Super Flower Fan Master SF-609

Conclusion

Conclusion

The SF-609 may not be the newest kid on the block when it comes to fan controllers (it's actually been around for 5 years), but it has certainly stood the test of time. The ability to change the fascia and screen colour ensures that the SF-609 will be a piece of hardware that you can install in all of your future PC's regardless of the case colour.

The biggest selling point for me however,  has to be the units ability to power four high output fans of up to 1.5a each. An impressive specification not met by many other modern fan controllers.

Couple these great features with a very reasonable price tag of $34.95 USD over at Sidewinder Computers and it's extremely hard to find fault with this great piece of kit.


Pro's
• Able to power four fans rated up to 1.5amps each.
• 5 coloured fascia's to suit all PC cases.
• Sturdy construction.
• 6 different light settings.

Con's
• Transistors on PCB get very hot during extended use.

Recommended Award

A big thank you to Sidewinder Computers for providing the SF-609 and Delta fans for this review.

Discuss this review in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-02-2007, 15:35:18

JN
Ok, so this may not be the newest product out on the market - but it's still worthy of a review

Linkage

18-02-2007, 16:09:50

NickS
Nice fan controller & review XMS

18-02-2007, 18:34:11

Toxcity
Nice reveiw as always!

Is your CPu really running 65oC?

18-02-2007, 18:35:37

Xerin
Isn't this just a repackaged Akasa AK FC-03 Fan Controller Pro? 'Cause they seem identical to me apart from the acrylic face plate and packaging?

18-02-2007, 18:55:01

deathwish

18-02-2007, 20:01:08

FarFarAway
Or the akasa is a rebadged Super Flower...which is quite likely

18-02-2007, 22:07:19

FragTek
First page, 3rd pic in the right column links to the incorrect image

Cool product I must say, tiz always good to have a powerful trustworthy fan contoller.

19-02-2007, 06:26:54

Xerin
Anyway it's still a good fan controller no matter who makes it. I just put the black face plate in front of the acrylic one for a more stealthy look. It was too shiny for me the other way around.

19-02-2007, 07:14:22

BUFF
I've had an Akasa one for years (& I too have the brushed black on the outside as it matched my black alu case better)

27-02-2007, 05:30:09

Mr. Smith
Nice review Jim, kinda sold on it tbh - I noticed the controller goes from ~6v - ~12v. I am contemplating using the Delta EFB1212SHE like in the review - do you know what cfm/db the fans produce at 6v? Cheers.

P.S The 'forum' link in the review seems to be dead!

27-02-2007, 05:43:31

JN
Cheers dude I'll sort that out.

I couldn't really say what CFM they push at 6v, but I turn mine right down when I want to watch a movie. The only sound I can hear form my PC then is the NB and GPU fans.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
Nice review Jim, kinda sold on it tbh - I noticed the controller goes from ~6v - ~12v. I am contemplating using the Delta EFB1212SHE like in the review - do you know what cfm/db the fans produce at 6v? Cheers.

P.S The 'forum' link in the review seems to be dead!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.