Spire Pininfarina Mid-Tower ATX Case

Testing

Testing

The following system was used to test the thermal abilities of the Spire Pinifarina case:

• Intel Core 2 Duo E4300
• ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA
• 1GB Crucial Balistix PC6400
• XFX 7800GT with Arctic Cooler NV5
• Sliverstone ST60F
• WD Raptor 150GB

installedover

The folding out motherboard tray made installation of the main board components a breeze. Spire have designed the case so no matter what ATX based form factor motherboard you use, you will always have 6 screws holding it in thanks to being able to relocate motherboard spacers.

Installed

I mounted my Raptor into the cage below the exposed 3.5” bay, which was a tight fit but once I had squeezed in the drive in it was quite secure.

Installed2

When installing the PSU, I ran into a bit of trouble. As a stated before there was plenty of space for ATX size PSUs, but getting too the screw holes on the back proved a bit more of a challenge. In the end I had too remove the back panel to be able too get a screwdriver in there. This required fiddling with some rather sharp, stubborn metal clips.

PSUback

pusin


Cooling

This case is advertised as ‘Extreme cooling’ and ‘completely silent’ when it comes to cooling. The case sports a fair range of fans. There’s three 80mm fan positions, two of which are filled by spire fans, and one open to add your own. The spec tells us that there is a 120mm fan mounted in the front that sucks air into the case. While inspecting the setup I noticed the fan was actually 140mm.

I'll now see how the thermals of the case perform with my test system. To find the idle temperatures the computer was left to sit for an hour, and temperatures then recorded. To cause my components to produce as much heat as possible I ran 3Dmark06’s standard tests for an hour, with Folding@Home running in the background to ensure all CPU cycles were being used up. Ambient temperature was 21 throughout the testing.

temps

As we can see this system faired up quite well when it came to temperatures, all being well within operating limits. The 3 case fans provide plenty of airflow to keep the system cool at both idle and load.


Noise Levels

As for the noise levels, it was far from ‘completely silent’. While the noise it output was quite bearable, if you were trying to watch a film quietly or play a game without disturbing anyone else in the house it would case an annoyance to strain your ears over the fans. Upon further experimentation I discovered the majority of the noise in the case was due to the 140mm fan mounted at the front, while the two 80mms contributed to a lesser extent but still emitted a fair whir. The very tight fit on the hard drive also meant that the noise from its seeking was amplified throughout the case.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-03-2007, 17:45:30

Ham
I got the opportunity to look over this creation from Spire, designed by a prestigious Italian firm.

See how it faired here

28-03-2007, 17:48:21

FarFarAway
I have to admit I really like the sleek looks of this baby. Damn it's nice

Good review Hamster

28-03-2007, 18:01:26

equk
nice review

when I first saw the image of the case I thought it looked ugly

I think it's all the curves etc.

But after I read thru the review it began to seem pretty good

I like the way the side opens with the mobo (like the old mac g4's) so you can work on the internal components easier than fiddling inside a case.

Looking at the back of the case, the left sidepanel doesn't seem to fit flush

28-03-2007, 18:05:46

Ham
Cheers guys.

This is a funny case, it seems to grow on you the more you look at it.

The pannel fits a bit better than in the pic, but you have to push the side that slighly stiff extra 1/8th of an inch so it clicks in properly. As i was lifting it up by the side handles to rotate it to take the pics i must have not pushed it back, oops...

28-03-2007, 18:20:49

chudley
I do like the butterfly effect, but am not too keen on the whole case design itself (as in shape ) reminds me of some film thing but the stela is stopping me from naming it atm.

Would not of thought that a bigger fan would cause more noise -what happened there?

28-03-2007, 18:29:58

NickS
Not a bad review matey

That case looks very sweet on the outside, and the way the side panels are is cool. I wouldn't mind it.

With two Arctic Cooling 80mm's, a silent PSU, yate loon 140mm up front, the case would be very quiet.

Pair that with a mobo that has passive heatpipe cooling, a heatsink like the Thermalright Ultra-120 and a GPU sink that's passive or quiet, you'd have yourself an inaudible rig

28-03-2007, 19:51:54

Allsorts
Good review Hammy! I particularly liked the abundance of nice pictures . I have to say that case looks so easy to work with, especially having the mobo and expansion card areas integrated into the side panel (although it only folds out, not detatches?).

29-03-2007, 07:47:31

jiffz
Nice in depth review matey! I love the ghetto photoshoot: http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?type=3&id=179&page=3&desc=spire_pininfarina_mid-tower_atx_case

You are the king of ghettoness

29-03-2007, 07:53:36

FarFarAway
Infairness it's bloody hard shooting a case so his solution was a good idea imo

29-03-2007, 08:19:05

FragTek
Great review, and a nice looking case too! However it is a bit disheartening to see such a nice externally appealing case have the same run of the mill cheep arse Chinese stamped steel internals that you find in a $10 case.

29-03-2007, 08:56:46

PV5150
Excellent effort Ham and a great review to boot. The case looks extremely slick...keep up the great work

30-03-2007, 09:05:52

borschtBomber[SS]
Nice review. This case is a mix for me...I really like the external look, but the inside leaves a lot to be desired for me. You pretty much hit on all the points that bugged me, good job

01-04-2007, 19:06:38

jiffz
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Infairness it's bloody hard shooting a case so his solution was a good idea imo
I wasn't trying to be harsh! I know that to take a pic of a big case, you need a bloody big background! I just love Ham for being the king of ghetto

02-04-2007, 08:48:27

Raz0r3d
hehe, gotta the same mobo, but, the CABLES! pls put them a bit better...

The case is very nice, but, before i'm buying it i want to know how good u can place the cables

if i had a better cam, or bring my webcam to work under linux, then i could bring you pics of my well-cabeled inside.... (missing an english-german translation prog for linux...)

02-04-2007, 09:06:40

Ham
The cable tidying options weren't fantastic tbh. With a bit of modding it could be improved, but that is the same with most cases.

I didn't really bother tidying the cables much as that setup was only in there for about 1 and 1/2 weeks.

Nice choice of motherboard btw. Mild overclockable, one of the best feature sets ive seen and less than 1/2 the price of a lot of conroe 775 boards!

02-04-2007, 09:31:25

Toxcity
Nice case.. and Nice review Ham..

But it looks a bit tight for my likeing..
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.