Thermalright HR-05 Northbridge Cooler

Conclusion

Conclusion

Thermalright have managed to impress me once again with their excellent heatpipe cooling solutions. The Thermalright HR-05 is a great solution for several groups of people:

* The quiet computing enthusiast
* HTPC/Media PC owners
* Hardcore Enthusiasts

The fact that the cooler fits a huge range of motherboards and is also available in an SLI version as well makes the Thermalright HR-05 very versatile.

Recommended e-tailers:

£14 inc VAT @ SpecialTech non-SLI version
£17 @ SpecialTech - SLI version

From these awesome prices the Thermalright HR-05 is a big winner on the price front too.

I will not hesitate to give the Thermalright HR-05 the coveted OC3D "Editors Choice" Award, as well as the "Value For Money" Award. A top-notch product.

Editors Choice Award Value For $$ Award

Pro's
+ Great Cooling
+ Passive Solution
+ Option for fan if desired
+ Great motherboard support
+ Great Value For Money
+ Great looks

Con's
- A little tall
- Could possibly have had a 4-way clip

Thanks to SpecialTech for providing the Review Sample

Discuss in our Forums

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-02-2007, 20:01:43

FarFarAway
We take a look at this rather large passive heatpipe North Bridge Solution and see what's what

Read on...

08-02-2007, 20:49:22

NickS
Nice review m8

08-02-2007, 21:05:30

markkleb
Another EXCELLENT review. I was really surprised when I opened the box and saw how big mine was.

I also like how they have 2 versions (straight and offset)

Also like you pointed out it is beautifully made (especially compared to other finned Chipset coolers).

08-02-2007, 22:13:47

Raging
good review mate

it could of been better if you also tested it with a decent 70mm fan on it

cheers.

08-02-2007, 22:28:14

ai_01
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raging'
good review mate

it could of been better if you also tested it with a decent 70mm fan on it

cheers.
awesome review as always kemp, we all know ur busy, would be pretty cool to see what temps would be with a fan on it.

08-02-2007, 22:41:49

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
Also like you pointed out it is beautifully made (especially compared to other finned Chipset coolers).
Thermalright spare no expense when creating their heatsinks, they are definitely of the highest quality without question.

09-02-2007, 04:20:20

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
I also like how they have 2 versions (straight and offset)
Yep so do I

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
Also like you pointed out it is beautifully made (especially compared to other finned Chipset coolers).
Yep Thermalright make excellent products

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raging'
good review mate

it could of been better if you also tested it with a decent 70mm fan on it

cheers.
I don't currently have one but if/when I do I'll update the review

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ai_01'
awesome review as always kemp, we all know ur busy, would be pretty cool to see what temps would be with a fan on it.
As above

Cheers lads

23-02-2007, 07:17:22

FarFarAway
Right then guys you asked for it...

Click

23-02-2007, 07:43:50

ionicle
w00t! ...that looks awsome

23-02-2007, 07:56:08

FragTek
very nice review! you should do a nb heatsink shootout between like 4 models and rule the best of the best.

23-02-2007, 12:18:15

Toxcity
Look at the drop in temp! Amazing!

Nice review Kemp!

23-02-2007, 13:02:11

Raging
quite a nice difference in temp,nice one
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.