Thermaltake Xaser VI Super Tower Chassis

External Features

External Features

Some of the extra features on the Xaser VI Super Tower chassis are quite cool, and remain subtle at the same time. The first external feature is the inclusion of the covered on/off button and front panel connectivity options. The smokey plastic cover is a good move in that it helps eliminate dust from building up in the USB, Firewire and E-SATA ports. Furthermore; being mounted on the top of the chassis it helps eliminate the possibility of accidentally hitting the reset or power button.


Covered front panel Front panel illustrated
 
Following in the vein of the CoolerMaster tower cases, the Thermaltake Xaser VI Super Tower also provides a simple and highly accessible method of installing your 5.25" devices, which I have covered in a little more detail a little further down the page.

One thing that I found odd with the Xaser VI Super Tower's 5.25" face plates is that even though they are intended to act as a dust filter, they are a little crippled. You can see from the lower (right) image that the first four face plates are completely sealed in front of the lower case fan, but the face plates above the case fan have a gap in the side. Surely this will be an area for dust to work its way into your case if you can't fill all the available 7 remaining 5.25" drive bays with hardware.
 
Front door removed 5.25" face-plates
 
The chassis door is removable and able to be hinged from both sides depending on your personal preference. The case door is very reminiscent of the CoolerMaster 830 Stacker. The clips, illustrated by the lower (right) image can simply be removed by gently squeezing them and then transferring them to the other side of the door.
 
Removeable front door Removeable door clip

Woops! This one got by the person in charge of QA at Thermaltake. The 2 - 2.5cm scratch looks like the screw got a case of the wanders during the manufacturing process and was left unchecked.
 
Scratch on inside of removeable door
 
The 5.25" drive-bay face plates are really cool, although they are made entirely of plastic and feel a little on the flimsy side. All that is required to remove them is to insert your finger and pull gently towards yourself. The face plates have thin foam on the inside to act as a dust filter and should clean out easily with a gentle wash with water.
 
5.25" face-plate removed
 
The top of the case also slides back to reveal a small storage area for accessories (hence the sticker I showed you on the previous page). Simply remove the two retaining screws at the rear of the case and slide the top back towards the rear and there it is. If you decided to run with Thermaltake's LCS (Liquid Cooling System) then this storage area will be replaced with the LCS reservoir.
 
Accessory compartment

Now that we've taken a look at the external features of the Xaser VI Super Tower let's head over the page to check it out internally...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-11-2007, 04:28:14

PV5150
Thermaltake has released the latest in their range of chassis - the Xaser VI Super Tower. Overclock3D took it for a road test...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...121152988s.jpg

Linkage

26-11-2007, 05:38:03

Marcus
Nice review as always Matt, still can't help but think that the case looks plasticy and tacky.

I would have considered buying it 2 years ago but no a chance now i've used a V2000 & a TJ07. Sorry TT but you just aint cutting it in my eyes.

26-11-2007, 05:55:25

PV5150
Thanks Marcus. Yeah I agree...I love my TJ-07. Tt do target a specific market typically, and I believe that the Xaser VI will definitely appeal to many of the younger and budget conscious generation. Providing the price is right

26-11-2007, 06:42:11

duke
I like all the functionality it provides, although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.

26-11-2007, 08:16:53

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='duke'
...although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.
LOL - waits for TT user/xblade owner to say heyyy!

I bought a TT case for my first simply because it was black, in the sale from 80 to 20, wasn't particularly flashy and had lots of quiet fans and I didn't know any better

In all fairness it was a decent case and even though my current lili ended up costing 175 with the hole saw cuts and delivery it doesn't seem any better than my old TT, just more expensive - sure it's nice and I don't mind becasue I don't really have a budget...

I think TT designs are getting worse. That is an acheivement right there!

26-11-2007, 08:31:49

ali_james
Yuk!

Looks like one of my old design tech projects when i was 12...

26-11-2007, 11:28:32

ionicle
i had a tsunami dream, liked it, it did the job, but it was nothing spectacular

i recon this is the same,

it does what it says on the box, nothing more

the attempted cool look, just...no...tbh

26-11-2007, 12:23:20

Brooksie
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='duke'
I like all the functionality it provides, although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
LOL - waits for TT user/xblade owner to say heyyy!
heyyy!!

lol.. it looks like a chavved up version of the stacker lol

26-11-2007, 12:27:45

Rastalovich
Great review.

The looks aren`t an issue for me as I`d not buy one of these cases that are shrouded in plasticy-looking black/red/silver stuff.

But, if a client wanted one, I know the case is gonna be pretty easy to work in. Things like misplaced stand-offs can be worked around, imo, and are one of the minor things some case manufs can put in ur way during construction.

I`d like included in these reviews how the pci slot clips stand up under their own mechanism, and if they`re too weak for plugging in the likes of dvi cables - have the manufs put screw holes there. U know, the cards move too much when u go to plug stuff in/out.

Seems to me it`d make a solid disk server case too, but with the design, perhaps not the market they`re looking at.

Good to hear there are decent fans in there too. Otherwize people would be looking @ $20-$30 extra to replace them with quiet ones.

Don`t think it`s overly priced either, just not for me, but wouldn`t have sleepless nights if a client wanted one.

26-11-2007, 13:51:01

Mandible
Mmm.. i like the sides, just says something about being 15

If i ever got that case, i would prbably have it WITHOUT the front door. As i dont like it's design with the 2 curvy silver bits reminding me of the muse masks.

I would also change it to red lighting o' course, as it just needs to be. Otherwise, nice looking case, but oooooverpriced. The armor is my port of call.

26-11-2007, 17:38:20

Pat123
In all black, it could looks a little better perhaps, but damn is it ugly.. Seems pretty good on the features front mind
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.