Spire Pininfarina Mid-Tower ATX Case

Features and Internals

Features & Internals

First of all I did a little research and found the specifications for this case over at Spire’s website.

Dimensions 495x200x450mm (L x W x H)
Material Aluminum Alloy Bezel & Metal SECC Galvanized Steel Chassis
Material thickness Aluminum 6.0mm | SECC 1.0mm
Colour Pitch Black
Mainboard Extend ATX & Micro ATX

5.25 Bays 3 visible
3.5 Bays 2 visible ~ 4 hidden
Bracket slots 7
Cooling x 80x80x25mm fans (rear included, right included, left not included) 1x 120x120x25mm (front included) External USB 2.0 x 2 | MIC x 1 | Earphone jack x 1 | Connections IEEE 1394 x 1 Features Lightweight aluminum & Durable metal frame. Italian Stylish design. Front USB, IEEE1394 & Sound connections. full screen, radiation protected. Side panel access, screw free installation. Optimized internal space design for Highly-efficient airflow.
Packaging 522x260x517mm (L x W x H)
N.W. Weight 13.50 K.G

G.W. Weight 14.50 K.G

Upon reading the specs I was slightly disgruntled to discover that the actual chassis is formed out of steel, rather than being an all aluminium case.

The front panel connectors are very well hidden away on the Pininfarina. I must say it took me a while to find them. They are hidden under what can only be described as the cases bonnet. Lifting up the bonnet reveals 2 USB ports, a Firewire port and headphone / microphone jacks.

Hood


The butterfly style side panel is the trick that this case conjures up when it’s pitted against other cases on the market today. By pulling the handles on the side panels they both descend to reveal the cases insides, making installation and maintenance of the internal components a breeze.

ButterFly

Butterfly2

The PSU bay is mounted in the usual place at the top, rear of the case. I was a initially concerned that the space Spire had allowed for the PSU would be a little small. But after offering up a few different sized supplies I see it’s perfectly adequate for most ATX applications.

PSUbay

Moving to the right we see 4x 5.25” drive bays, the top one being taken up by the front panel connectors, the other 3 available for use. Under that Spire have provided two external 3.5” drive bays, with an extra hidden one under that.

5bays

Midbays

Then we have a removable hard drive caddy that can hold four more 3.5” drives. Moving even further down is a small storage box that contains a fair few screws, some rails for the HDD caddy and a system speaker that plugs directly onto the motherboards front panel header.

Caddy

Caddyout

As you can see in the pictures, there are little plastic locking bars that keep your Optical and the higher 3.5" bay devices in place. The removable caddy uses the rails that simply slot into the screwholes on the HDD and slide into the caddy.

Spanning the cases length is something that Spire call the ‘enforce bar’. This is a removable steel plate that runs roughly the same height as the PCI slots.

Bar

It provides a mount for an 80mm fan to aid in cooling graphics cards and other PCI cards. However attached to the fan cage are some curious rails that telescope out of their housing towards the motherboard. I can only assume that they are there to re-enforce pci cards that are plugged into the motherboard, but due to the varying size and shape of these card these rails would only be of any use to a card that was exactly the same size.

Bar2

After the high quality of the aluminum layer on the outside of the case I wasn't too impressed with the steel innards. The quality, while not being particularly bad, wasn't quite up to it. There were a fair few sharp edges and the steel could have been done with being that extra bit thinker to give the mounts an overall more solid feel.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-03-2007, 17:45:30

Ham
I got the opportunity to look over this creation from Spire, designed by a prestigious Italian firm.

See how it faired here

28-03-2007, 17:48:21

FarFarAway
I have to admit I really like the sleek looks of this baby. Damn it's nice

Good review Hamster

28-03-2007, 18:01:26

equk
nice review

when I first saw the image of the case I thought it looked ugly

I think it's all the curves etc.

But after I read thru the review it began to seem pretty good

I like the way the side opens with the mobo (like the old mac g4's) so you can work on the internal components easier than fiddling inside a case.

Looking at the back of the case, the left sidepanel doesn't seem to fit flush

28-03-2007, 18:05:46

Ham
Cheers guys.

This is a funny case, it seems to grow on you the more you look at it.

The pannel fits a bit better than in the pic, but you have to push the side that slighly stiff extra 1/8th of an inch so it clicks in properly. As i was lifting it up by the side handles to rotate it to take the pics i must have not pushed it back, oops...

28-03-2007, 18:20:49

chudley
I do like the butterfly effect, but am not too keen on the whole case design itself (as in shape ) reminds me of some film thing but the stela is stopping me from naming it atm.

Would not of thought that a bigger fan would cause more noise -what happened there?

28-03-2007, 18:29:58

NickS
Not a bad review matey

That case looks very sweet on the outside, and the way the side panels are is cool. I wouldn't mind it.

With two Arctic Cooling 80mm's, a silent PSU, yate loon 140mm up front, the case would be very quiet.

Pair that with a mobo that has passive heatpipe cooling, a heatsink like the Thermalright Ultra-120 and a GPU sink that's passive or quiet, you'd have yourself an inaudible rig

28-03-2007, 19:51:54

Allsorts
Good review Hammy! I particularly liked the abundance of nice pictures . I have to say that case looks so easy to work with, especially having the mobo and expansion card areas integrated into the side panel (although it only folds out, not detatches?).

29-03-2007, 07:47:31

jiffz
Nice in depth review matey! I love the ghetto photoshoot: http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?type=3&id=179&page=3&desc=spire_pininfarina_mid-tower_atx_case

You are the king of ghettoness

29-03-2007, 07:53:36

FarFarAway
Infairness it's bloody hard shooting a case so his solution was a good idea imo

29-03-2007, 08:19:05

FragTek
Great review, and a nice looking case too! However it is a bit disheartening to see such a nice externally appealing case have the same run of the mill cheep arse Chinese stamped steel internals that you find in a $10 case.

29-03-2007, 08:56:46

PV5150
Excellent effort Ham and a great review to boot. The case looks extremely slick...keep up the great work

30-03-2007, 09:05:52

borschtBomber[SS]
Nice review. This case is a mix for me...I really like the external look, but the inside leaves a lot to be desired for me. You pretty much hit on all the points that bugged me, good job

01-04-2007, 19:06:38

jiffz
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Infairness it's bloody hard shooting a case so his solution was a good idea imo
I wasn't trying to be harsh! I know that to take a pic of a big case, you need a bloody big background! I just love Ham for being the king of ghetto

02-04-2007, 08:48:27

Raz0r3d
hehe, gotta the same mobo, but, the CABLES! pls put them a bit better...

The case is very nice, but, before i'm buying it i want to know how good u can place the cables

if i had a better cam, or bring my webcam to work under linux, then i could bring you pics of my well-cabeled inside.... (missing an english-german translation prog for linux...)

02-04-2007, 09:06:40

Ham
The cable tidying options weren't fantastic tbh. With a bit of modding it could be improved, but that is the same with most cases.

I didn't really bother tidying the cables much as that setup was only in there for about 1 and 1/2 weeks.

Nice choice of motherboard btw. Mild overclockable, one of the best feature sets ive seen and less than 1/2 the price of a lot of conroe 775 boards!

02-04-2007, 09:31:25

Toxcity
Nice case.. and Nice review Ham..

But it looks a bit tight for my likeing..
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.