Thermaltake Xaser VI Super Tower Chassis

Internal Features

Internal Features

Traditionally, Thermaltake has always championed the 'tool-less' design of their chassis', as well as the cooling efficiency. The Thermaltake Xaser VI Super Tower is no different and continues this trend.

Tool-less HDD's Open HDD
 
With the inclusion of tool-less mechanisms for ten PCI slots, seven HDD's and for the 5.25" drive bays it should make installation of your chosen system an absolute breeze. Thermaltake has also catered for those who prefer to still use the screw method.

You can see from the image below (right) that all the HDD cages are completely removable.
 
Tool-less blanking slots HDD's removed
 
The inclusion of a removable motherboard tray surprised me, as well as the provision for hidden cabling behind the motherboard area. In order to remove the motherboard tray you need to undo 4 small screws at the rear of the chassis, and then remove the two side panels. A little bit of fiddling about, but handy regardless.

The voids in the motherboard tray for hidden cabling are quite well finished off too; no nippy steel edges to report.
 
Cable routing through the motherboard tray Removable motherboard tray
Additional graphics card cooling
 
The extra TT1425 140mm fan that was included in the accessories can be screwed on to the the face of the motherboard tray for additional cooling to hardware residing in your motherboards expansion slots.
 
bare case floor Enough room for a heat exchanger
 
Yes it had to be checked. The Thermaltake Xaser VI will safely accept a 240mm heat exchanger in the floor of the case, or a PA120.3, but you lose the HDD cages altogether. When I was comparing the barb distance on my PA120.3 to the pilot holes in the case floor they didn't quite line up, so please take note if you are planning on whacking a radiator in the bottom. Furthermore; you may find that the brace on the bottom of the motherboard tray may get in the way, but it should be easy enough to modify it without risking the structural integrity of the motherboard tray.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-11-2007, 04:28:14

PV5150
Thermaltake has released the latest in their range of chassis - the Xaser VI Super Tower. Overclock3D took it for a road test...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...121152988s.jpg

Linkage

26-11-2007, 05:38:03

Marcus
Nice review as always Matt, still can't help but think that the case looks plasticy and tacky.

I would have considered buying it 2 years ago but no a chance now i've used a V2000 & a TJ07. Sorry TT but you just aint cutting it in my eyes.

26-11-2007, 05:55:25

PV5150
Thanks Marcus. Yeah I agree...I love my TJ-07. Tt do target a specific market typically, and I believe that the Xaser VI will definitely appeal to many of the younger and budget conscious generation. Providing the price is right

26-11-2007, 06:42:11

duke
I like all the functionality it provides, although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.

26-11-2007, 08:16:53

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='duke'
...although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.
LOL - waits for TT user/xblade owner to say heyyy!

I bought a TT case for my first simply because it was black, in the sale from 80 to 20, wasn't particularly flashy and had lots of quiet fans and I didn't know any better

In all fairness it was a decent case and even though my current lili ended up costing 175 with the hole saw cuts and delivery it doesn't seem any better than my old TT, just more expensive - sure it's nice and I don't mind becasue I don't really have a budget...

I think TT designs are getting worse. That is an acheivement right there!

26-11-2007, 08:31:49

ali_james
Yuk!

Looks like one of my old design tech projects when i was 12...

26-11-2007, 11:28:32

ionicle
i had a tsunami dream, liked it, it did the job, but it was nothing spectacular

i recon this is the same,

it does what it says on the box, nothing more

the attempted cool look, just...no...tbh

26-11-2007, 12:23:20

Brooksie
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='duke'
I like all the functionality it provides, although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
LOL - waits for TT user/xblade owner to say heyyy!
heyyy!!

lol.. it looks like a chavved up version of the stacker lol

26-11-2007, 12:27:45

Rastalovich
Great review.

The looks aren`t an issue for me as I`d not buy one of these cases that are shrouded in plasticy-looking black/red/silver stuff.

But, if a client wanted one, I know the case is gonna be pretty easy to work in. Things like misplaced stand-offs can be worked around, imo, and are one of the minor things some case manufs can put in ur way during construction.

I`d like included in these reviews how the pci slot clips stand up under their own mechanism, and if they`re too weak for plugging in the likes of dvi cables - have the manufs put screw holes there. U know, the cards move too much when u go to plug stuff in/out.

Seems to me it`d make a solid disk server case too, but with the design, perhaps not the market they`re looking at.

Good to hear there are decent fans in there too. Otherwize people would be looking @ $20-$30 extra to replace them with quiet ones.

Don`t think it`s overly priced either, just not for me, but wouldn`t have sleepless nights if a client wanted one.

26-11-2007, 13:51:01

Mandible
Mmm.. i like the sides, just says something about being 15

If i ever got that case, i would prbably have it WITHOUT the front door. As i dont like it's design with the 2 curvy silver bits reminding me of the muse masks.

I would also change it to red lighting o' course, as it just needs to be. Otherwise, nice looking case, but oooooverpriced. The armor is my port of call.

26-11-2007, 17:38:20

Pat123
In all black, it could looks a little better perhaps, but damn is it ugly.. Seems pretty good on the features front mind
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.