Waterblock Shootout

Introduction

Introduction A menagerie of water blocks
 
In the very recent past AMD and Intel have been vocal about upcoming families of multiple core CPU's which will take processors into an area that we have never seen before. With Intel's current Q6600/ QX quad-core range and AMD's  Phenom native quad-core processors, eight and sixteen cored processors will no doubt follow as the process is perfected and applications demand it.

It is a well known fact that water-cooling is really beginning to become a viable mainstream alternative to traditional air-cooling measures. No longer is water-cooling purely the domain of the hardcore overclockers, but ever increasingly it is beginning to make its way into more and more people's homes.
With the advent of quad-core processors and the successful saturation of the market with dual-core processors as well, a need has arisen for cooling methods to tame these multi-cored beasts. So how do we look towards cooling these processors more efficiently...With water-cooling of course!
 
Today I have been given the opportunity to review the new Swiftech Apogee GTZ, XSPC Delta V3 and Aqua Compter Cuplex HD water blocks which all promise the highest cooling performance. It will be interesting to see which block emerges as the winner of a no-holds barred water block shootout. Can they tame the Quad-cored beast?
 
 
Specifications
 
The specifications for each water block were taken directly from each manufacturers' product page.
 
XSPC Delta V3 CPU Acetal

- Designed for Quad and Dual Core CPU's
- High Performance Copper Base With Over 1600 Copper Pins
- Pins Precision cut to 0.4x0.4x4.2mm
- 26mm Stepped Base
- CNC Cut Acetal Top
- G1/4" Threads
- Universal Mounting Plate
- Supports Sockets A/462, 478, 604/603, 701
754/939/940, AM2 and LGA775
 
Swiftech Apogee GTZ Water Block

Block Base Dimensions: 50mm x 50mm x 7.2mm (2.0” x 2.0” x 0.3”)
Height (including barbs):37.2mm (1.5”)
Port Threading: Standard G 1/4"
Barb Size: Chrome Plated 1/2" & 3/8” bards provided
Net Weight: 239g
Top Material: CNC machine Delrin
Base Material: CNC machine C110 copper mirror finished
 
Aqua Computer Cuplex HD
 
Thread Size: 1/4"
Mounting Type: 478 and 775
Flow Rating: High
Base Material: Copper
Top Material: Plated Aluminum
 
Let's head over the page to check out the review candidates packaging and contents...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-10-2008, 09:42:27

PV5150
With the release of some new waterblocks on the scene, we thought it was time to have a little shootout between the three new kids on the block, and a couple of the oldies.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...153050475s.jpg

Check out the review here

09-10-2008, 10:06:38

llwyd
Sweeeeeeeeeet review PV, really love the shootouts

09-10-2008, 10:21:41

!TIMMY!
Ive been waiting for this!!! Great review! I think I am sold on the GTZ! The mounting system looks great and it performs dam well

Thanks PV for making my day!

09-10-2008, 10:52:38

JN
Great review mate. Shame the Cuplex didn't do better as I really like the look of it too. Can't have it all I guess

09-10-2008, 11:33:10

Luigi
Yeah, It certainly looks the best...

The D-tek didnt do too well at all though

09-10-2008, 11:55:47

!TIMMY!
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Yeah, It certainly looks the best...

The D-tek didnt do too well at all though
Remember that was the V1 tho.

09-10-2008, 12:38:16

Bubba
Just ordered a few Aqua-computer parts.. couplex XT DI cooler.. let's hope it performs better ..not that it's a big deal but ..

-Bubba

09-10-2008, 13:00:31

!TIMMY!
I have ordered the Swiftech from WCUK and its been dispatched already

09-10-2008, 13:16:13

D-Cyph3r
Interesting that Aqua Computer decided to stick to a very restrictive design... with the likes of D-TEK, Danger Den, Swiftech and XSPC all focusing on high flow rates and low pressure drop they've left themselves in the same camp as EK, a very formidable opponent.

09-10-2008, 13:26:07

Bungral
Great review PV...

One question however. Why didn't the GTZ get the best in class award as the Supreme currently holds it. By the results you got, it was stomped!

09-10-2008, 15:27:44

Marcus
Top job as always guys!

Bit suprised to see that the GTZ and Delta are so close to each other so congrats to XSPC for making an affordable yet high performing block.

Quick note about the 775 brackets that got mentioned for the Delta, we should have them available for retail in approx. 10 days time.

We've already made the proto and tried it, just waiting to get them back from being powder coated now.

http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w.../laser/1-1.jpg

09-10-2008, 17:47:33

w3bbo
Great review m8.

10-10-2008, 10:16:38

FarFarAway
Great review Peevs

Isn't the AC blocvk designed to run with their own pumps and a whole lower-flow system. I understand they have made some concessions to those wanting high-flow systems but afaik they are primarily designed to run in low-flow, restrictive systems?

Either was a beautiful block and gotta love XSPC's VFM as usual

13-10-2008, 04:47:44

Bubba
Hmm well, I hope their external kit (Aquaduct 360 XT MK2) can run all my blocks, or I'll have to buy an extra aquastream pump.. (going to cool: cpu, nb+sb, voltageregulators (x2) and 2x9800gx2 cards)... Sigh, I should have gone for the internal kit from the start, but I werent really in the mood for swapping case with my old pc (which is allready modded for watercooling).... Bwah.. we'll see

-Bubba

14-10-2008, 12:32:00

welshtom
didnt search very hard for the cheapest places tho did you

17-10-2008, 04:44:52

AydST
just a quicky, Swiftech have changed their packaging for the GTZ to the blister back similar to how the Apogee G T and GTX came.

Good review though PV

17-10-2008, 04:53:47

PV5150
Oooh nice. Thanks Ayd
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.