Thermalright HR-05 Northbridge Cooler

Thermalright HR-05 - Up Close and Specification

Thermalright HR-05 - Up close

The HR-05 is built to the same solid standards that I had come to expect of Thermalright. Certainly handling the cooler gives you confidence in the build quality of it.

The cooler is very tall for a North Bridge cooler and you may have to beware of this if your case has a problem as far as height is concerned. However it does mean that it is very thin leaving a lot of space either side of it once installed.

thermalright hr05 cooler itself thermalright hr05 side view

The base of the HR-05 does not have a mirror finish but instead has a roughened appearence. This is very flat as I found out when I tested it with a plate of glass, so the contact should be good.

thermalright hr05 base

The base is copper plated with Nickel, like most Thermalright coolers. I have found that the Nickel plate does not affect performance much at all, but the most hardcore enthusiasts amoung us would perhaps lap it to get the 1°C improvement that it would give.

Overall the cooler is great looking and is pretty impressive once installed (see later pages).The build quality is top-notch and I was impressed by the quality of the welds on the heatpipes to the base.

Specifications and Features (taken from Thermalright )

Features:
* Passively cooled heatsink design for no-noise operation (70mm Fan optional)
* Proprietary through holes on fins for effiecient ventilation
* Soldered fins to copper base (nickel plated) to make effective contact
* Light weight and easy installation

Technical Spec.:
Dimension:L77.9 x W19(fin), W30(base)x H105 (mm), without fan
Weight:145g (heat sink only)
Optional FanAny 70x70x15mm fan
Motherboard Compatibility: Intel Pentium-4 LGA775 platform
ATI: Radeon Express 200
Intel: 975X, 955X, 945G, 945P, 945PL, 925X, 925XE, 915G, 915P, 865PE, 848P
nVidia: nForce4 SLI Intel Edition
SiS: SiS 656, SiS 661FX/964
VIA: P4M800, PT880 Ultra Intel Pentium-4 Socket 478 platformIntel: 865, 865G, 845, 845PE, 875

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-02-2007, 20:01:43

FarFarAway
We take a look at this rather large passive heatpipe North Bridge Solution and see what's what

Read on...

08-02-2007, 20:49:22

NickS
Nice review m8

08-02-2007, 21:05:30

markkleb
Another EXCELLENT review. I was really surprised when I opened the box and saw how big mine was.

I also like how they have 2 versions (straight and offset)

Also like you pointed out it is beautifully made (especially compared to other finned Chipset coolers).

08-02-2007, 22:13:47

Raging
good review mate

it could of been better if you also tested it with a decent 70mm fan on it

cheers.

08-02-2007, 22:28:14

ai_01
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raging'
good review mate

it could of been better if you also tested it with a decent 70mm fan on it

cheers.
awesome review as always kemp, we all know ur busy, would be pretty cool to see what temps would be with a fan on it.

08-02-2007, 22:41:49

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
Also like you pointed out it is beautifully made (especially compared to other finned Chipset coolers).
Thermalright spare no expense when creating their heatsinks, they are definitely of the highest quality without question.

09-02-2007, 04:20:20

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
I also like how they have 2 versions (straight and offset)
Yep so do I

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
Also like you pointed out it is beautifully made (especially compared to other finned Chipset coolers).
Yep Thermalright make excellent products

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raging'
good review mate

it could of been better if you also tested it with a decent 70mm fan on it

cheers.
I don't currently have one but if/when I do I'll update the review

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ai_01'
awesome review as always kemp, we all know ur busy, would be pretty cool to see what temps would be with a fan on it.
As above

Cheers lads

23-02-2007, 07:17:22

FarFarAway
Right then guys you asked for it...

Click

23-02-2007, 07:43:50

ionicle
w00t! ...that looks awsome

23-02-2007, 07:56:08

FragTek
very nice review! you should do a nb heatsink shootout between like 4 models and rule the best of the best.

23-02-2007, 12:18:15

Toxcity
Look at the drop in temp! Amazing!

Nice review Kemp!

23-02-2007, 13:02:11

Raging
quite a nice difference in temp,nice one
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.