Thermaltake DH 104

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
After the testing period, we were left with mixed emotions. Whilst we were very impressed with the case, and the ability for it to hold a full ATX motherboard is great, we felt a bit let down by the LCD usage. There was nothing essentially wrong with it, but for the amount it adds to the cost of the case, it really needs to leave you thinking 'wow'.
 
Value is the biggest short full for this sort of case. The cost of the LCD's themselves rocket the price up, and with the expected price to be around the £300 mark, you've really got to want it. Unless you have fallen in love with the LCD, we would recommend going for the cheaper model, which features a VFD display. This should cost a substantial amount less, but is an identical case.
 
Based on just the case, this is a superb product, and we would happily recommend it to anyone looking for a HTPC. It had enough cooling for our high end rig, whilst also remaining quiet. It was a fairly simple set up, although cable management does leave a lot to be desired.

 
The Good:
+ Can house a full ATX motherboard
+ Managed to cool our mid-range gaming rig with relative ease
+ Extremely nice looking case
+ Remote control allows you to control your pc from the sofa
 
The Mediocre:
* A few design flaws
* The LCD, whilst good, pushes the price up
 
The Bad:
- Routing cables neatly is difficult
 



 
We would like to thank Thermaltake for providing todays review sample. Discuss in our Forums


«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-11-2008, 11:34:02

Luigi
Today we took a look at the DH104 from Thermaltake, after a while with the case we have been left with mixed feeling.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...182341688s.jpg

Read the Full review here.

27-11-2008, 12:26:28

ionicle
very nice looking case i must say

but 300 ...phew...bit much aint it

200 would be a better price point for it

especially in this credit crunch, people want cheep and cheerful

27-11-2008, 12:34:02

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
very nice looking case i must say

but 300 ...phew...bit much aint it

200 would be a better price point for it

especially in this credit crunch, people want cheep and cheerful
Yup, thats exactly what I fealt.. I think the Non LCD VFD based case will be a lot cheaper, and thats the one to buy!

28-11-2008, 11:28:37

Rastalovich
Great review, I love these cases - always scared at the price >.<

A possible switch-out of the lcd for maybe a hdd bay or these days.. optional iPod dock ?, perhaps 5.25 opening.. basically LCD or utility opening for added extras u can purchase to suite ur needs. Or ofc blank blate (same color [see below], with Thermaltake watermarked on it - not too heavy to be tacky tho)

Under 200, the unit should sell well, with an obvious after purchase of LCD or any of the above options, would be good business.

The look is very nice imo. It's a shame the flap for the usb/ports looks off-colored to the rest of the unit, it could be the lighting or photography that may make it look worse than it actually is. If that was a spot-on match, I`d class it as slick. For this reason, I'd be more inclined to hunt for a black model.

Nice.

28-11-2008, 12:41:40

Luigi
Cheers for the feedback!

I agree on the removal of LCD and possibility of other accesoiries, that would certainly be useful..

The USB ports were a slight darker tinge, but it looks great for real, pictures cant do it justice!

10-05-2009, 16:03:38

wzbtoz
anyone aware of other reviews for this case? I miss info on screen resolution. Could it handle 1080p in clone with a HDTV. What cable connection is used for the LCD, VGA?

10-05-2009, 16:23:24

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='wzbtoz'
anyone aware of other reviews for this case? I miss info on screen resolution. Could it handle 1080p in clone with a HDTV. What cable connection is used for the LCD, VGA?
It's standard VGA.. I did this review quite a while ago, so Im afraid I cant remember what sort of resolutions it could handle.

03-03-2010, 10:29:17

formation4
Hi could anybody tell me what the psu is in this review? thanks in advance

03-03-2010, 14:07:30

Luigi
its a hyper 730w Modular PSU.. wasnt much good

03-03-2010, 16:06:03

Youngie1337
Nice review Luigi, that case does looks mighty fine! I'm a bit worried at that price and how many would sell? What's gonna be your next case review Luigi, if you know?

03-03-2010, 16:09:23

Luigi
Im no longer doing reviews for 0C3D Thanks for the comments anyway
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.