SwiftTech Apogee GT CPU Water Block

Test Setup and installation

Installation

Installation was pretty simple on the Apogee GT, as it was on the normal Apogee. Provided are four screws with washers, tensioning springs and caps

swifttech apogee gt installed swifttech apogee gt installed screws

Installation as I said is simple and the springs and caps do the business of holding the block in place neatly. Good contact was achieved first time, although I have some experience of mounting the Apogee block before. Shown is test mounting on the IN9 32x Max.

Note that both the Apogee and the Apogee GT did not fit on the DFI iCFX3200 without taking off the stock PWM heatsink and replacing this with some SwiftTech VGA RAMsinks.

swifttech apogee installed

Another slight concern from someone who likes to be "in control" is that the caps on top of the tensioning springs don't allow over-tightening. Personallly I have found that a little extra turn can do wonders for temps on other blocks and maybe SwiftTech should provide some different screws to tighten it up a bit more. Having said this at least this means that over-tightening is never found and you aren't as likely to break anything on the motherboard by being over-zealous.

Test Setup

For the tests I used the following test setup:

CPU: Intel Core2Duo E6600 @ 3.33Ghz
Motherboard: DFI iCFX3200 RD600 motherboard
RAM: Mushkin XP2-6400 4-4-4-12
VGA: MSI 8800GTX 768mb
Sound: Creative Labs X-Fi fatal1ty FPS
HDD: OS - 160gb Hitachi Deskstar SATA II
Power: OCZ GameXtream 850w
Case: Lian Li PC71b customised

Water Loop:

SwiftTech Mcp655 Pump
Aquacomputer Evo 360 RAD (3 x 65cfm 120mm SilenX fans)
DangerDen Acrylic Bay Res
1/2" ClearFlex Tubing
De-ionised Water + Zerex Coolant + UV Green Dye - exact same mixes were used for each block

Blocks tested:
SwiftTech Apogee Waterblock

SwiftTech Apogee GT Waterblock

The Tests were conducted at the following Ambient Temps (thermal probe):

Apogee: 21.3-5°C
Apogee GT: 21.6-9°C

Arctic Silver 5 was used as the TIM and was given more than the 200 Hours setting in time on each block.

Core Temperatures were measured using CoreTemp beta 0.95. These were double checked using a thermal probe and found to be consistant.

Idle Temperatures were measured after power up for 1/2 an hour and recorded over another 1/2 hour period to gain an average.

Load Temperatures were taken after 1/2 hours load with Orthos Stress Test using small FFT's. Again this was recorded over a 1/2 hour period and average results obtained.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-05-2007, 08:57:41

FarFarAway
We take a look at the revised cooler from SwiftTech

Link

08-05-2007, 09:03:42

Ham
Wow a blister back for a water block. Good idea i think.

Nice job kemp

08-05-2007, 09:26:33

weihk
niiiiiiiiiiceeeeeeeeeee

kemp, you've just made me want to buy this block even more! thanks for making my bank account empty! LOL

08-05-2007, 09:29:53

FarFarAway
lol nps

08-05-2007, 10:25:33

AydST
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Wow a blister back for a water block. Good idea i think.

Nice job kemp
yeah but a PITA for us to store, easier when they came in nice square boxes

great review as ever mate....

08-05-2007, 11:04:14

Toxcity
Really nice review there Kempez!

Nice water block too!

Oh, by the way.. on the graphs isn't it meant to be "Lower is better" instead of Higher? :eh:

08-05-2007, 11:04:58

FarFarAway
Oops

I'll fix that when I get home. Must have had remnants from other graphs

08-05-2007, 11:08:54

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Oops

I'll fix that when I get home. Must have had remnants from other graphs
No worries matey!

Apart from the little mistake awesome review..

How long does it take to makes these review.. for water cooling must be quite a long time!

08-05-2007, 11:14:58

FarFarAway
All of them take quite a while tbh. If you look at methods each block had to have 200hrs curing time with AS5 which took a while

08-05-2007, 11:47:47

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
All of them take quite a while tbh. If you look at methods each block had to have 200hrs curing time with AS5 which took a while
Cor blimey!

I salute you sir!

08-05-2007, 14:33:21

Rastalovich
Great review, again, Kemp. Some excellent shots too.

I feel we went through a period of blocks having a chrome/shiney look to them - and tbf it helps the manuf abit cos u look inside the case and u can recognize what a dood is using, to an extent.

Be nice to see one of these blocks` chome finished off, by a user, with some design. A flame trim would be tempting fate perhaps

Oh Kemp, dust them LL fans

08-05-2007, 17:29:13

darkorb
I just noticed, on the graphs for the results. It says higher is better, isn't it supposed to be lower is better?

Other than that, great review man!

08-05-2007, 17:31:05

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='darkorb'
I just noticed, on the graphs for the results. It says higher is better, isn't it supposed to be lower is better?

Other than that, great review man!
I spotted that already! SLOOWWW!

08-05-2007, 17:42:38

darkorb
Ahh, my bad :P

08-05-2007, 17:54:23

FarFarAway
Cheers fella's - changed

@ rast - I would dust em if I had time

08-05-2007, 18:50:18

Allsorts
Nice review mate. 200hrs curing time, that's dedication for you!

There was no mention about being able to artificially induce a bow in the GT base plate with the (included?) oversized o-ring for an extra bit of performance. I take it the GT was just tested as shipped (with flat base)?

Is that 1/4" BSPP metal barbs you are using? I take it you had no problems using them in the 1/4" NPSM threaded holes?

@ Ham: I also prefer the new blister-pack style of packaging over the old brown box "Made in Shed" style.

09-05-2007, 03:35:46

FarFarAway
No I didn't test the block with a bowed base as I quite frankly didn't have time

the 1/4" BSPP barbs work fine in the threads for the Apogee and Apogee GT
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.