Thermaltake Spedo Advance Chassis

A Closer Look: Outside

A Closer Look: Outside
 
The Thermaltake Spedo Advance chassis is an interesting beast, and to be honest it grows on me further every day. Probably the standout feature of the Spedo on first impressions is the inclusion of the 230mm fan on the side panel. For those of you who paid attention to the specifications listed on the first page, you'd know that the Spedo actually has two of these 230mm fans included, but I'll show you the second one in a little more detail shortly. If you look carefully at the side mounted 230mm fan, you will see a series of small vented louvres that the air is going to have to be drawn through. It will be interesting to see if this inhibits the fans performance during the testing phase of the review. 
 
Thermaltake Spedo front Thermaltake Spedo left side
Thermaltake Spedo right side
 
The other side panel of the Spedo Advance also features additional mesh to facilitate better breathing capability. For those who prefer to 'mod' their side panels, you may be a little restricted as to what else you can include on these ones without reducing the structural integrity of the panels. The side panels fit onto the chassis courtesy of an 'open hinge' design and are very easy to remove/put back on. The side panels are then secured in place by two thumbscrews on the rear edge. However, the panels don't seem to fit as 'flush' as they should because there is a considerable amount of rattle in each panel.
 
Thermaltake Spedo rear
 
Moving around to the rear of the Thermaltake Spedo Advance we can see the inclusion of 2 x 120mm cooling fans that work in an exhaust capacity. Thermaltake has also seen fit to make the Spedo Advance chassis water-cooling friendly by adding two pre-cut holes that will accommodate 1/2" ID tubing. Interestingly, Thermaltake has also placed the housing for the power supply at the bottom of the chassis. There are also seven expansion bay slots should you have a motherboard that will take advantage of this amount.
 
On the top of the Thermaltake Spedo Advance we can see the front panel connectivity of the chasssis. There are: two USB ports; one eSATA port; one microphone socket and a headphone socket. One the side of the front bezel, Thermaltake has included the necessary power and reset buttons. The buttons feel of a very good quality and only require a light touch to operate.
 
Thermaltake Spedo top Thermaltake Spedo connectivity options
Power and reset buttons
 
The top cover of the Thermaltake Spedo Advance features louvred vents to increase the entry of cool air into the chassis. It is also designed to be removable, and pressing the two clips visible in the lower (left) image facilitates the removal. Voila - there's the other 230mm cooling fan
 
Thermaltake Spedo louvred top Louvred top removed
 
The Thermaltake Spedo Advance also features retractable case feet. The image below shows them in their retracted position, but gently swinging them out 90 degrees see's them lock into position providing additional stability for the chassis itself.
 
Thermaltake adjustable case feet Retractable case feet
 
Let's head over the page to have a closer look at the internals of the Thermaltake Spedo Advance chassis...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-09-2008, 05:53:47

PV5150
Could the Spedo Advance chassis be the best case that Thermaltake has produced?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...110532269s.jpg

Check out the review to see what we think of it

17-09-2008, 06:10:19

Diablo
Nice review guys. Very thorough.

However the case leaves a bit to be desired by the look of it. The Thermal areas thing clearly doesn't work and 50 something decibels is really obnoxiously loud. The looks are fairly subjective so I won't comment, aside from saying it has quite a nice industrial look (from the pics...maybe not in the flesh).

I have concerns over the screwless expansion card connectors and the use of plastic. Another thing I dislike is the placement of the PSU and the use of louvres not of mesh.

I like the idea of the plastic squares on the back of the mobo, but at the end day it is only wire you are covering up. I also notice they've changed the thumbscrews on the back of the case...the worst feature of the Xaser VI

Speaking from experience with Thermaltake cases, they are not as bad as they used to be and while they lack the finish of Lian li, they aren't as bad as everyone says. Still wouldn't buy this one though.

17-09-2008, 06:26:54

Robert
the xaser and the armor+ are still the best made thermaltake cases out there to my opinion. and these 2 are in par with cooler master cases to, wich is good. but it is true that lian li is still be best branch for cases, becouse of the finishes they have on their cases, but it also comes with a big price ofcource.

17-09-2008, 06:30:40

PV5150
The case has actually grown on me as I stated in the review, and as you said it does have an industrial look to it. I think that look adds to the appeal somewhat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diablo
I have concerns over the screwless expansion card connectors and the use of plastic. Another thing I dislike is the placement of the PSU and the use of louvres not of mesh.
Even though the screwless expansion card holders are plastic they do feel very solid and not likely to snap or crack. I too would have preferred modders mesh over the louvres.

I like the idea of the plastic squares on the back of the mobo, but at the end day it is only wire you are covering up. I also notice they've changed the thumbscrews on the back of the case...the worst feature of the Xaser VI



I'm not fussed by the squares personally. But considering that you can see into the back of the motherboard tray via the side panel, they sort of become a necessity. As for the thumbscrews, I really like the ones on the Spedo as opposed to those on the Xaser VI

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Robert'
the xaser and the armor+ are still the best made thermaltake cases out there to my opinion.
While I can't comment on the Armor+, the Xaser VI is so bloody heavy. I found the weight difference between the Spedo and the Xaser VI to definitely fall in the favour of the Spedo.

Thanks for the feedback too guys - tis muchly appreciated

17-09-2008, 06:34:52

Diablo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Robert'
the xaser and the armor+ are still the best made thermaltake cases out there to my opinion. and these 2 are in par with cooler master cases to, wich is good. but it is true that lian li is still be best branch for cases, becouse of the finishes they have on their cases, but it also comes with a big price ofcource.
Exactly the reason (price wise) that I went for the Xaser...there are small issues like size, and the fact that the PSU cables won't reach round the back of the mobo tray.

Just wonderidng, does thev case have a removable mobo tray...that was an excellent thing on the xaser that cut down RMA stripping time by about an hour

That's good news about the screwless holders, on the Xaser, I just stripped them off because they didn't work with the 280GTXs or the DX2...bit of a pain. Also the screwless 5.25 won't fit shorter (without 2 screw holes) components like the Pico ITx or most fan controllers

17-09-2008, 08:06:38

Aqua-Pc's
TBH it looks like a Cosmos S dipped in acid

Yet another EPIC FAIL....

Review was good though

17-09-2008, 08:08:16

Rastalovich
I don`t use cases, but this one does look like a good overall package. I`d not get it on the back of this ATC thing, as it seems.. well no point really.

The looks of it I don`t care much about, it looks decent I guess, just not something I get overly excited about. The comment about handling hardware inside it being a breeze is the biggest selling point from my pov. The packaging looks handy in terms of accessories, which is nice.

Under $200... sure it`d do if I needed one.

Great rev.

17-09-2008, 08:22:10

Diablo
I knew a "its thermaltake so it must be rubbish" comment was coming.

I was a little bit surprised to see that the fan (the big one) is in the window side not the other side...seems an odd way to do it.

17-09-2008, 12:51:54

Hassan
Not a fan of Thermal Take Cases although the Soprano series are cool.

17-09-2008, 13:11:21

Diablo
All cases are pretty subjective except really cheap and bad quality ones, and lian li!

17-09-2008, 13:27:40

ionicle
nice review, and its nice to see thermaltake coming up with some good ideas...

but this case isnt all that nice imo

17-09-2008, 14:04:59

FarFarAway
Some of the features of that case are pretty damn nice, I LOVE the fan connection, wish more cases had that.

I actually quite like the look of the case

But come on Tt guys: spedo???

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...190450277l.jpg

17-09-2008, 15:15:15

Diablo
Yeah i wish mine had that fan connection...

http://i427.photobucket.com/albums/p...c3d/Bigfan.jpg

18-09-2008, 05:59:51

PV5150
Thanks guys For those interested the official Spedo website is now live and can be found here

26-09-2008, 19:11:57

D-Cyph3r
It's definately better looking than the Armor+ and Xaser (in my opinion), but when you can get an A70 for under 120 it's just not good enough.

29-09-2008, 14:14:31

PP Mguire

I have concerns over the screwless expansion card connectors and the use of plastic. Another thing I dislike is the placement of the PSU and the use of louvres not of mesh.

Most modern cases now use the bottom PSU placement. THermaltake went a little further and put a hole for the PSU fan to suck air in instead of using the case air. +1 Also, you can take that plastic exspansion slot piece off and go old skool screws if you please. But another review said that a 4870X2 can be put in there and its solid. So i dont think it would cause a problem.

I knew a "its thermaltake so it must be rubbish" comment was coming.

I know right? This case itself is Epic especialy with that no side panel fan wire thing.

The only thing i DONT like about this case is its looks, and what Kemp said. Spedo? Wtf man come on. Epic case, with an epic fail name.

14-01-2009, 13:42:41

Efekkt
great review but i somehow find the case lacking something with all its cooling capabilities and all that. i guess i'm just not a big fan of the looks and the looks of the casing happen to be pretty important to me (quite superficial i know but meh). it's fairly cheaper than the TJ09 over here, but i think i might just go with the TJ09.

don't get me wrong though, it's an awesome case with an awesome cooling system. just not my thing.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.