Thermaltake DH 104

Introduction

Introduction
 
When you think Thermaltake, most of us would think 'Armour' or 'Xaser' cases. It therefore may be quite a surprise to know that they also make HTPC chassis. This is going away from their normal line of 'ultimate' cooling and unique styling.
 
Thermaltake was formed in 1999 and has been growing ever since. Thermaltake's main line of products are thermal solutions: CPU coolers, Chassis, water cooling, as well as a few storage related products. Here is a little extract taken from their website:
 
We live in a world where most things seem to move at the speed of light. At Thermaltake, we feel the same way and that is exactly how Thermaltake conducts itself to deliver innovative, reliable and customer-centric solutions to the worldwide market.

Since the beginning of Thermaltake in 1999, it has been at the forefront of creating new and exciting products at a time where most computer users were provided little to no choices for components that may seem irrelevant, but in reality crucial to the performance of a PC.

With its comprehensive line of products available, it enables Thermaltake's core customers to enjoy a one-stop-shop experience, reduce product design-in evaluation period and most important of all, flawless integration process. Each of Thermaltake's strengths enables its customer to focus on their core business while taking advantage of the skills and efficiency of a single thermal management solution partner.
 
Today we will be looking at the DH 104 case. This case is aimed at the Home Theatre PC Market (HTPC);  it has an impressive list of features, all aimed at making your living room a more pleasurable place. Here is the full specification taken from Thermaltake's site:
 
Model: VH4001BNS
Case Type: Home Theater Media PC
Dimensions: (H x W x D) 211 x 464 x 430 (8.31 x 18.27 x 16.93 inch)
Net Weight: 10.8 kg / 23.78lb
Color: Black
Material: Panel- Al / Body- SECC
Cooling System: Front- 120mm fan x 1, 1300rpm Rear- 120mm fan x 1, 1300rpm
Drive Bays: External 5.25” x 1 Internal - 3.5” x 5
Expansion Slots: 7
Motherboards: ATX & Micro ATX form factor
Media Kits: Built-in all new revolutionary 7” touch screen hot keys module
Front I/O: USB 2.0 x 2, IEEE 1394 Firewire, HD-Audio
 
The specs certainly look impressive, the 7" touch screen being  the headline function. Head on over to the next few pages to find out our initial impressions.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-11-2008, 11:34:02

Luigi
Today we took a look at the DH104 from Thermaltake, after a while with the case we have been left with mixed feeling.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...182341688s.jpg

Read the Full review here.

27-11-2008, 12:26:28

ionicle
very nice looking case i must say

but 300 ...phew...bit much aint it

200 would be a better price point for it

especially in this credit crunch, people want cheep and cheerful

27-11-2008, 12:34:02

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
very nice looking case i must say

but 300 ...phew...bit much aint it

200 would be a better price point for it

especially in this credit crunch, people want cheep and cheerful
Yup, thats exactly what I fealt.. I think the Non LCD VFD based case will be a lot cheaper, and thats the one to buy!

28-11-2008, 11:28:37

Rastalovich
Great review, I love these cases - always scared at the price >.<

A possible switch-out of the lcd for maybe a hdd bay or these days.. optional iPod dock ?, perhaps 5.25 opening.. basically LCD or utility opening for added extras u can purchase to suite ur needs. Or ofc blank blate (same color [see below], with Thermaltake watermarked on it - not too heavy to be tacky tho)

Under 200, the unit should sell well, with an obvious after purchase of LCD or any of the above options, would be good business.

The look is very nice imo. It's a shame the flap for the usb/ports looks off-colored to the rest of the unit, it could be the lighting or photography that may make it look worse than it actually is. If that was a spot-on match, I`d class it as slick. For this reason, I'd be more inclined to hunt for a black model.

Nice.

28-11-2008, 12:41:40

Luigi
Cheers for the feedback!

I agree on the removal of LCD and possibility of other accesoiries, that would certainly be useful..

The USB ports were a slight darker tinge, but it looks great for real, pictures cant do it justice!

10-05-2009, 16:03:38

wzbtoz
anyone aware of other reviews for this case? I miss info on screen resolution. Could it handle 1080p in clone with a HDTV. What cable connection is used for the LCD, VGA?

10-05-2009, 16:23:24

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='wzbtoz'
anyone aware of other reviews for this case? I miss info on screen resolution. Could it handle 1080p in clone with a HDTV. What cable connection is used for the LCD, VGA?
It's standard VGA.. I did this review quite a while ago, so Im afraid I cant remember what sort of resolutions it could handle.

03-03-2010, 10:29:17

formation4
Hi could anybody tell me what the psu is in this review? thanks in advance

03-03-2010, 14:07:30

Luigi
its a hyper 730w Modular PSU.. wasnt much good

03-03-2010, 16:06:03

Youngie1337
Nice review Luigi, that case does looks mighty fine! I'm a bit worried at that price and how many would sell? What's gonna be your next case review Luigi, if you know?

03-03-2010, 16:09:23

Luigi
Im no longer doing reviews for 0C3D Thanks for the comments anyway
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.