SwiftTech Apogee GT CPU Water Block

Apogee GT - Close up

The Waterblock - close up

The Apogee GT is very much a brother of the Apogee block. The looks are almost exactly the same and the classic design hasn't changed much externally.

swifttech apogee gt swifttech apogee gt top

swifttech apogee gt side

I like the look of the Apogee GT. The styling is plain and functional whilst remaining stylish. The block looks good installed as we will see later on.

swifttech apogee gt apart swifttech apogee gt top

Taking the block apart we see what is involved in the flow. The Apogee GT is quite a free-flowing block with a large inlet and outlet and a diamond matrix copper base.


swifttech apogee gt swifttech apogee gt base

The improvement in thermal performance scales from a minimum of 1°C and up to 3°C (at 100W) depending on the CPU's, with Intel's latest QX6700 quad core processors benefiting the most from the revised structure.

With boasts like this we really have to take the old Apogee GT and see exactly what difference we see from the new internal diamond matrix. For some reason my pictures of the internals of the old block went missing so here's the only one I have left:

swifttech apogee gt

If you can see - the matrix of the old Apogee was quite a lot chunkier. Flowrate stays almost the same and I do not have the equipment to test this fine detail as of now, but SwiftTech's tests have shown only a slight drop in flow.

swifttech apogee gt base 1 swifttech apogee gt base no wrapping

swifttech apogee gt block

The base comes wrapped in plastic to make sure it doesn't get scratched at all. Once this is peeled off the surface of the block is actually very very flat. I tested this with a piece of glass and it is very good. There are some marks from milling but these are very fine. This shows that the block has been finely lapped down - good stuff.

All in all the Apogee GT is just a good improvement on the Apogee. Nothing ground-breaking but then the Apogee was a pretty great block in the first place.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-05-2007, 08:57:41

FarFarAway
We take a look at the revised cooler from SwiftTech

Link

08-05-2007, 09:03:42

Ham
Wow a blister back for a water block. Good idea i think.

Nice job kemp

08-05-2007, 09:26:33

weihk
niiiiiiiiiiceeeeeeeeeee

kemp, you've just made me want to buy this block even more! thanks for making my bank account empty! LOL

08-05-2007, 09:29:53

FarFarAway
lol nps

08-05-2007, 10:25:33

AydST
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Wow a blister back for a water block. Good idea i think.

Nice job kemp
yeah but a PITA for us to store, easier when they came in nice square boxes

great review as ever mate....

08-05-2007, 11:04:14

Toxcity
Really nice review there Kempez!

Nice water block too!

Oh, by the way.. on the graphs isn't it meant to be "Lower is better" instead of Higher? :eh:

08-05-2007, 11:04:58

FarFarAway
Oops

I'll fix that when I get home. Must have had remnants from other graphs

08-05-2007, 11:08:54

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Oops

I'll fix that when I get home. Must have had remnants from other graphs
No worries matey!

Apart from the little mistake awesome review..

How long does it take to makes these review.. for water cooling must be quite a long time!

08-05-2007, 11:14:58

FarFarAway
All of them take quite a while tbh. If you look at methods each block had to have 200hrs curing time with AS5 which took a while

08-05-2007, 11:47:47

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
All of them take quite a while tbh. If you look at methods each block had to have 200hrs curing time with AS5 which took a while
Cor blimey!

I salute you sir!

08-05-2007, 14:33:21

Rastalovich
Great review, again, Kemp. Some excellent shots too.

I feel we went through a period of blocks having a chrome/shiney look to them - and tbf it helps the manuf abit cos u look inside the case and u can recognize what a dood is using, to an extent.

Be nice to see one of these blocks` chome finished off, by a user, with some design. A flame trim would be tempting fate perhaps

Oh Kemp, dust them LL fans

08-05-2007, 17:29:13

darkorb
I just noticed, on the graphs for the results. It says higher is better, isn't it supposed to be lower is better?

Other than that, great review man!

08-05-2007, 17:31:05

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='darkorb'
I just noticed, on the graphs for the results. It says higher is better, isn't it supposed to be lower is better?

Other than that, great review man!
I spotted that already! SLOOWWW!

08-05-2007, 17:42:38

darkorb
Ahh, my bad :P

08-05-2007, 17:54:23

FarFarAway
Cheers fella's - changed

@ rast - I would dust em if I had time

08-05-2007, 18:50:18

Allsorts
Nice review mate. 200hrs curing time, that's dedication for you!

There was no mention about being able to artificially induce a bow in the GT base plate with the (included?) oversized o-ring for an extra bit of performance. I take it the GT was just tested as shipped (with flat base)?

Is that 1/4" BSPP metal barbs you are using? I take it you had no problems using them in the 1/4" NPSM threaded holes?

@ Ham: I also prefer the new blister-pack style of packaging over the old brown box "Made in Shed" style.

09-05-2007, 03:35:46

FarFarAway
No I didn't test the block with a bowed base as I quite frankly didn't have time

the 1/4" BSPP barbs work fine in the threads for the Apogee and Apogee GT
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.