Sunbeamtech UFO Acrylic Cube Case

Packaging

Packaging
 
The packaging for the UFO Acrylic Cube is certainly a no-frills offering. The box features a simple image of the product on the front and a set of images on the rear illustrating the Sunbeamtech Acrylic Cube case' features. The case specifications are found on the side of the box.
 
Cube packaging front Cube packaging rear
 
Cube packaging side Cube packaging opposite side
 
Removing the outer shell reveals a well packaged and well protected inner shall. Each individual piece of the Cube case is housed in a sheath of polystyrene-like material, and the associated case hardware sits on top.
 
Packaging opened Hardware included list
 
The installation hardware that ships with the Cube case is quite significant, and a little daunting to say the least. The packaging includes an instruction booklet with very easy to follow text and quite detailed images of each stage.
 
Packaging contents
 
Included in the Cube case packaging is:
 
* UFO Acrylic Cube case panels
* 2 x 120mm fans and grills
* On/Off button assembly
* Case feet
* Screws, screws and more screws
* 35" - 5.25" HDD spacers
* Panel brackets
* Motherboard I/O panel with blanking plates
* 1 x case speaker
* A pair of Michael Jackson's finest.
 
Now that we've had a look at the packaging and its contents, let's have a closer look at the case and how easy it is to construct...
 
A Closer Look
 
The On/Off button assembly features 2 x USB 2.0 ports and speaker/mic ports. The buttons feel really nice and easy to push, and have a quality feel about them. You will also notice the assembly has 2 x LED's present; one for power and one for HDD activity.
 
The two supplied 120mm fans are a little bit of a mystery as I couldn't find the exact fan on the Sunbeamtech website. I do believe though that they are an SLF-12-B Silent LED variety with a noise output of 21dbA and a rotational speed of 1200RPM.
 
On/Off assembly Sunbeamtech 120mm fan
 
The panels on the UFO Acrylic Cube case are simply screwed together using thumb screws and the screw holes present in the panels.
 
Case panel screw hole Case panel screw hole_2
 
 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-12-2007, 10:06:19

PV5150
When is a UFO not a UFO? When it's a Sunbeamtech case-in-a-box.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...092425910s.jpg

Cue the X-Files music

17-12-2007, 10:20:53

ionicle
that actually looks really nice

EDIT: must be odd looking at it and being able to see everything

plus, nowhere to hide cables!

17-12-2007, 10:22:24

jiffz
Awesome little review there PV. I was suprised at the cost of that thing, looks sexy

I'm guessing a disadvantage would be the fact that watercooling would be almost impossible?

17-12-2007, 10:23:47

PV5150
Yeah tis not too bad at all mate, it's really grown on me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jiffz
Awesome little review there PV. I was suprised at the cost of that thing, looks sexy

I'm guessing a disadvantage would be the fact that watercooling would be almost impossible?
Thanks jiffz. Actually water-cooling it would be a cinch, and it is on my 'to do' list next year.

17-12-2007, 11:19:38

FragTek
If I were MountainMods I would sue Sunbeamtech and get riiiich.

Also....

"* A pair of Michael Jackson's finest."

^^^^ PMSL when I saw that!!! :rollingla:rollingla:rollingla

17-12-2007, 11:26:50

Rastalovich
I like this format. Kinda reminds me of Orac from Blake`s 7. Just need a key thing to slot in the top.

Talking of wc`ing, there`s a project log I can`t find that did something like this from scratch, looked amazing.

17-12-2007, 11:28:20

PV5150
haha you saw that. I thought everyone had missed it Yeah I would imagine that Sunbeamtech would be ok with the UFO moniker as it is a pretty well used generic name. I may be wrong though

18-12-2007, 12:20:49

Phunky
Im after a case like this - but it main use will be for lans so needs to be sturdy.

But i do like the idea of the mobo on top - makes more sense for airflow + the lack of it that you get in a small case like this.

24-12-2007, 19:09:55

Danni
I want, I want and I want. It fulfils my clear case/purple look perfectly (uv blue is purple to me). Only problem is I need a bigger desk first...

08-01-2008, 07:58:19

PV5150
Cool! I'm glad you liked the review Danni and let me know what you think if you manage to source yourself one

08-01-2008, 09:24:37

Danni
Heh- that's where I'm having problems- can't find one in the UK anywhere. I have my local shop to ask (he will get me anything available in the UK, and I get a trade discount as my friend is self employed) but if that doesn't work I'll have to import one.

08-01-2008, 09:29:20

Phunky
You see what i really like about this is that the mobo is on top more SFF PC's should be like this!!!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.