Thermalright HR-05 Northbridge Cooler

Test Results

Testing

As stated before for the idle temperatures I ran the PC 30minutes from startup and took the temperature at regular intervals for 30minutes. For the load temperature I ran Orthos on blend stress test for 30 minutes, then took the temperature at regular intervals for a further 30minutes.

This procss was repeated three times, as we do in all of our testing to ensure accuracy.

Results

The results were as follows. Please remember the stock cooler had an 80mm fan blowing directly onto it for the duration of the stock heatsink tests as the RD600 got too hot to have the stock cooler passive. Ambient was 22.7°C

test results

The Thermalright performed 9°C better at idle than the stock cooler and a full 11°C better at load. Also bear in mind several factors:

* The RD600 North Bridge is a very hot chip (stock cooler runs at 65°C idle with no fan)
* The Thermalright HR-05 was a passive solution in the testing
* The North Bridge is right next to a very hot 8800GTX

This makes the results very impressive indeed in my opinion.

Update

I used a SilenX 80mm fan on the cooler and immediately the difference was very good. Ambient a slightly lower 22.3°C for the fan test, so factor this in when comparing.

thermalright cooler with fan

So as you can see the HR-05 performs extremely well with an 80mm Low-dB fan on it. 47°C for this chipset is simply amazing.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-02-2007, 20:01:43

FarFarAway
We take a look at this rather large passive heatpipe North Bridge Solution and see what's what

Read on...

08-02-2007, 20:49:22

NickS
Nice review m8

08-02-2007, 21:05:30

markkleb
Another EXCELLENT review. I was really surprised when I opened the box and saw how big mine was.

I also like how they have 2 versions (straight and offset)

Also like you pointed out it is beautifully made (especially compared to other finned Chipset coolers).

08-02-2007, 22:13:47

Raging
good review mate

it could of been better if you also tested it with a decent 70mm fan on it

cheers.

08-02-2007, 22:28:14

ai_01
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raging'
good review mate

it could of been better if you also tested it with a decent 70mm fan on it

cheers.
awesome review as always kemp, we all know ur busy, would be pretty cool to see what temps would be with a fan on it.

08-02-2007, 22:41:49

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
Also like you pointed out it is beautifully made (especially compared to other finned Chipset coolers).
Thermalright spare no expense when creating their heatsinks, they are definitely of the highest quality without question.

09-02-2007, 04:20:20

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
I also like how they have 2 versions (straight and offset)
Yep so do I

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
Also like you pointed out it is beautifully made (especially compared to other finned Chipset coolers).
Yep Thermalright make excellent products

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raging'
good review mate

it could of been better if you also tested it with a decent 70mm fan on it

cheers.
I don't currently have one but if/when I do I'll update the review

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ai_01'
awesome review as always kemp, we all know ur busy, would be pretty cool to see what temps would be with a fan on it.
As above

Cheers lads

23-02-2007, 07:17:22

FarFarAway
Right then guys you asked for it...

Click

23-02-2007, 07:43:50

ionicle
w00t! ...that looks awsome

23-02-2007, 07:56:08

FragTek
very nice review! you should do a nb heatsink shootout between like 4 models and rule the best of the best.

23-02-2007, 12:18:15

Toxcity
Look at the drop in temp! Amazing!

Nice review Kemp!

23-02-2007, 13:02:11

Raging
quite a nice difference in temp,nice one
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.