Sunbeamtech UFO Acrylic Cube Case

Testing

Testing
 
The Sunbeamtech UFO Acrylic Cube case did very well at keeping the test hardware cool, especially with the inclusion of the passively cooled 7600 GS.
 
Cooling performance chart
 
The HDD area saw a slightly elevated temperature range due to my Antec Earthwatts PSU not having a 120mm fan on the bottom. Subsequently, the build up of warm air wasn't able to be evacuated out of the case as efficiently by the 80mm fan that it has at the rear.
 
As far as noise was concerned, the UFO Cube case was very quiet. So quiet in fact that you really had to strain to hear the 2 x 120mm cooling fans from approximately a metre away.
 
Let's head over the page to see how the Sunbeamtech UFO Cube case performed as a whole...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-12-2007, 10:06:19

PV5150
When is a UFO not a UFO? When it's a Sunbeamtech case-in-a-box.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...092425910s.jpg

Cue the X-Files music

17-12-2007, 10:20:53

ionicle
that actually looks really nice

EDIT: must be odd looking at it and being able to see everything

plus, nowhere to hide cables!

17-12-2007, 10:22:24

jiffz
Awesome little review there PV. I was suprised at the cost of that thing, looks sexy

I'm guessing a disadvantage would be the fact that watercooling would be almost impossible?

17-12-2007, 10:23:47

PV5150
Yeah tis not too bad at all mate, it's really grown on me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jiffz
Awesome little review there PV. I was suprised at the cost of that thing, looks sexy

I'm guessing a disadvantage would be the fact that watercooling would be almost impossible?
Thanks jiffz. Actually water-cooling it would be a cinch, and it is on my 'to do' list next year.

17-12-2007, 11:19:38

FragTek
If I were MountainMods I would sue Sunbeamtech and get riiiich.

Also....

"* A pair of Michael Jackson's finest."

^^^^ PMSL when I saw that!!! :rollingla:rollingla:rollingla

17-12-2007, 11:26:50

Rastalovich
I like this format. Kinda reminds me of Orac from Blake`s 7. Just need a key thing to slot in the top.

Talking of wc`ing, there`s a project log I can`t find that did something like this from scratch, looked amazing.

17-12-2007, 11:28:20

PV5150
haha you saw that. I thought everyone had missed it Yeah I would imagine that Sunbeamtech would be ok with the UFO moniker as it is a pretty well used generic name. I may be wrong though

18-12-2007, 12:20:49

Phunky
Im after a case like this - but it main use will be for lans so needs to be sturdy.

But i do like the idea of the mobo on top - makes more sense for airflow + the lack of it that you get in a small case like this.

24-12-2007, 19:09:55

Danni
I want, I want and I want. It fulfils my clear case/purple look perfectly (uv blue is purple to me). Only problem is I need a bigger desk first...

08-01-2008, 07:58:19

PV5150
Cool! I'm glad you liked the review Danni and let me know what you think if you manage to source yourself one

08-01-2008, 09:24:37

Danni
Heh- that's where I'm having problems- can't find one in the UK anywhere. I have my local shop to ask (he will get me anything available in the UK, and I get a trade discount as my friend is self employed) but if that doesn't work I'll have to import one.

08-01-2008, 09:29:20

Phunky
You see what i really like about this is that the mobo is on top more SFF PC's should be like this!!!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.