Thermaltake DH 104

Bundle & Internals

Bundle & Internals
 
As expected, the bundle with the DH 104 looks fairly impressive. However, whilst it may look like you get a lot more than you would with a normal case, all of the bundled kit is pretty essential for a HTPC.
 
DH104 Bundle DH104 Remote
 
Going from left to right, top to bottom we have: the user guide/manual, Screws/Stand-offs for installation, 5.25" Drive Bay Adapter, Software Installation CD, Batteries and a Remote. As you can see, the remote has quite a range of buttons, all for various functions, which should be very useful.
 
DH104 Internals
 
DH104 Internals Dh104 Internals
 
Unlike a lot of HTPC chassis, the DH 104 has a full ATX interior. This means you can use pretty much any system you want inside the case, apart from E-ATX or extra large motherboards like Asus's new Rampage II. However, building something of that caliber in something so small would be pretty moronic. At the front you have all the drive mounts, with room for three 5.25" drives, although only one is accessible from outside the case. Round the back we have the 120mm fan, PSU slot/hole, PCI slots, and the external VGA pass-through for the touch screen.
 
DH104 PSU DH104 LCD rear
 
On the left we have the PSU 'bay'. Thermaltake have sensibly padded this out with foam, which will reduce the amount of vibrations coming from the PSU reaching the case. Then on the right we have the back of the front panel buttons. They restrict some room on the 5.25" bays below the top bay. However, as these aren't accessible from the front anyway, their uses are limited.
 
DH104 HDD tray DH104 Cabling
 
Above we have the HDD cage and connector cables. The hard drive cage can take up to 5 hard disks, and once again measures have been taken to reduce vibrations. The rubber grommets should mean the hard drives are much quieter, and special screws are provided for attaching hard drives to them. On the right we have all the motherboard connection leads, which include a PSU jump cable for remote power-ons and a USB connection for the front panel.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-11-2008, 11:34:02

Luigi
Today we took a look at the DH104 from Thermaltake, after a while with the case we have been left with mixed feeling.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...182341688s.jpg

Read the Full review here.

27-11-2008, 12:26:28

ionicle
very nice looking case i must say

but 300 ...phew...bit much aint it

200 would be a better price point for it

especially in this credit crunch, people want cheep and cheerful

27-11-2008, 12:34:02

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
very nice looking case i must say

but 300 ...phew...bit much aint it

200 would be a better price point for it

especially in this credit crunch, people want cheep and cheerful
Yup, thats exactly what I fealt.. I think the Non LCD VFD based case will be a lot cheaper, and thats the one to buy!

28-11-2008, 11:28:37

Rastalovich
Great review, I love these cases - always scared at the price >.<

A possible switch-out of the lcd for maybe a hdd bay or these days.. optional iPod dock ?, perhaps 5.25 opening.. basically LCD or utility opening for added extras u can purchase to suite ur needs. Or ofc blank blate (same color [see below], with Thermaltake watermarked on it - not too heavy to be tacky tho)

Under 200, the unit should sell well, with an obvious after purchase of LCD or any of the above options, would be good business.

The look is very nice imo. It's a shame the flap for the usb/ports looks off-colored to the rest of the unit, it could be the lighting or photography that may make it look worse than it actually is. If that was a spot-on match, I`d class it as slick. For this reason, I'd be more inclined to hunt for a black model.

Nice.

28-11-2008, 12:41:40

Luigi
Cheers for the feedback!

I agree on the removal of LCD and possibility of other accesoiries, that would certainly be useful..

The USB ports were a slight darker tinge, but it looks great for real, pictures cant do it justice!

10-05-2009, 16:03:38

wzbtoz
anyone aware of other reviews for this case? I miss info on screen resolution. Could it handle 1080p in clone with a HDTV. What cable connection is used for the LCD, VGA?

10-05-2009, 16:23:24

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='wzbtoz'
anyone aware of other reviews for this case? I miss info on screen resolution. Could it handle 1080p in clone with a HDTV. What cable connection is used for the LCD, VGA?
It's standard VGA.. I did this review quite a while ago, so Im afraid I cant remember what sort of resolutions it could handle.

03-03-2010, 10:29:17

formation4
Hi could anybody tell me what the psu is in this review? thanks in advance

03-03-2010, 14:07:30

Luigi
its a hyper 730w Modular PSU.. wasnt much good

03-03-2010, 16:06:03

Youngie1337
Nice review Luigi, that case does looks mighty fine! I'm a bit worried at that price and how many would sell? What's gonna be your next case review Luigi, if you know?

03-03-2010, 16:09:23

Luigi
Im no longer doing reviews for 0C3D Thanks for the comments anyway
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.