Thermaltake Xaser VI Super Tower Chassis

Internal: A Closer Look

Internal: A Closer Look

The Thermaltake Xaser VI Super Tower certainly has plenty of room for internal storage. Complete with room for 7 HDD's and 7 x 5.25" drive bays, you really can't complain about the space it affords.

Xaser VI first glimpse
Xaser VI rear of chassis
 
 The following images further illustrate the space and functionality that the Xaser VI Super Tower can bring to a new system build.
 
 Extra HDD storage
Adjustable PSU bracket 5.25" drive bays

Thermaltake has also included an adjustable PSU bracket which may come in handy if you're looking to utilise a PSU which is longer than the average. It comes with 2 x thumb screws which makes it dead simple to adjust.
 
Top mounted exhaust fan
 
You can see from the image above that Thermaltake has included a large exhaust fan to help eliminate rising temperatures from within the case. With a 140mm fan at the front and a 120mm fan at the rear of the case, as well as the top mounted 140mm exhaust fan, the Xaser VI Super Tower should be able to provide a good account for itself in respect to cooling and noise.
 
 Case riveted together

To be honest, one of the areas of the Xaser VI Super Tower that didn't appeal to me was the preference for using pop rivets during construction. Whilst pop rivets no doubt do the job well, they tend be a hinderence to those who prefer to 'mod' their cases. The inclusion of screwed joints on all structural members would have made the experience more enjoyable, and would have allowed the case a little more 'modability'.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-11-2007, 04:28:14

PV5150
Thermaltake has released the latest in their range of chassis - the Xaser VI Super Tower. Overclock3D took it for a road test...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...121152988s.jpg

Linkage

26-11-2007, 05:38:03

Marcus
Nice review as always Matt, still can't help but think that the case looks plasticy and tacky.

I would have considered buying it 2 years ago but no a chance now i've used a V2000 & a TJ07. Sorry TT but you just aint cutting it in my eyes.

26-11-2007, 05:55:25

PV5150
Thanks Marcus. Yeah I agree...I love my TJ-07. Tt do target a specific market typically, and I believe that the Xaser VI will definitely appeal to many of the younger and budget conscious generation. Providing the price is right

26-11-2007, 06:42:11

duke
I like all the functionality it provides, although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.

26-11-2007, 08:16:53

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='duke'
...although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.
LOL - waits for TT user/xblade owner to say heyyy!

I bought a TT case for my first simply because it was black, in the sale from 80 to 20, wasn't particularly flashy and had lots of quiet fans and I didn't know any better

In all fairness it was a decent case and even though my current lili ended up costing 175 with the hole saw cuts and delivery it doesn't seem any better than my old TT, just more expensive - sure it's nice and I don't mind becasue I don't really have a budget...

I think TT designs are getting worse. That is an acheivement right there!

26-11-2007, 08:31:49

ali_james
Yuk!

Looks like one of my old design tech projects when i was 12...

26-11-2007, 11:28:32

ionicle
i had a tsunami dream, liked it, it did the job, but it was nothing spectacular

i recon this is the same,

it does what it says on the box, nothing more

the attempted cool look, just...no...tbh

26-11-2007, 12:23:20

Brooksie
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='duke'
I like all the functionality it provides, although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
LOL - waits for TT user/xblade owner to say heyyy!
heyyy!!

lol.. it looks like a chavved up version of the stacker lol

26-11-2007, 12:27:45

Rastalovich
Great review.

The looks aren`t an issue for me as I`d not buy one of these cases that are shrouded in plasticy-looking black/red/silver stuff.

But, if a client wanted one, I know the case is gonna be pretty easy to work in. Things like misplaced stand-offs can be worked around, imo, and are one of the minor things some case manufs can put in ur way during construction.

I`d like included in these reviews how the pci slot clips stand up under their own mechanism, and if they`re too weak for plugging in the likes of dvi cables - have the manufs put screw holes there. U know, the cards move too much when u go to plug stuff in/out.

Seems to me it`d make a solid disk server case too, but with the design, perhaps not the market they`re looking at.

Good to hear there are decent fans in there too. Otherwize people would be looking @ $20-$30 extra to replace them with quiet ones.

Don`t think it`s overly priced either, just not for me, but wouldn`t have sleepless nights if a client wanted one.

26-11-2007, 13:51:01

Mandible
Mmm.. i like the sides, just says something about being 15

If i ever got that case, i would prbably have it WITHOUT the front door. As i dont like it's design with the 2 curvy silver bits reminding me of the muse masks.

I would also change it to red lighting o' course, as it just needs to be. Otherwise, nice looking case, but oooooverpriced. The armor is my port of call.

26-11-2007, 17:38:20

Pat123
In all black, it could looks a little better perhaps, but damn is it ugly.. Seems pretty good on the features front mind
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.