Waterblock Shootout

Test Results

Test Results
 
In the pressure versus flow rate chart below, we can see just how restrictive/unrestrictive each block is to the natural flow of the Laing DDC Pro pump. The first thing that really stands out here is the Aqua Computer Cuplex HD. While Aqua Computer market the AC Cuplex HD as a high-flow block, it is actually anything but. However, it does manage to sustain a very reasonable rate of pump head.
 
Pressure vs Flow chart
 
Furthermore, in our in-loop testing the AC Cuplex HD returns slightly higher average core temperatures on our overclocked Q6600 processor (3.5GHz/1.45v). We can also see the move away from the EK Supreme and stock D-Tek FuZion waterblocks by the XSPC Delta V3 and Swiftech Apogee GTZ waterblocks.
 
The Swiftech Apogee GTZ returned consistently good temperatures too with the backplate and screw-down mounting system that Swiftech has incorporated into its design. You can quite literally screw the block down hard and as a result (according to my testing) the temperatures on all four cores on the Q6600 were very close to being identical. I would have liked to have had a D-Tek FuZion V2 to make a better comparison, but unfortunately I don't have one at my disposal.
 
The XSPC Delta V3 really surprised me here to be honest. I can't believe the difference in cooling potential of this waterblock when compared to the first version that XSPC released last year.
 
Overclocked idle and load temperatures
 
Looking at the ΔT temperatures of each block, the chart below really illustrates how well each block did. The XSPC Delta V3 and Swiftech Apogee GTZ results are so close. Unfortunately though, the AC Cuplex HD waterblock trails behind the pack a little in terms of cooling capacity.
 
Delta T temperatures
 
Let's head over the page to see what we can conclude from this review...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-10-2008, 09:42:27

PV5150
With the release of some new waterblocks on the scene, we thought it was time to have a little shootout between the three new kids on the block, and a couple of the oldies.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...153050475s.jpg

Check out the review here

09-10-2008, 10:06:38

llwyd
Sweeeeeeeeeet review PV, really love the shootouts

09-10-2008, 10:21:41

!TIMMY!
Ive been waiting for this!!! Great review! I think I am sold on the GTZ! The mounting system looks great and it performs dam well

Thanks PV for making my day!

09-10-2008, 10:52:38

JN
Great review mate. Shame the Cuplex didn't do better as I really like the look of it too. Can't have it all I guess

09-10-2008, 11:33:10

Luigi
Yeah, It certainly looks the best...

The D-tek didnt do too well at all though

09-10-2008, 11:55:47

!TIMMY!
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Yeah, It certainly looks the best...

The D-tek didnt do too well at all though
Remember that was the V1 tho.

09-10-2008, 12:38:16

Bubba
Just ordered a few Aqua-computer parts.. couplex XT DI cooler.. let's hope it performs better ..not that it's a big deal but ..

-Bubba

09-10-2008, 13:00:31

!TIMMY!
I have ordered the Swiftech from WCUK and its been dispatched already

09-10-2008, 13:16:13

D-Cyph3r
Interesting that Aqua Computer decided to stick to a very restrictive design... with the likes of D-TEK, Danger Den, Swiftech and XSPC all focusing on high flow rates and low pressure drop they've left themselves in the same camp as EK, a very formidable opponent.

09-10-2008, 13:26:07

Bungral
Great review PV...

One question however. Why didn't the GTZ get the best in class award as the Supreme currently holds it. By the results you got, it was stomped!

09-10-2008, 15:27:44

Marcus
Top job as always guys!

Bit suprised to see that the GTZ and Delta are so close to each other so congrats to XSPC for making an affordable yet high performing block.

Quick note about the 775 brackets that got mentioned for the Delta, we should have them available for retail in approx. 10 days time.

We've already made the proto and tried it, just waiting to get them back from being powder coated now.

http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w.../laser/1-1.jpg

09-10-2008, 17:47:33

w3bbo
Great review m8.

10-10-2008, 10:16:38

FarFarAway
Great review Peevs

Isn't the AC blocvk designed to run with their own pumps and a whole lower-flow system. I understand they have made some concessions to those wanting high-flow systems but afaik they are primarily designed to run in low-flow, restrictive systems?

Either was a beautiful block and gotta love XSPC's VFM as usual

13-10-2008, 04:47:44

Bubba
Hmm well, I hope their external kit (Aquaduct 360 XT MK2) can run all my blocks, or I'll have to buy an extra aquastream pump.. (going to cool: cpu, nb+sb, voltageregulators (x2) and 2x9800gx2 cards)... Sigh, I should have gone for the internal kit from the start, but I werent really in the mood for swapping case with my old pc (which is allready modded for watercooling).... Bwah.. we'll see

-Bubba

14-10-2008, 12:32:00

welshtom
didnt search very hard for the cheapest places tho did you

17-10-2008, 04:44:52

AydST
just a quicky, Swiftech have changed their packaging for the GTZ to the blister back similar to how the Apogee G T and GTX came.

Good review though PV

17-10-2008, 04:53:47

PV5150
Oooh nice. Thanks Ayd
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.