Sunbeamtech UFO Acrylic Cube Case

Testing Methodology

Testing Methodology
 
 
Personally, I think that the two most important factors when considering purchasing a case (besides intended purpose, price and looks) is the cooling performance and noise. Subsequently, those will be the two areas that we will be assessing in our testing today.

Cooling performance

One of the features that Sunbeamtech market in regards to the UFO Acrylic Cube case, is that of enhanced cooling to motherboard components.
 
Motherboard cooling image thermal zone image
 
So we are going to test that statement! The hardware I have decided to run with for todays testing has been listed below:

* Intel E6600 with retail heat sink
* ASUS P5B Deluxe WiFi/App motherboard
* 2GB XMS2 PC2-6400 RAM
* Gigabyte 7600GS graphics card
* 1 x Western Digital 80GB SATAII HDD
* Antec EarthWatts 500W PSU
* Pioneer DVR-A06 CD/DVD drive
* Creative X-Fi audio sound card.

All temperatures will be taken at both idle and load and measured with a digital thermometer, allowing 5 minutes for acclimatisation. Load will be simulated by running the Stanford Folding @ Home Windows SMP client, which effectively saturates the E6600 by running 1 thread per core. Graphic load was obtained by playing Valve's Counter Strike: Source at a resolution of 1280 x 1024. Ambient temperature during the testing period was a mild 25.9 Deg Celcius.

Noise

Possibly the hardest part of any active cooling review is summarising the level of noise given out by the fan/s. The threshold for what is considered 'noisy' varies from person to person and therefore what I may consider quiet, another person may consider extremely loud. For this reason, all reviews at Overclock3D use a dBA meter to measure the level of noise output by the fan/s. However, because the test system includes a number of fans (CPU cooler, PSU etc) I have chosen not to include any dB(A) measurements. I will however report my findings as objectively as possible.

On to the testing...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-12-2007, 10:06:19

PV5150
When is a UFO not a UFO? When it's a Sunbeamtech case-in-a-box.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...092425910s.jpg

Cue the X-Files music

17-12-2007, 10:20:53

ionicle
that actually looks really nice

EDIT: must be odd looking at it and being able to see everything

plus, nowhere to hide cables!

17-12-2007, 10:22:24

jiffz
Awesome little review there PV. I was suprised at the cost of that thing, looks sexy

I'm guessing a disadvantage would be the fact that watercooling would be almost impossible?

17-12-2007, 10:23:47

PV5150
Yeah tis not too bad at all mate, it's really grown on me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jiffz
Awesome little review there PV. I was suprised at the cost of that thing, looks sexy

I'm guessing a disadvantage would be the fact that watercooling would be almost impossible?
Thanks jiffz. Actually water-cooling it would be a cinch, and it is on my 'to do' list next year.

17-12-2007, 11:19:38

FragTek
If I were MountainMods I would sue Sunbeamtech and get riiiich.

Also....

"* A pair of Michael Jackson's finest."

^^^^ PMSL when I saw that!!! :rollingla:rollingla:rollingla

17-12-2007, 11:26:50

Rastalovich
I like this format. Kinda reminds me of Orac from Blake`s 7. Just need a key thing to slot in the top.

Talking of wc`ing, there`s a project log I can`t find that did something like this from scratch, looked amazing.

17-12-2007, 11:28:20

PV5150
haha you saw that. I thought everyone had missed it Yeah I would imagine that Sunbeamtech would be ok with the UFO moniker as it is a pretty well used generic name. I may be wrong though

18-12-2007, 12:20:49

Phunky
Im after a case like this - but it main use will be for lans so needs to be sturdy.

But i do like the idea of the mobo on top - makes more sense for airflow + the lack of it that you get in a small case like this.

24-12-2007, 19:09:55

Danni
I want, I want and I want. It fulfils my clear case/purple look perfectly (uv blue is purple to me). Only problem is I need a bigger desk first...

08-01-2008, 07:58:19

PV5150
Cool! I'm glad you liked the review Danni and let me know what you think if you manage to source yourself one

08-01-2008, 09:24:37

Danni
Heh- that's where I'm having problems- can't find one in the UK anywhere. I have my local shop to ask (he will get me anything available in the UK, and I get a trade discount as my friend is self employed) but if that doesn't work I'll have to import one.

08-01-2008, 09:29:20

Phunky
You see what i really like about this is that the mobo is on top more SFF PC's should be like this!!!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.