Thermaltake DH 104

Packing & Up-Close

Packaging & Up-Close
 
The case comes well packed, and the need for any extra packaging is fairly low, which is a good thing, especially when a case costs this much. The box is fairly heavy, and taking this up a few  flights of stairs would certainly test your strength!
 
Thermaltake DH104 Box Thermaltake DH104 Packaging
 
As you can see, the case is wedged between 2 pieces of stiff foam. This is a method employed by more and more manufacturers, and it seems to work well. The case is then inside a cloth bag, stopping any scratches or other marks getting onto the chassis.
 
DH104 Front DH104 Back
 
Once out of the box, I was immediately stunned by the case's beauty. The paint used on the case is extremely glossy, and looks amazing. The front of the case is dominated by the LCD and volume dials, whilst at the back you can see the PSU hole and 120mm fan grill.
 
DH104 Side DH104 Controls
DH104 Feet DH104 Ports
 
As you can see, the DH 104 is a high quality metal construction. The side of the case looks a bit like a heatsink, and although we can't see it really aiding with cooling, it still looks nice. Under the volume dial are various controls, similar to those you would normally find on a DVD player. These are all useful for navigating menus on the LCD when your other half has lost the remote.
 
We don't normally look at case feet, as they're not really a selling point of a case. However, on the DH 104 they are very nice indeed. They are a golden colour and made of metal with rubber 'soles' which should stop vibrations. Finally, there is a little flap which pops down to reveal the 2 USB ports, Firewire port and headphone & mic jacks.
 
DH104 Volume Dial DH104 Power Button
 
It was good to see Thermaltake not skimping on the places where it really matters. Volume dials can often be light and 'tacky'. This, however, had a nice heavy feel - a solid piece of metal construction. The power button also makes a quality click, making turning a PC on with the DH 104 a pleasant treat.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-11-2008, 11:34:02

Luigi
Today we took a look at the DH104 from Thermaltake, after a while with the case we have been left with mixed feeling.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...182341688s.jpg

Read the Full review here.

27-11-2008, 12:26:28

ionicle
very nice looking case i must say

but 300 ...phew...bit much aint it

200 would be a better price point for it

especially in this credit crunch, people want cheep and cheerful

27-11-2008, 12:34:02

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
very nice looking case i must say

but 300 ...phew...bit much aint it

200 would be a better price point for it

especially in this credit crunch, people want cheep and cheerful
Yup, thats exactly what I fealt.. I think the Non LCD VFD based case will be a lot cheaper, and thats the one to buy!

28-11-2008, 11:28:37

Rastalovich
Great review, I love these cases - always scared at the price >.<

A possible switch-out of the lcd for maybe a hdd bay or these days.. optional iPod dock ?, perhaps 5.25 opening.. basically LCD or utility opening for added extras u can purchase to suite ur needs. Or ofc blank blate (same color [see below], with Thermaltake watermarked on it - not too heavy to be tacky tho)

Under 200, the unit should sell well, with an obvious after purchase of LCD or any of the above options, would be good business.

The look is very nice imo. It's a shame the flap for the usb/ports looks off-colored to the rest of the unit, it could be the lighting or photography that may make it look worse than it actually is. If that was a spot-on match, I`d class it as slick. For this reason, I'd be more inclined to hunt for a black model.

Nice.

28-11-2008, 12:41:40

Luigi
Cheers for the feedback!

I agree on the removal of LCD and possibility of other accesoiries, that would certainly be useful..

The USB ports were a slight darker tinge, but it looks great for real, pictures cant do it justice!

10-05-2009, 16:03:38

wzbtoz
anyone aware of other reviews for this case? I miss info on screen resolution. Could it handle 1080p in clone with a HDTV. What cable connection is used for the LCD, VGA?

10-05-2009, 16:23:24

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='wzbtoz'
anyone aware of other reviews for this case? I miss info on screen resolution. Could it handle 1080p in clone with a HDTV. What cable connection is used for the LCD, VGA?
It's standard VGA.. I did this review quite a while ago, so Im afraid I cant remember what sort of resolutions it could handle.

03-03-2010, 10:29:17

formation4
Hi could anybody tell me what the psu is in this review? thanks in advance

03-03-2010, 14:07:30

Luigi
its a hyper 730w Modular PSU.. wasnt much good

03-03-2010, 16:06:03

Youngie1337
Nice review Luigi, that case does looks mighty fine! I'm a bit worried at that price and how many would sell? What's gonna be your next case review Luigi, if you know?

03-03-2010, 16:09:23

Luigi
Im no longer doing reviews for 0C3D Thanks for the comments anyway
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.