Waterblock Shootout

Packaging and Contents

Packaging and Contents
 
XSPC Delta V3 CPU Acetal
 
The XSPC Delta V3 water block arrived in a small cardboard box that features a black and red theme. On the front of the packaging there is a red and white wave pattern and the XSPC logo. On the bottom of the box XSPC has included the prominent features of the XSPC Delta V3 and the contents of the packaging.
 
XXSPC package top XSPC Package bottom
XSPC Delta v3 Acetal contents XSPC Delta v3 Acetal contents
 
Opening up the box we are presented with a neatly packaged product that is well protected by pieces of thick Styrofoam. Interestingly, XSPC failed to include an installation manual even though it states on the box that one is included. No matter, they have them available online here. Included in the package were:
 
* XSPC Delta V3 water block
* Universal mounting plate
* Thermal paste
* Mounting screws, plastic washers and nuts.
 
 
Swiftech Apogee GTZ
 
The packaging included with the Swiftech Apogee GTZ water block is purely a review sample, and shouldn't be taken as an indication of what the retail packaging will look like. However, the Swiftech Apogee GTZ is extremely well packaged here and the amount of hardware that Swiftech managed to include in such a small space is impressive.
 
Swiftech sample box top Swiftech GTZ box side
Swiftech GTZ contents Swiftech GTZ contents
 
Opeing up the box, we are presented with the installation manual and the Swiftech Apogee GTZ water block housed beneath it. The water block itself comes encased in a non-scratch packing type sheeting that does an excellent job of keeping the water block's appearance in pristine condition.
 
The last Swiftech water block that I purchased was the Swiftech Storm G4, and it's nice to see that Swiftech has changed from including plastic barbs to traditional metal 3/8" and 1/2" versions. Swiftech has also included a small sample of thermal paste. Included in the package were:
 
* Swiftech Apogee GTZ water block and back plate
* 2x 3/8" and 1/2" barbs
* 2 x 3/8" and 1/2" plastic hose clamps
* Thermal paste
 
 
Aqua Computer Cuplex HD
 
This is the first opportunity that I've had to see an Aqua Computer water block in the flesh, and based on first impressions -  I'm impressed. I know the saying is cliche, but the Germans are second to none when it comes to engineering. The packaging for the Aqua Computer Cuplex HD is a simple, but yet visually attractive affair.
 
Aqua Computer Cuplex HD box top Aqua Computer box side
Aqua Computer box contents Aqua Computer contents
 
Opening up the box we are presented with the Aqua Computer Cuplex HD water block housed in a cardboard insert, and the mounting hardware on top. Interestingly, Aqua Computer do not supply barbs nor thermal paste with the water block. Included in the packaging were:
 
* Aqua Computer Cuplex HD water block
* Mounting screws, nuts and plastic washers.
 
Let's head over the page and have a look at the waterblock's in a little more detail...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-10-2008, 09:42:27

PV5150
With the release of some new waterblocks on the scene, we thought it was time to have a little shootout between the three new kids on the block, and a couple of the oldies.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...153050475s.jpg

Check out the review here

09-10-2008, 10:06:38

llwyd
Sweeeeeeeeeet review PV, really love the shootouts

09-10-2008, 10:21:41

!TIMMY!
Ive been waiting for this!!! Great review! I think I am sold on the GTZ! The mounting system looks great and it performs dam well

Thanks PV for making my day!

09-10-2008, 10:52:38

JN
Great review mate. Shame the Cuplex didn't do better as I really like the look of it too. Can't have it all I guess

09-10-2008, 11:33:10

Luigi
Yeah, It certainly looks the best...

The D-tek didnt do too well at all though

09-10-2008, 11:55:47

!TIMMY!
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Yeah, It certainly looks the best...

The D-tek didnt do too well at all though
Remember that was the V1 tho.

09-10-2008, 12:38:16

Bubba
Just ordered a few Aqua-computer parts.. couplex XT DI cooler.. let's hope it performs better ..not that it's a big deal but ..

-Bubba

09-10-2008, 13:00:31

!TIMMY!
I have ordered the Swiftech from WCUK and its been dispatched already

09-10-2008, 13:16:13

D-Cyph3r
Interesting that Aqua Computer decided to stick to a very restrictive design... with the likes of D-TEK, Danger Den, Swiftech and XSPC all focusing on high flow rates and low pressure drop they've left themselves in the same camp as EK, a very formidable opponent.

09-10-2008, 13:26:07

Bungral
Great review PV...

One question however. Why didn't the GTZ get the best in class award as the Supreme currently holds it. By the results you got, it was stomped!

09-10-2008, 15:27:44

Marcus
Top job as always guys!

Bit suprised to see that the GTZ and Delta are so close to each other so congrats to XSPC for making an affordable yet high performing block.

Quick note about the 775 brackets that got mentioned for the Delta, we should have them available for retail in approx. 10 days time.

We've already made the proto and tried it, just waiting to get them back from being powder coated now.

http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w.../laser/1-1.jpg

09-10-2008, 17:47:33

w3bbo
Great review m8.

10-10-2008, 10:16:38

FarFarAway
Great review Peevs

Isn't the AC blocvk designed to run with their own pumps and a whole lower-flow system. I understand they have made some concessions to those wanting high-flow systems but afaik they are primarily designed to run in low-flow, restrictive systems?

Either was a beautiful block and gotta love XSPC's VFM as usual

13-10-2008, 04:47:44

Bubba
Hmm well, I hope their external kit (Aquaduct 360 XT MK2) can run all my blocks, or I'll have to buy an extra aquastream pump.. (going to cool: cpu, nb+sb, voltageregulators (x2) and 2x9800gx2 cards)... Sigh, I should have gone for the internal kit from the start, but I werent really in the mood for swapping case with my old pc (which is allready modded for watercooling).... Bwah.. we'll see

-Bubba

14-10-2008, 12:32:00

welshtom
didnt search very hard for the cheapest places tho did you

17-10-2008, 04:44:52

AydST
just a quicky, Swiftech have changed their packaging for the GTZ to the blister back similar to how the Apogee G T and GTX came.

Good review though PV

17-10-2008, 04:53:47

PV5150
Oooh nice. Thanks Ayd
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.