Thermalright HR-05 Northbridge Cooler

Introduction, Packaging and Package

Introduction

Thermalright have an excellent reputation when it comes to making top-line air coolers.

The HR 05 is a cooler that is trying to combat the extreme temperatures that North Bridges are getting to nowadays. We take one incredibly hot ATI RD600 North Bridge and put the HR-5 to the test.

Packaging

As is usual with Thermalright products the packaging is minimal but excellent.

thermalright hr05

Whilst not "stand out" in retail stores, it will do it's job.

thermalright hr05 thermalright hr05 packaging

As you can see the inside of the box shows just how well the HR05 is packed. Plenty of foam to protect the cooler itself from the worst of couriers.

Package
The Thermalright HR-05 comes with a total package covering everything you'll need for installation:

thermalright hr-05 package

Brackets for installation on:

ATI: Radeon Express 200, Radeon RD600
Intel: 975X, 955X, 945G, 945P, 945PL, 925X, 925XE, 915G, 915P, 865PE, 848P
nVidia: nForce4 SLI Intel Edition
SiS: SiS 656, SiS 661FX/964
VIA: P4M800, PT880 Ultra

Also included is:

* Thermalright Thermal Paste
* Instruction manual for installation on all chipset types
* Foam Padding for chipset surround
* Thermalright Sticker

All in all everything you would want to have with a North Bridge Cooler.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-02-2007, 20:01:43

FarFarAway
We take a look at this rather large passive heatpipe North Bridge Solution and see what's what

Read on...

08-02-2007, 20:49:22

NickS
Nice review m8

08-02-2007, 21:05:30

markkleb
Another EXCELLENT review. I was really surprised when I opened the box and saw how big mine was.

I also like how they have 2 versions (straight and offset)

Also like you pointed out it is beautifully made (especially compared to other finned Chipset coolers).

08-02-2007, 22:13:47

Raging
good review mate

it could of been better if you also tested it with a decent 70mm fan on it

cheers.

08-02-2007, 22:28:14

ai_01
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raging'
good review mate

it could of been better if you also tested it with a decent 70mm fan on it

cheers.
awesome review as always kemp, we all know ur busy, would be pretty cool to see what temps would be with a fan on it.

08-02-2007, 22:41:49

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
Also like you pointed out it is beautifully made (especially compared to other finned Chipset coolers).
Thermalright spare no expense when creating their heatsinks, they are definitely of the highest quality without question.

09-02-2007, 04:20:20

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
I also like how they have 2 versions (straight and offset)
Yep so do I

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
Also like you pointed out it is beautifully made (especially compared to other finned Chipset coolers).
Yep Thermalright make excellent products

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raging'
good review mate

it could of been better if you also tested it with a decent 70mm fan on it

cheers.
I don't currently have one but if/when I do I'll update the review

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ai_01'
awesome review as always kemp, we all know ur busy, would be pretty cool to see what temps would be with a fan on it.
As above

Cheers lads

23-02-2007, 07:17:22

FarFarAway
Right then guys you asked for it...

Click

23-02-2007, 07:43:50

ionicle
w00t! ...that looks awsome

23-02-2007, 07:56:08

FragTek
very nice review! you should do a nb heatsink shootout between like 4 models and rule the best of the best.

23-02-2007, 12:18:15

Toxcity
Look at the drop in temp! Amazing!

Nice review Kemp!

23-02-2007, 13:02:11

Raging
quite a nice difference in temp,nice one
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.