SwiftTech Apogee GT CPU Water Block

Test Results

Test Results

Stock - 2.4GHz

First of all I set the clock speed to stock and the voltage to 1.35v (BIOS set) and saw what the blocks would record. I've found that the CPU I'm using (e6600 Retail stepping B1) runs pretty hot as a general rule and so it's a good test of the blocks.

swifttec apogee gt vs apogee

With a difference of only 1°C at idle but a more significant 2°C at load, the GT shows it's worth over the older block. Note also that the ambient temps of the Apogee testing were about 0.5°C higher.

Overclocked - 3.33GHz

At 3.33Ghz this e6600 needs 1.568v set in the BIOS to keep it stable. Not really recommended for those of you who like to keep your CPU's going for a few years! Still this is an excellent test of the blocks coping with high load.

apogee gt vs apogee overclocked

Again at idle the blocks were whithin 1°C of each other with the Apogee GT edging ahead. However again at load the Apogee GT gained a more significant temperature drop on it's older rival of 3°C. That's not too shabby for a small revision on an already well-performing block.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-05-2007, 08:57:41

FarFarAway
We take a look at the revised cooler from SwiftTech

Link

08-05-2007, 09:03:42

Ham
Wow a blister back for a water block. Good idea i think.

Nice job kemp

08-05-2007, 09:26:33

weihk
niiiiiiiiiiceeeeeeeeeee

kemp, you've just made me want to buy this block even more! thanks for making my bank account empty! LOL

08-05-2007, 09:29:53

FarFarAway
lol nps

08-05-2007, 10:25:33

AydST
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Wow a blister back for a water block. Good idea i think.

Nice job kemp
yeah but a PITA for us to store, easier when they came in nice square boxes

great review as ever mate....

08-05-2007, 11:04:14

Toxcity
Really nice review there Kempez!

Nice water block too!

Oh, by the way.. on the graphs isn't it meant to be "Lower is better" instead of Higher? :eh:

08-05-2007, 11:04:58

FarFarAway
Oops

I'll fix that when I get home. Must have had remnants from other graphs

08-05-2007, 11:08:54

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Oops

I'll fix that when I get home. Must have had remnants from other graphs
No worries matey!

Apart from the little mistake awesome review..

How long does it take to makes these review.. for water cooling must be quite a long time!

08-05-2007, 11:14:58

FarFarAway
All of them take quite a while tbh. If you look at methods each block had to have 200hrs curing time with AS5 which took a while

08-05-2007, 11:47:47

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
All of them take quite a while tbh. If you look at methods each block had to have 200hrs curing time with AS5 which took a while
Cor blimey!

I salute you sir!

08-05-2007, 14:33:21

Rastalovich
Great review, again, Kemp. Some excellent shots too.

I feel we went through a period of blocks having a chrome/shiney look to them - and tbf it helps the manuf abit cos u look inside the case and u can recognize what a dood is using, to an extent.

Be nice to see one of these blocks` chome finished off, by a user, with some design. A flame trim would be tempting fate perhaps

Oh Kemp, dust them LL fans

08-05-2007, 17:29:13

darkorb
I just noticed, on the graphs for the results. It says higher is better, isn't it supposed to be lower is better?

Other than that, great review man!

08-05-2007, 17:31:05

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='darkorb'
I just noticed, on the graphs for the results. It says higher is better, isn't it supposed to be lower is better?

Other than that, great review man!
I spotted that already! SLOOWWW!

08-05-2007, 17:42:38

darkorb
Ahh, my bad :P

08-05-2007, 17:54:23

FarFarAway
Cheers fella's - changed

@ rast - I would dust em if I had time

08-05-2007, 18:50:18

Allsorts
Nice review mate. 200hrs curing time, that's dedication for you!

There was no mention about being able to artificially induce a bow in the GT base plate with the (included?) oversized o-ring for an extra bit of performance. I take it the GT was just tested as shipped (with flat base)?

Is that 1/4" BSPP metal barbs you are using? I take it you had no problems using them in the 1/4" NPSM threaded holes?

@ Ham: I also prefer the new blister-pack style of packaging over the old brown box "Made in Shed" style.

09-05-2007, 03:35:46

FarFarAway
No I didn't test the block with a bowed base as I quite frankly didn't have time

the 1/4" BSPP barbs work fine in the threads for the Apogee and Apogee GT
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.