Water Cooling Kit Group-Test

Up Close: AlphaCool NexXxoS Cool Answer 240 DDC/XT45

Water Cooling Kit Mega-test

 

Up Close:  AlphaCool NexXxoS Cool Answer 240 DDC/XT45 

With a name only its mother could love the AlphaCool kit comes packed into a neat briefcase style box.  Delving inside we extract similarly coloured Alphacool branded boxes complete with blister packed Black compression fittings.  The only exceptions to the brand are the Phobya PSU jumper and the Yateloon fans that come bundled with this kit.  The Alphacool ki is also the only one to include a bottle of coolant. 

    Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test

 

 Technical Specification

 AlphaCool

 NexXxoS Cool Answer240 DDC/XT45

 Price

£169.99

Intel   Socket Compatibility

Socket 2011
Socket 1366
Socket 1156
Socket 1155
Socket 775

AMD   Socket Compatibility

Socket FM1
Socket AM3
Socket AM3+
Socket AM2+
Socket AM2

CPU   Waterblock

NexXxoS   XP³ Light - Acetal Edition - Intel/AMD

VGA   Waterblock

N/A

Radiator

Alphacool   NexXxoS XT45 240mm

Radiator   Dimensions

124   x 280 x 45 mm

Radiator   Fan Specification

2 x Low Noise 1300rpm 120 x 25mm Fan

Pump

Laing   DDC-1T Pro Pump : DDC-1T

Pump   Flow Rate

440   L/hr 10W

Reservoir

Alphacool   Repack - Laing DDC - 5,25 Single Bay Station

Tubing

Alphacool   AlphaTube HF 3/8" ID - 1/2" OD (10-13mm) : Clear

Fittings

6 x Alphacool 1/4" Thread Barb Fittings for 1/2" ID : Deep Black

Fluid

Coolant   Clear 1000ml

Suitability

Simple   CPU Watercooling
Mild Overclock CPU Cooling

Package   Contents

1  x Alphacool NexXxoS XP³ Light - Acetal Edition - Intel/AMD
1 x Alphacool Repack - Laing DDC - 5,25 Single Bay Station
1 x Alphacool DDC pump 12V DDC-1T
1 x Alphacool NexXxoS XT45 Full Copper 240mm
3 x Alphacool tubing AlphaTube HF 13/10 (3/8"ID) - clear
6 x 13/10 (10x1,5mm) compression fitting G1/4” – deep black
2 x 120mm fan approx. 1300rpm ( 120x120x25mm )
1 x Coolant Clear 1000ml
1 x ATX bridging plug (24 Pin)

 

Core Components

The beating heart of the AlphaCool system is the NexXxoS XP³ Light Acetal edition.  Sporting a large gold Alphacool logo the XP³ Light is quite the recumbent monolith.  Two clearly labelled ports are positioned towards the upper edge of the contact plate, and as such their close proximity to each other may limit the size of fittings that can be used and/or the angles that rotaries must be placed at.  No such worries with the supplied 13/10 G1/4" Deep Black compression fittings that come supplied in the kit.    

Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test

 

The Alphacool repack Laing DDC single bay reservoir when coupled to the Laing AlphaCool DDC 1T Pro pump provides an integrated solution and with a large clear gauged window there should be no problems keeping an eye on those fluid levels.  As with a great many bay reservoirs the fill port is positioned centrally in the top and although quite posterior it is sill easy enough to reach into with a bit of tubing and a funnel if you leave a vacant bay above it.  At 45mm Thick the NexXxoS XT45 is the second thinnest on test but only a smidge thinner than the 47mm thick EK radiator.  The NexXxos is however the only radiator to have fittings on all sides of each of the two end tanks, making for a total of 3 in and 3 out.  This of course offers much greater flexibility when it comes to plumbing in your loop and should be applauded.

Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test  

 

Assembly and Testing 

Although the CPU block is compatible with a great many Intel and AMD socket types instructions for fitting to socket 2011 aren't provided, leaving us to prove we're real men and work it out for ourselves (which was actually easy enough).  After first threading a thumb-bolt, spring and washer onto an Allen bolt this bolt is then screwed into the motherboard socket holes.  The Thumb bolts are then tightened down to provide pressure via the springs onto the CPU.  Assembling the Pump Res set up was again an instruction free adventure, this time with a little more head-scratching and brute force involved.  In essence the Pump is inelegantly stuffed into the back of the reservoir with tubular rubber seals around the nozzles making for a watertight seal.  If we thought that was hard we were in for a real treat when we came to fit it into our 5.25" bay.  Why?  Because it's slightly larger in height than the height of a 5.25" bay that's why, or more specifically, the large acrylic port plate at the rear of the reservoir sticks up proud just enough to cause the top of the res to foul the guide rails of the bay above, necessitating these to be bent upwards with some pliers. 

Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test  

 

With the swearing and grunting over it was time to plumb everything together.  AlphaCool have coupled their Deep Black 13/10 compression fittings with some 13/10 clear tubing.  The thin diameter of this tubing makes it easier to manoeuvre than some thicker tubes, however the thin walls and high flexibility did seem to make it more prone to kinking than some of the others on test here.  On start up we noted the pump was on the noisy side with a distinct vibration through the chassis, seems simply cramming the pump into the rear of the res with only a thin rubber pad as isolation doesn't make for quiet running!  On the plus side, the fans were very quiet.  God old Yate Loon eh.

Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test   

 

Once the whole assembly has been wedged into place, the slightly smoked glass look of the front panel does give the reservoir that little hint of class.  The Gold AlphaCool logo is ever present of course but does nothing to detract from the looks  

Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test    

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-07-2013, 06:17:35

tinytomlogan
XSPC, EK, AlphaCool and Phobya do battle. Who will be crowned king of the 240mm radiator Water Cooling kits


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...053156396l.jpg


Continue Reading

08-07-2013, 06:38:38

bofeming
Nice review TTL, I really apreciate this beacause I was wondering to buy a kit, and I think the EK looks better for me.
Maybe in the near future I can buy some loop expansion, like other rad, better pump/res and a block for my GC.
Do you think it will be worth? Or should I buy a custom loop directly.
Must say that this gonna be my 1st custom WC project.

Thx again for the review

08-07-2013, 06:45:20

SieB
Interesting read, would be good to see more reviews like this

I'm surprised at the performance of the XSPC RS rad, given that it's the thinnest out of the lot. Not much in it at all though really, unless you are trying to get the lowest temps possible, it doesn't really matter which kit you go with.

08-07-2013, 06:56:13

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by bofeming View Post
Nice review TTL, I really apreciate this beacause I was wondering to buy a kit, and I think the EK looks better for me.
Maybe in the near future I can buy some loop expansion, like other rad, better pump/res and a block for my GC.
Do you think it will be worth? Or should I buy a custom loop directly.
Must say that this gonna be my 1st custom WC project.

Thx again for the review

G-Dubs did this review dude. I may own OC3D but theres VB and Gdubs doing reviews too dudio

08-07-2013, 08:48:35

Greenback
Thanks Gary for the time you put in to this I have been hoping for something like this.
As SieB said the xspc rs240 result was interesting and makes you wonder how the RX240 kit would of done. (I don't expect you to do it you have done a good job here)
I think it also shows that in all fairness if you are only looking at a cpu loop and never want to upgrade the AIO's are a viable option considering they are cheaper and you could put Gt ap15's or nf-f12's with the money you would save, And probably get near on the same results

08-07-2013, 09:35:58

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenback View Post
Thanks Gary for the time you put in to this I have been hoping for something like this.
As SieB said the xspc rs240 result was interesting and makes you wonder how the RX240 kit would of done. (I don't expect you to do it you have done a good job here)
I think it also shows that in all fairness if you are only looking at a cpu loop and never want to upgrade the AIO's are a viable option considering they are cheaper and you could put Gt ap15's or nf-f12's with the money you would save, And probably get near on the same results

The RX240 would have scored much the same as the phobya, the CPU isnt maxing the rads hence the temps. Having a bigger rad just means better low speed fan results if you look........

08-07-2013, 10:21:39

lwatcdr
I was surprised how well the H110 and H100i held up. Seems like AIOs are pretty good these days.

08-07-2013, 10:22:46

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwatcdr View Post
I was surprised how well the H110 and H100i held up. Seems like AIOs are pretty good these days.
Its not THAT surprising tbh. These style kits are as low as I would ever go tbh.

IMHO water is all about aesthetics and low fan speeds with better than air load temps.

08-07-2013, 10:41:34

Montysaurus
I just ordered my first XSPC WC kit from Specialtech and find your beginners Vids on their site extremely helpful. This set of reviews has been really informative regarding the instructions which come with the kits and I'm glad I went with XSPC.
Thanks again TTL and all the crew at OC3d for all the hard work and getting us the info.

08-07-2013, 10:47:24

airdeano
i love a good ole shootout.. great review gary!

watching the graphs shrink with voltage increase was interesting, as the 1.45v
"weed out" temperatures showed kit brawniness.
very good..

(side note: in the graphs Raystorm is Raysorm)

08-07-2013, 14:05:02

Mysterae
Great review for wannabe and existing watercooling folk; to learn and compare respectively. Having done a lot of testing with my own rig, I can see the amount of work this group test would have taken.

Testing these kits in the fairest and honest way as has been done here, I think vindicates the AIO market somewhat. Performances almost on par, it's about the kind of experience one wants, and how risk averse they are too .

08-07-2013, 16:02:26

Mgutierrez33
Very informative review (typos aside x-P). May have to do some measurements in my chassis now (Graphite 600T with roof and front mesh removed) based on what I saw here in terms of rad thickness since I want to go for single low-speed fan configs when I DO get a loop going. Also has me considering some other brands as well for components.

08-07-2013, 17:04:19

FTLN
Nice reviews Gary,,

But i wish you guys would change the way you do your graphs..

There so uneasy on the eye....

08-07-2013, 20:53:41

lwatcdr
For me it is all about practicality. I like the reduction in the stress on the motherboard and reduction of RAM clearance issues compared to a large air cooler. I do like less noise as well. That isn't to say that I do not enjoy your builds. I hate windows in cases and just want a nice clean look myself. My wife wants a red case for her next build with a big window and lights. My next build will probably use a Fractal Design case while my wife will probably get a Phantom.

09-07-2013, 09:17:16

kittysniper
Thanks for the review and comparison, nice to know the best way to improve is to use noctua fans instead of stock 1s imo, which seems to be causing the biggest difference.

09-07-2013, 09:34:47

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by kittysniper View Post
Thanks for the review and comparison, nice to know the best way to improve is to use noctua fans instead of stock 1s imo, which seems to be causing the biggest difference.
Doesnt have to be noctua dude...... Just 'better' fans. Also if you READ the whole review youll see the closed loop fans in one of the kits performed the same as the Noctuas

09-07-2013, 10:23:52

d3rrial
That review was very helpful, I now decided I would buy an EK-Kit now, instead of the Alphacool one thank you a lot!

10-07-2013, 12:36:16

SimonB
love xspc raystorm look illuminated with leds of your build color would be just ,och my god geekporn for sure =DD other then that they all are good but i wouldint buy it ;/ since i prefer 360 or 240x6/8 fat rad just to be able having lover noise i become silence adict since i got my sp120QE =DD

24-07-2013, 21:19:38

loglog
honestly i'm kind of dissapointed in these kits. Seeing as how a NZXT-X60 and Corsair H100i can keep up or out preform them for a cheaper price an no maintenance required.
It is true that these have expandability options, but honestly if thats your plan you should save up and do it all at once.

25-07-2013, 01:39:10

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by loglog View Post
honestly i'm kind of dissapointed in these kits. Seeing as how a NZXT-X60 and Corsair H100i can keep up or out preform them for a cheaper price an no maintenance required.
It is true that these have expandability options, but honestly if thats your plan you should save up and do it all at once.
Well the kits don't exactly have much more surface area than the AIOs so for them being as far ahead as they were is pretty impressive.

26-07-2013, 17:36:54

loglog
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Well the kits don't exactly have much more surface area than the AIOs so for them being as far ahead as they were is pretty impressive.
I certainly dont disagree with you. However I would have imagined being a true WC kit, that having a separate res and rad would have lowered temps a little bit and by holding more coolant, but maybe thats just thining wrong.

26-07-2013, 19:53:47

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by loglog View Post
I certainly dont disagree with you. However I would have imagined being a true WC kit, that having a separate res and rad would have lowered temps a little bit and by holding more coolant, but maybe thats just thining wrong.
You're correct. But think about it.. How much more fluid is actually making contact and how much faster is the fluid going? Not much(mostly) so therefore it as almost always comes down to the fans. So considering how much farther they are it's pretty impressive.

26-07-2013, 21:47:40

loglog
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
You're correct. But think about it.. How much more fluid is actually making contact and how much faster is the fluid going? Not much(mostly) so therefore it as almost always comes down to the fans. So considering how much farther they are it's pretty impressive.
Very true, very true. I guess I was simply over estimating their stock potential. Better fans would definintly have helped; I'm qurious to see how each would have preformed with some GT AP-15's or NF-F12's.
Also having the ability to expand to a second rad or being able to add the GPU into the loop i guess is where the main value comes into play.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.