Thermalright Ultra-90 K8

A Closer Look Cont.

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 5/4/2006
Author: Nicholas Sarpolis (NickS)
Hardware Acquired: Jab-Tech


A Closer Look



You can see here the Ultra-90 with the stock retention bracket/clip set in place.  Taking a look at the thermal paste included, you'll notice it's the usual silicone-styled thermal paste.  It'll still work fine for most applications, but for maximum performance you're better off with an after-market solution such as Arctic Silver Ceramique or Arctic Silver 5.



Moving on to the base, you'll notice it has a smooth, semi-reflective base. It is made out of solid copper, which is nickel plated for better heat transfer. The same goes for the six heatpipes.  Heatpipes are essentially hollow tubes with a liquid in them, usually water or alcohol.  When the base heats up, the liquid evaporates.  It then proceeds to rise up to the fins, which cool the liquid back down.  The cooled liquid then condenses and sinks back down to the hot base again, in an infinite loop.  This is much more effective than the usual fin-on-base style heatsinks.  With a fan mounted, the Ultra-90 look's awesome.  I'm using my Panaflo M1A, which has a grille and a sleeved tail.  The M1A is the reccomended model fan for both the XP-90 and the Ultra-90. 



The Ultra-90 uses the stock retention bracket that comes with your Socket 754/939/940 motherboard (bottom). The XP-90 uses a custom P4/s478 style mounting bracket (above).
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-05-2006, 19:40:09

NickS
http://upload.nickfire.com//files/1/Intro.jpg

Check it out here.

Feel free to post comments, quesitons, suggestions, etc.

Also, the contest winner gets a FREE, brand new, Panaflo M1A 92MM fan.

Nick


04-05-2006, 19:47:49

WC Annihilus
Not too bad. However, this review seemed fairly laid back or something, much more casual. Not necessarily a bad thing. Also, when talking about test setup and method, you should say how long you let it sit for idle and load. I know you photoed that into your screenshots, but I prefer it all being stated before the testing screenies. That's personal preference though. Besides that, nice job

Edit: Upon a more thorough reading, I'm sorry to say I've come to dislike it You misspelled necessarily and necessary. I really feel you should spell out everything fully instead of using all of those abbreviations. You should have capitalized Ballistix. The overall organization seemed off and it just doesn't seem to flow. This is not a flame or anything of the sort. I just have a bit of a habit of stating things very bluntly.

04-05-2006, 21:55:43

FragTek
I'm going to have to agree... The review only took a couple of hours for Nick to fully test and complete, doesn't seem long enough to be a solid official review.

05-05-2006, 05:19:13

JN
Review taken down for a bit of moderation. Will be back later.

05-05-2006, 05:31:36

Dav0s
i dont think its too bad, idle and load times are shown nicely in a graph

05-05-2006, 08:15:23

NickS
I think I corrected it all, and I re-enabled it. Take a look

Nick

05-05-2006, 09:01:37

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickS
I think I corrected it all, and I re-enabled it. Take a look

Nick
we just wanna make ure u put ur all into it mate, we are trying to keep oc3d review standards high as to get maximum good publicity.

ill look at it again when I get home.

05-05-2006, 10:28:06

FarFarAway
Looks good to me

05-05-2006, 15:20:26

NickS
Woohoo. Sorry about before guys, really. Yesterday I was really tired, and I know that's no excuse, but I guess I was getting a bit frustrated too.

I'll try to keep them up to par from now on, and if I become tired/frustrated I'll stop and continue later on.

Nick

05-05-2006, 16:53:46

NickS
Alrighty guys, I edited it AGAIN. The first time I was at school, in my CAD class .

I'm at home now and IMO it came out 10x better

Nick

05-05-2006, 18:05:07

JN
I'll check it out in the morning mate

I think what we should ALL of us reviewers should do from now on is get another member of the review team to read the review over before it goes live.

05-05-2006, 18:19:15

Raven
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
I think what we should ALL of us reviewers should do from now on is get another member of the review team to read the review over before it goes live.
could also put together a team of people in here to read reviews before they go live to get a broader spectrum of opinions.

05-05-2006, 18:26:47

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMS
I'll check it out in the morning mate

I think what we should ALL of us reviewers should do from now on is get another member of the review team to read the review over before it goes live.
That's why I have Kemp look over ALL of my work (well, when he's available) before it goes live (yep, he checks all my news for the most part)

05-05-2006, 18:31:06

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
That's why I have Kemp look over ALL of my work (well, when he's available) before it goes live (yep, he checks all my news for the most part)
And usually its pretty much fine

05-05-2006, 19:01:27

NickS
Hey, who killed the thread title btw?

Nick

05-05-2006, 19:06:05

FarFarAway
Eh?

It may have been me but not on purpose - I do tend to click on the titles randomly and its sooo easy to change them by mistake with this VB

05-05-2006, 19:07:22

WC Annihilus
Haha, ya I had been wondering about that. So you got your happy XP-90 installed with the bolt-through? (I noticed you asking about that on XS)

05-05-2006, 19:27:55

NickS
lol ya know I'm going to set myself as hidden on teh forums I can, you're scaring me.

Nick

21-08-2006, 06:11:01

Raven
have been using the ultra90 for some time now and have mostly good to say about it.

the only downside i have encountered is i cant install/remove the psu with it in as i could with a zalman 7000b but as it uses the standard retention bracket its very easy to remove and install.

another downside is its quite high so might not fit into smaller cases but fits just fine in my antec sonata case.

its so big and so efficient im sure i could run it without any fan at all.

have a 90mm everflow on it at the moment and it pushes 30cfm at 1350rpm and cools the cpu to 41c and expect it to drop alittle as the as5 is less than 4 hours old.

also the ultra90 has been discontinued and replaced with a ultra90a which is slightly smaller, 7mm to be exact to be compatible with more cases and is supposed to performe the same.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.