Thermaltake Xaser VI Super Tower Chassis

Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Final Thoughts and Conclusion

So how did the Thermaltake Xaser VI Super Tower perform in todays review?

According to Thermaltake the Xaser VI Super Tower will have an MSRP of US$274 (with tax) for the black, and US$312 (with tax) for the silver. Quite reasonable pricing for the version reviewed here today.

The build quality of the Xaser VI Super Tower is good apart from the few blemishes that I highlighted in todays review: the scratched front door; the missing standoff hole, and the fixed standoff that could have caused a shorting problem on the back of the motherboard. However, I would like to think that these are isolated incidents.

The Thermaltake Xaser VI Super Tower as it stands is a very solid and competent build. The lack of somewhere to hold the case securely when carrying is a concern too, especially when the bottom of the case is the only real place that feels structurally sound enough. I must admit that the live weight of the chassis may exclude it from being utilised in anything other than desktop work, or the odd occasional LAN. If you are a dedicated weekend LAN'er then you may want to look elsewhere.

The inclusion of Thermaltake's tool-less design and a removable motherboard tray makes for light work when installing your system of choice. The amount of storage capacity and versatility of the Xaser VI chassis also warrants a mention, as it enables the user to customise the chassis according to whether storage or additional cooling is a priority. The chassis ability to house a 120.3 sized radiator internally is further testament to the design.

The overall cooling performance of the chassis is very good due to its ability to breathe well. The inclusion of low noise 120mm and 140mm fans, and the subsequent thermal zone design of the chassis led to very good temperature reading during the review. However, I will say that the Xaser VI Super Tower chassis does have the potential to be a dust trap. The large areas of steel mesh and the slightly 'crippled' dust filters will allow the dust mites into your case over time. Which in turn makes the chassis a candidate for very regular cleaning and maintenance. Let's have a look at the breakdown:

The Good
• Excellent cooling performance
• Thoughtful internal layout
• Oodles of storage capacity
• Tool-less features speed up installation
• Capacity to accommodate water-cooling
• Quiet operation using the supplied fans

The Mediocre
• Quality issues
• Looks may not appeal to some
• Dust

The Bad
• Weight

In conclusion, I have decided to award the Thermaltake Xaser VI Super Tower the Overclock3D.net 'Recommended Award' and the 'Innovation Award' based upon its performance today.

Recommended Award Innovation Award

Overclock3D would like to thank Thermaltake for providing the Xaser VI Super Tower for todays review

Discuss in our forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-11-2007, 04:28:14

PV5150
Thermaltake has released the latest in their range of chassis - the Xaser VI Super Tower. Overclock3D took it for a road test...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...121152988s.jpg

Linkage

26-11-2007, 05:38:03

Marcus
Nice review as always Matt, still can't help but think that the case looks plasticy and tacky.

I would have considered buying it 2 years ago but no a chance now i've used a V2000 & a TJ07. Sorry TT but you just aint cutting it in my eyes.

26-11-2007, 05:55:25

PV5150
Thanks Marcus. Yeah I agree...I love my TJ-07. Tt do target a specific market typically, and I believe that the Xaser VI will definitely appeal to many of the younger and budget conscious generation. Providing the price is right

26-11-2007, 06:42:11

duke
I like all the functionality it provides, although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.

26-11-2007, 08:16:53

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='duke'
...although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.
LOL - waits for TT user/xblade owner to say heyyy!

I bought a TT case for my first simply because it was black, in the sale from 80 to 20, wasn't particularly flashy and had lots of quiet fans and I didn't know any better

In all fairness it was a decent case and even though my current lili ended up costing 175 with the hole saw cuts and delivery it doesn't seem any better than my old TT, just more expensive - sure it's nice and I don't mind becasue I don't really have a budget...

I think TT designs are getting worse. That is an acheivement right there!

26-11-2007, 08:31:49

ali_james
Yuk!

Looks like one of my old design tech projects when i was 12...

26-11-2007, 11:28:32

ionicle
i had a tsunami dream, liked it, it did the job, but it was nothing spectacular

i recon this is the same,

it does what it says on the box, nothing more

the attempted cool look, just...no...tbh

26-11-2007, 12:23:20

Brooksie
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='duke'
I like all the functionality it provides, although to me it visually resembles a cheapo X-Blade chassis.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
LOL - waits for TT user/xblade owner to say heyyy!
heyyy!!

lol.. it looks like a chavved up version of the stacker lol

26-11-2007, 12:27:45

Rastalovich
Great review.

The looks aren`t an issue for me as I`d not buy one of these cases that are shrouded in plasticy-looking black/red/silver stuff.

But, if a client wanted one, I know the case is gonna be pretty easy to work in. Things like misplaced stand-offs can be worked around, imo, and are one of the minor things some case manufs can put in ur way during construction.

I`d like included in these reviews how the pci slot clips stand up under their own mechanism, and if they`re too weak for plugging in the likes of dvi cables - have the manufs put screw holes there. U know, the cards move too much when u go to plug stuff in/out.

Seems to me it`d make a solid disk server case too, but with the design, perhaps not the market they`re looking at.

Good to hear there are decent fans in there too. Otherwize people would be looking @ $20-$30 extra to replace them with quiet ones.

Don`t think it`s overly priced either, just not for me, but wouldn`t have sleepless nights if a client wanted one.

26-11-2007, 13:51:01

Mandible
Mmm.. i like the sides, just says something about being 15

If i ever got that case, i would prbably have it WITHOUT the front door. As i dont like it's design with the 2 curvy silver bits reminding me of the muse masks.

I would also change it to red lighting o' course, as it just needs to be. Otherwise, nice looking case, but oooooverpriced. The armor is my port of call.

26-11-2007, 17:38:20

Pat123
In all black, it could looks a little better perhaps, but damn is it ugly.. Seems pretty good on the features front mind
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.