Thermaltake Xaser VI Super Tower Chassis

Testing

Testing

Cooling Performance

Well I must say that the Xaser VI Super Tower performed very well in our thermal zone testing today. The resultant temperatures are more than acceptable. You can see from the graph that the two obvious areas that incurred a rise in temperature, are the GPU and CPU. This is not surprising considering that the Q6600 is dumping over 95W of heat back into the case, and the Palit 8600 GT graphics card doesn't feature the cooling solution of its older siblings (8800 GTS/GTX), where the waste heat is exhausted out the back of the card itself.

Thermaltake Xaser VI Super Tower thermal chart
 
Noise

The 120 and 140mm fans that Thermaltake has included in the Xaser VI Super Tower are extremely quiet to say the least. I could actually hear the 80mm fan on the Scythe Ninja mini heat sink and the fan on my 8600 GT graphics card over the top of the Thermaltake cooling fans. The noise emitted by the Thermaltake cooling fans borders on the inaudible. Excellent effort Thermaltake.

Now let's head over the page to see our final thoughts; conclusion and the award given to the Thermaltake Xaser VI Super Tower chassis in todays performance review...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-11-2007, 04:28:14

PV5150
Thermaltake has released the latest in their range of chassis - the Xaser VI Super Tower. Overclock3D took it for a road test...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...121152988s.jpg

Linkage

26-11-2007, 05:38:03

Marcus
Nice review as always Matt, still can't help but think that the case looks plasticy and tacky.

I would have considered buying it 2 years ago but no a chance now i've used a V2000 & a TJ07. Sorry TT but you just aint cutting it in my eyes.

26-11-2007, 05:55:25

PV5150
Thanks Marcus. Yeah I agree...I love my TJ-07. Tt do target a specific market typically, and I believe that the Xaser VI will definitely appeal to many of the younger and budget conscious generation. Providing the price is right

26-11-2007, 06:42:11

duke
I like all the functionality it provides, although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.

26-11-2007, 08:16:53

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='duke'
...although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.
LOL - waits for TT user/xblade owner to say heyyy!

I bought a TT case for my first simply because it was black, in the sale from 80 to 20, wasn't particularly flashy and had lots of quiet fans and I didn't know any better

In all fairness it was a decent case and even though my current lili ended up costing 175 with the hole saw cuts and delivery it doesn't seem any better than my old TT, just more expensive - sure it's nice and I don't mind becasue I don't really have a budget...

I think TT designs are getting worse. That is an acheivement right there!

26-11-2007, 08:31:49

ali_james
Yuk!

Looks like one of my old design tech projects when i was 12...

26-11-2007, 11:28:32

ionicle
i had a tsunami dream, liked it, it did the job, but it was nothing spectacular

i recon this is the same,

it does what it says on the box, nothing more

the attempted cool look, just...no...tbh

26-11-2007, 12:23:20

Brooksie
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='duke'
I like all the functionality it provides, although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
LOL - waits for TT user/xblade owner to say heyyy!
heyyy!!

lol.. it looks like a chavved up version of the stacker lol

26-11-2007, 12:27:45

Rastalovich
Great review.

The looks aren`t an issue for me as I`d not buy one of these cases that are shrouded in plasticy-looking black/red/silver stuff.

But, if a client wanted one, I know the case is gonna be pretty easy to work in. Things like misplaced stand-offs can be worked around, imo, and are one of the minor things some case manufs can put in ur way during construction.

I`d like included in these reviews how the pci slot clips stand up under their own mechanism, and if they`re too weak for plugging in the likes of dvi cables - have the manufs put screw holes there. U know, the cards move too much when u go to plug stuff in/out.

Seems to me it`d make a solid disk server case too, but with the design, perhaps not the market they`re looking at.

Good to hear there are decent fans in there too. Otherwize people would be looking @ $20-$30 extra to replace them with quiet ones.

Don`t think it`s overly priced either, just not for me, but wouldn`t have sleepless nights if a client wanted one.

26-11-2007, 13:51:01

Mandible
Mmm.. i like the sides, just says something about being 15

If i ever got that case, i would prbably have it WITHOUT the front door. As i dont like it's design with the 2 curvy silver bits reminding me of the muse masks.

I would also change it to red lighting o' course, as it just needs to be. Otherwise, nice looking case, but oooooverpriced. The armor is my port of call.

26-11-2007, 17:38:20

Pat123
In all black, it could looks a little better perhaps, but damn is it ugly.. Seems pretty good on the features front mind
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.