Xigmatek didn't let us down did they. They basically took everything they had learnt from the Utgard stuck it in a Gym for 12 months and brought us this steroid packed WWF Wrestling ready monster. Gone are the days of needing to spend upwards of £300 to get a decent water cooling chassis that you can bolt all your large radiators straight in to. When we say radiators we mean it to as this case will support a 3x120 or a 3x140 radiator AND a 4x120mm in the front aswell! There is a mount for a 2x120 or 2x140 in the bottom but to use this properly it sadly means relocating your PSU to the upper slot and thus blocking the roof grill. Its a shame because there is enough room in the chassis to have a psu and a rad in the bottom with ease.

The case was obviously designed around the SR2 but we cant help buy feel it should have been made slightly more ATX friendly, we would wager a hefty amount of pocket fluff and sofa change on the fact that 90% of the customers buying this chassis will NOT be using an SR2 at all, but cramming it full of water cooling goodies on their ATX based motherboards.

Talking of cramming a chassis full of expensive watercooling hardware, pretty much every watercooler I've ever met has a chuffing great window on the side of their case to show of the tubing artwork they have created, not having a full window panel ie: no mesh panel with the 200mm fan agains seems some what of an oversight on the designers part. Even if it was an extra cost option I would happily pay it.

As I said in the video this case is so close to being perfect its unreal. Give it some minor tweaks and I'd happily state this is the best water cooling chassis I have ever seen. Those kind of statements from a reviewing that's as picky as me really don't come lightly. The most amazing things is that this was all achieved at the staggering RRP of just £140, it's completely mind blowing.

Pickiness aside this case is nothing short of amazing for its price, I have sat here to try and think of another chassis that delivers so much and I really can not think of anything that comes even remotely close no matter what the price point.

Now award time, its a difficult one as I did find a few niggles, but as explained in the video I'm wading in with a Solid and well deserved silver. If Xigmatek address the minor issues I mentioned I'll happily change this to a gold and state that it is the best water cooling chassis on the market bar none. The challenge has been set Xigmatek, that small bit of polish and you could have a chassis that will go down in history as elite rather than just great.

 

       

Thanks to Xigmatek for the Elysium on test today, you can discuss your thoughts in our forums.  

«Prev 1 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-04-2011, 10:53:01

tinytomlogan
Finally the Elysium is here, the question on all of our lips is have Xigmatek managed to make the perfect case on a budget?



Continue Reading

20-04-2011, 11:14:25

merrymustu
Yeah Tom's back!!! Nice review dude....

20-04-2011, 11:23:24

SieB
I like this case and the price is shocking, in a good way that is. I was expecting it to be at least 200.

Even if they don't change the design so you can get the 240 rad in at the bottom by moving it inside the HDD bays a couple of holes with a drill will be a easy job. The hole for the second CPU for the SR2 boards shouldn't be too hard to cover up with a bit of rubber or plastic either, the only thing that can't be done yourself is the window mod but hopefully Xigmatek will sort that out.

20-04-2011, 11:58:14

CSB30
Nice one TTL.

Awesome case, bit too big for me though. Pity Xigmatek did not learn from the UTGARD (they upgraded that with a window side panel)

Still that said I will by looking foreward to see what you can do with this case.

20-04-2011, 12:22:50

Todd
Holy EFFF 42 minutes That's a hell of a lot, even for you, Tom. Not that it matters much, you still keep us all entertained.

20-04-2011, 12:46:09

Zeals
Great Review, one thing you didn't mention in the video, for the USB3 Front Panel, does it have the option of using the new front panel headers or do you have to use one of the 7 grommets at the back and plug it into your motherboard that way.

20-04-2011, 12:49:50

ionicle
"thank fod" in the conclusion

typo or intentional?

20-04-2011, 17:59:27

Mark26
I wasnt a fan of big cases before this. After watching your review Tom I think I will be picking one of these too replace my utgard and putting a 360 & 240 rad in it but dont really fancy modding the floor panel too fit it as aint ever done that before

20-04-2011, 22:53:07

jack-uk
Good review Tom

20-04-2011, 23:11:29

dugdiamond
Quote:
Originally Posted by ionicle View Post

"thank fod" in the conclusion

typo or intentional?
intentional me thinks - we cannot be seen to swear or blaspheem. people can take things the wrong way - better safe than sorry heh!

21-04-2011, 05:55:04

thetrashcanman
Good I love this case, I've just spent the past month modding my antec 1200 to look how I want and be able to fit 2 watercooling radiators in it, but I know what I will be getting when it comes out also as tom said in the video I seriously thought this was going to be like a 250-300 case, just when I saw the size of it. But when TTL started going through all the features I was even more convinced it would be in that sort of mega price bracket. But thankyou Xigmatek for giving us a superb watercooling case, packed with features and all for the bargin of the millennium. Also I'd like to say I agree with all of the points Tom bought up plus, I noticed that there hole in the M/B tray where an 8 pin would be sent through didn't have any rubber grommit around it, So please Xigmatek, cover that up give us a window, and sort the radiator at the bottom out and my good I would happly pay another 60 for that

21-04-2011, 10:07:20

Karlos_the_n00b
This case is great but it should have been epic. I agree with everything Tom said.

Why the hell didn't they make the bottom of the case one big mesh so you could fit a quad rad in there is you wanted? I know you can fit a quad at the front of the case but if you could fit it in the bottom then you could still use the drive bays for rez/pump combo bays and fan controllers.

And what's with not making a cover for that second CPU slot with a gromit in the middle of it? The rest of the case looks so neat but then you have a big untidy hole in the middle.

They should also make a window panel that you can buy separately or something cus that side fan is next to useless if you have a fully watercooled rig which is what a lot of people buying this case are going to have in mind.

I know yo can fix these things but wouldn't it have been amazing to have a case you wouldn't want to mod for once?

21-04-2011, 10:33:25

jonowee
Xigmatek is announcing the Elysium TTL Edition; with ATX friendly upgrades, repunched and tapped base, relocated 5.25" supports, add a windowed side panel, and powdered it white.

I still find it weird for the price Xigmatek charges, to focus so narrowly on the SR-2.

21-04-2011, 10:54:04

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos_the_n00b View Post

This case is great but it should have been epic. I agree with everything Tom said.

Why the hell didn't they make the bottom of the case one big mesh so you could fit a quad rad in there is you wanted? I know you can fit a quad at the front of the case but if you could fit it in the bottom then you could still use the drive bays for rez/pump combo bays and fan controllers.

And what's with not making a cover for that second CPU slot with a gromit in the middle of it? The rest of the case looks so neat but then you have a big untidy hole in the middle.

They should also make a window panel that you can buy separately or something cus that side fan is next to useless if you have a fully watercooled rig which is what a lot of people buying this case are going to have in mind.

I know yo can fix these things but wouldn't it have been amazing to have a case you wouldn't want to mod for once?
Quad in the bottom? I was suggesting moving the 240mm mounts forward nothing else dude. I always put PSU's in the bottom anyways.

21-04-2011, 12:24:54

Karlos_the_n00b
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Quad in the bottom? I was suggesting moving the 240mm mounts forward nothing else dude. I always put PSU's in the bottom anyways.
Yeah, appreciated that. Sorry I didn't explain properly.

My thoughts where that if they extended the mounting grid across the whole of the bottom (Which I originally thought it did from the video preview from tweaktown (my bad)) then that means you could fit a dual and the PSU with ease or move the psu to the top and stick a quad in the bottom. Not seen the case in person of course but looking at the dimensions it looks like it would be possible.

I know you can mount a triple at the top but some may choose to move the PSU to the top if it means that they could fit a quad in and still use the drive bays.

21-04-2011, 19:51:22

Netra
Hello there.

I must have to say that this is one of the greatest reviews I've ever watched.

If anyone out on the forum could help me out on this one I would be very pleased.

Doesn't it seem like Xigmatek fixed the issues with the rear LED and the sidepanel?


http://www.xigmatek.com/product.php?productid=122&type=specification

Front Fan : Pre-installed 120mm white LED with black blades x 2

Rear Fan : Pre-installed 140mm white LED with black blades x 1

Side Fan : Pre-installed 200mm white LED with black blades x 1


And a window has been added on the sidepanel in this picture:

http://www.xigmatek.com/console/uploadfiles/Image/product/Elysium/elysium-fp5b.jpg



I'm not quite sure if it's optional or not.

The Elysium is sweet, but this is my first build and the water-cooling seems like rocket sience to me.

If the PSU is placed in the bottom of the case and 3x140mm / 2x200mm fans were placed in the top,

would there be enough airflow & cooling to maintain good performance?


- Netra

23-04-2011, 06:50:11

Pat123
Great review tom, as always. I really like the features of this case and i absolutely love the price, but i can't decide whether i like the way it looks or not, i'm not sure i'd want this next to my desk all the time.

Do you have any photo's of the case from multiple angles?

And in your personal opinion tom, how does it's in the flesh look compare to the 800D?

23-04-2011, 22:34:19

murphy7801
I would love see a ITX MB in this case

24-04-2011, 00:45:01

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netra View Post

Hello there.

[font="Lucida Console"]And a window has been added on the sidepanel in this picture:


http://www.xigmatek.com/console/uploadfiles/Image/product/Elysium/elysium-fp5b.jpg



I'm not quite sure if it's optional or not.

The Elysium is sweet, but this is my first build and the water-cooling seems like rocket sience to me.

If the PSU is placed in the bottom of the case and 3x140mm / 2x200mm fans were placed in the top,

would there be enough airflow & cooling to maintain good performance?


- Netra
When Tom refers to a sidepanel he means a fully window panel. The current windowed sidepanel still have a massive side fan like the HAF-X so you can't see the majority of the stuff inside.

27-04-2011, 02:15:31

yggdrasil
Great review once again, I looking for a new case for a system project and few mods I got in mind.

I hope they have a v2 of the case then I will buy it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post

I would love see a ITX MB in this case
Lol Well I am actually looking to do that, But with a standard ATX build in it also so 2 systems in one.

Idea is to combine my gaming rig with a server rig just trying to find a case with enough room to stay cool and have enough room for everything, this case looks like it but ill hang on a little while and cross my fingers for a version 2 of the case.

:edit:

Just found this image of the case with out the motherboard in is and there is a rubber grommet looks like sata cables would go threw there but I think it is behind the motherboard, 2 or 3 cables would sit behind the motherboard ok but if you had a few hard drives you might not be able to do so.

Attachment 3194

Also @Tom regarding the bottom honeycomb grill how hard would it be to undo the rivets drill a hole for a HDD cage and spin the base plate in the case around and re rivet it?

See rivets in picture

Attachment 3195

27-04-2011, 17:54:21

SG12004
Nice review looks like good case

01-06-2011, 19:18:17

Dark NighT
The Elysium is going to be my next case.

01-06-2011, 20:05:59

Karlos_the_n00b
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark NighT View Post

The Elysium is going to be my next case.
Can't wait to see what you can do with that

01-06-2011, 21:15:57

Dark NighT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos_the_n00b View Post

Can't wait to see what you can do with that
Thanks

I already have designs in my head floating around, specifically paintjob designs, im just hoping some one can make that case model in google sketch so i can start putting some ideas on paper (screenshots )

15-06-2011, 19:21:04

Bittornado
First of all since not being native in the English language, I would like to apologize beforehand should you find misspellings and grammar shortcomings in the following (rather long and chatty!) comment.

Once again thank you very much for an outstanding review. IMHO it's ironically that devotion of yours to the details which simply parts you from the mainstream reviewers, making your contributions more objective and straight forward than perhaps many others only trying to point out the obvious. I mean the state of the obvious is... well, pretty obvious at least to the most enthusiasts and the reviewers right from the beginning, right? It's the not so obvious stuff that makes things know-worthy and interesting

Now having said that, and admittingly finding this particular case being a pretty good one considering it being the first ever generation of its sort with room for improvements all over the place... there was yet another nifty difty thingy that I for once actually reacted to in a quite negative way, something I was pretty sure that you would also mention at the least, but that was not the case this time! Nevertheless, for the sake of the completeness of the argument and also in order to address yet another (most certainly not too trivial either) issue which could/should definitely see some improvement in an upcoming version, I would like to mention the non-sleeved cabling in such a computer case which without any doubt is targeted at the enthusiast level.

To me, an EVGA SR2 compatible computer case, clearly aiming at and flirting all around the top end of the consumer food chain, making its way out to the stores containing that kind of single threaded rainbow colored non-sleeved cabling mess in front of an otherwise all black brushed background... really, it just reminds me of the 90's!! Especially when the interior design has in every other imaginable aspect been pretty well thought of and brought together in such a harmony. I regrettably feel that the lack of better visual cabling manner in this case, takes all the fun out of it in a massive way, it makes it look absolutely dreadful, despite of everything else going on in there for sure working out beautifully for the case. It would almost be like going to a rap concert dressed in a leather tie and a rainbow green jacket with elbow and shoulder pads!!! It becomes an instant classic and unforgettable blunder! An all black sleek and smooth sleeved cabling should have been a no brainer here IMHO!

To put things in perspective, let's say with today's standards... would you say that even a normal user, let alone an enthusiast, buying any +650W PSU, regardless of it being modular or non modular, would even consider opting for a brand with non sleeved cabling?! I don't think so! I don't understand why the same thing should not be applied to the computer cases being built predominantly with the same consumer in mind? Yes yes I know that one could mod the whole thing from the ground up in a DIY traditional way, and of course it's possible to argue that for the asked MSRP it might seem like overkill to also wish for a good inside cabling... but seriously, an additional 10-15 for a reasonable, safe and good looking cabling inside of such a high-end case like this one, would most certainly have been something that the majority of potential buyers gladly would have paid for without even blinking I'm sure.

And please I don't want anybody sticking out there saying this is a non issue to them, since we hear and see everybody applaud and praising a company who DOES manage their cabling in an appropriate manner and in a way that it's supposed to be... no matter the actual cost of the product.

Anyhow that was something I felt pretty strong about and which I had to get out of my system! Done and over with!!

Still, all things considered, the ONLY thing standing between me and grabbing one of these bad boys for my next build, is actually not related so much to the lack of good cable management, but the simple matter of existence of another company called Mountain Mods For my next build with an SR2 and double Xeon 5690s, I've already fallen in love with those monsters made by Mountain Mods... for me, the flexible design which makes it almost future proof and the ability to make the case so darn 'visible' should you choose acrylic panels all around... has already ruined me for every other existing computer case out there I guess... For once it's nice to know what I really want!

Cheers

27-10-2011, 17:49:16

AgentFBA
I just picked up my Xigmatek Elysium - with Window. Awesome case. The first thing I realised though, was that they had listened to TinyTomLogan and installed a grommet on the second CPU cutout as he suggested.

Made a great case even better.....

05-12-2011, 11:51:23

RiotDiscoMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Great Review, one thing you didn't mention in the video, for the USB3 Front Panel, does it have the option of using the new front panel headers or do you have to use one of the 7 grommets at the back and plug it into your motherboard that way.
It has the (2) USB cables that you either need an adapter to plug into MOBO header or have to run it out the back. At least on mine that is the case.

05-12-2011, 12:00:07

RiotDiscoMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bittornado View Post

"I would like to mention the non-sleeved cabling in such a computer case which without any doubt is targeted at the enthusiast level.

To me, an EVGA SR2 compatible computer case, clearly aiming at and flirting all around the top end of the consumer food chain, making its way out to the stores containing that kind of single threaded rainbow colored non-sleeved cabling mess in front of an otherwise all black brushed background... really, it just reminds me of the 90's!! Especially when the interior design has in every other imaginable aspect been pretty well thought of and brought together in such a harmony. I regrettably feel that the lack of better visual cabling manner in this case, takes all the fun out of it in a massive way, it makes it look absolutely dreadful, despite of everything else going on in there for sure working out beautifully for the case. It would almost be like going to a rap concert dressed in a leather tie and a rainbow green jacket with elbow and shoulder pads!!! It becomes an instant classic and unforgettable blunder! An all black sleek and smooth sleeved cabling should have been a no brainer here IMHO!"
I agree 100% as well, The USB 3.0 cables from the front not being ready for MOBO headers... I have to say with what you have mentioned with the USB cables and the Cheap plastic Pop in plugs that hold the acrylic window to the case are not of the best quality. At least on mine it was not. I cant say that for everyone, only my personal experience. Even still, I LOVE this case. Luckily I have access to acrylic and a CNC so that I can have my banged up acrylic re-cut if need be... Very good points!

17-04-2012, 10:06:18

rmorse27
Hey Zeals, one thing I have done is drilled a couple of holes in the drive bay support and was able to route quite a few cables this way,plus recently I cut a small 2 inch section out of that same area so I can route my sata and power connectors in that same area.I currently have no cables running threw the inside of my case.This section of all case's seems to be a untapped resource for hiding cables and I wish the case manufactures would place small holes with grommets there to take advantage of that area.



19-08-2012, 16:46:13

ugiboy
Hi, Can I please get some advice on the best watercooling options for my Xigmatic Elysium case please. I have just purchased this case after tom's excellent review. My rig will consist of the following components.
Eigmatic Elysium case
Rampage iv extreme mobo
I7 3820 cpu
16Gb Corsair vengeance ram
2 GTX590's in quad sli
kingston 120Gb ssd
2 1Tb HDD's
corsair ax1200 psu
xspc dual bay reservoir
alphacool 360 radiator
d5 laing pump
2 gpu wtaerblocks
1 cpu waterblock
I want to fit another 360 radiator in the front of the case, but can not see anywhere to mount a radiator in the front of the case. Also will two 360 rads be enough to cool my cpu & graphics cards? Any advice will be much appreciated. Thank you

19-08-2012, 19:13:23

andrewmchugh
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugiboy View Post
Hi, Can I please get some advice on the best watercooling options for my Xigmatic Elysium case please. I have just purchased this case after tom's excellent review. My rig will consist of the following components.
Eigmatic Elysium case
Rampage iv extreme mobo
I7 3820 cpu
16Gb Corsair vengeance ram
2 GTX590's in quad sli
kingston 120Gb ssd
2 1Tb HDD's
corsair ax1200 psu
xspc dual bay reservoir
alphacool 360 radiator
d5 laing pump
2 gpu wtaerblocks
1 cpu waterblock
I want to fit another 360 radiator in the front of the case, but can not see anywhere to mount a radiator in the front of the case. Also will two 360 rads be enough to cool my cpu & graphics cards? Any advice will be much appreciated. Thank you
You can get a bracket to mount a 120mm fan in the 5.25. look at my pc gallery.

So then you have a 360 in roof and front both blowing out.

Sharkoon 120 Rebel 9 is what you are after. http://www.sharkoon.com/?q=en/content/rebel9-fan-frame

I cut mine with a dremmel to making it look neater and then sprayed it.

http://i1208.photobucket.com/albums/...g/DSCF2695.jpg

20-08-2012, 05:03:54

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugiboy View Post
Hi, Can I please get some advice on the best watercooling options for my Xigmatic Elysium case please. I have just purchased this case after tom's excellent review. My rig will consist of the following components.
Eigmatic Elysium case
Rampage iv extreme mobo
I7 3820 cpu
16Gb Corsair vengeance ram
2 GTX590's in quad sli
kingston 120Gb ssd
2 1Tb HDD's
corsair ax1200 psu
xspc dual bay reservoir
alphacool 360 radiator
d5 laing pump
2 gpu wtaerblocks
1 cpu waterblock
I want to fit another 360 radiator in the front of the case, but can not see anywhere to mount a radiator in the front of the case. Also will two 360 rads be enough to cool my cpu & graphics cards? Any advice will be much appreciated. Thank you

Should have got a better case, I really dont rate this thing with the other cases on the market now.

07-03-2013, 09:45:01

Daitallica
I want to make my first custom loop and would really like at least a 480 & a 360 in push/pull

What case would you recommend in this price range that will outperform watercooling out of the box?

I suppose I could go to 230 for a case as long as I catch the wife on a good day that is haha

I don't really want to be modding the case either

Thanks for any info
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.