SwiftTech Apogee GT CPU Water Block

Conclusion

Conclusion

The Apogee GT is a block that sits squarely on the good side of expensive. Priced at around £35 on the web you are getting a great bundle combined with a very sweet performing block. The design and build quality are 100% solid and everything you should get with a CPU block is included...and more. Beating the older Apogee by a few °C the Apogee GT is a very nice performing block and will do you well.

Recommended Retailers

There are a few blocks out there that do compete with the Apogee GT such as the D-Tek Fuzion and indeed the slightly more expensive SwiftTech Apogee GTX block. However the Apogee GT seems to hussle it's way among them and is great value for money.

As such we're awarding the Apogee GT the "Value for Money" Award and "Recommended"

Value For $$ Award Recommended Award

Pro's
+ Decent pricing
+ Excellent bundle
+ Good looks
+ Good performance
+ Great for multi-block setups

Con's
- Possibly worth a little extra for the GTX model
- A little boring looking for some tastes
- The "caps" are a little restricting to tighten

Thanks to SwiftTech for providing the review sample. Discuss in our Forums
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-05-2007, 08:57:41

FarFarAway
We take a look at the revised cooler from SwiftTech

Link

08-05-2007, 09:03:42

Ham
Wow a blister back for a water block. Good idea i think.

Nice job kemp

08-05-2007, 09:26:33

weihk
niiiiiiiiiiceeeeeeeeeee

kemp, you've just made me want to buy this block even more! thanks for making my bank account empty! LOL

08-05-2007, 09:29:53

FarFarAway
lol nps

08-05-2007, 10:25:33

AydST
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Wow a blister back for a water block. Good idea i think.

Nice job kemp
yeah but a PITA for us to store, easier when they came in nice square boxes

great review as ever mate....

08-05-2007, 11:04:14

Toxcity
Really nice review there Kempez!

Nice water block too!

Oh, by the way.. on the graphs isn't it meant to be "Lower is better" instead of Higher? :eh:

08-05-2007, 11:04:58

FarFarAway
Oops

I'll fix that when I get home. Must have had remnants from other graphs

08-05-2007, 11:08:54

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Oops

I'll fix that when I get home. Must have had remnants from other graphs
No worries matey!

Apart from the little mistake awesome review..

How long does it take to makes these review.. for water cooling must be quite a long time!

08-05-2007, 11:14:58

FarFarAway
All of them take quite a while tbh. If you look at methods each block had to have 200hrs curing time with AS5 which took a while

08-05-2007, 11:47:47

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
All of them take quite a while tbh. If you look at methods each block had to have 200hrs curing time with AS5 which took a while
Cor blimey!

I salute you sir!

08-05-2007, 14:33:21

Rastalovich
Great review, again, Kemp. Some excellent shots too.

I feel we went through a period of blocks having a chrome/shiney look to them - and tbf it helps the manuf abit cos u look inside the case and u can recognize what a dood is using, to an extent.

Be nice to see one of these blocks` chome finished off, by a user, with some design. A flame trim would be tempting fate perhaps

Oh Kemp, dust them LL fans

08-05-2007, 17:29:13

darkorb
I just noticed, on the graphs for the results. It says higher is better, isn't it supposed to be lower is better?

Other than that, great review man!

08-05-2007, 17:31:05

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='darkorb'
I just noticed, on the graphs for the results. It says higher is better, isn't it supposed to be lower is better?

Other than that, great review man!
I spotted that already! SLOOWWW!

08-05-2007, 17:42:38

darkorb
Ahh, my bad :P

08-05-2007, 17:54:23

FarFarAway
Cheers fella's - changed

@ rast - I would dust em if I had time

08-05-2007, 18:50:18

Allsorts
Nice review mate. 200hrs curing time, that's dedication for you!

There was no mention about being able to artificially induce a bow in the GT base plate with the (included?) oversized o-ring for an extra bit of performance. I take it the GT was just tested as shipped (with flat base)?

Is that 1/4" BSPP metal barbs you are using? I take it you had no problems using them in the 1/4" NPSM threaded holes?

@ Ham: I also prefer the new blister-pack style of packaging over the old brown box "Made in Shed" style.

09-05-2007, 03:35:46

FarFarAway
No I didn't test the block with a bowed base as I quite frankly didn't have time

the 1/4" BSPP barbs work fine in the threads for the Apogee and Apogee GT
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.