Spire Pininfarina Mid-Tower ATX Case

External Appearance

External Appearance

As you would expect from a case dreamed up by one of the worlds leading design companies, the Pininfarina has an outstanding look. The case flows from front to back via a thick strip of aluminium, while the sides are finished with a polished mat surface.

Overview

The curvy front shows off the designers origins in producing cars, and is a breath of fresh air from the usual boxy shaped cases we have come to accept as standard these days. It sports only a small Spire logo on the bottom left of the drive bay door, with all its features hidden well away as we will see later in the review.

Front

Due to the flowing design of the case the standard features you find on the back of most PC cases are set back quite a bit. However Spire have ensured there is plenty of room for all the connectors that the user may require.

Rear

Next we see the left side of the case. The first thing that drew my attention was the fact that the Pininfarina had a fairly large handle set into its side panels. This is a feature spire have added to ensure that the case lives up to its ‘tool-less’ design. In my opinion they could have done with attempting to blend these in some way as they do stick out somewhat. Also on the left panel we see a grill that allows the underlying 80mm fan to exhaust hot air from the 3.5” bays.

Left

The right is, as you would expect, very similar too the left. The same type of handle is present in the mid-top of the panel, but the right bares two grills, one a very large vent allowing air to be moved over the CPU heat sink, the other allowing an 80mm fan to push or pull from the PCI slot’s space.

Right

Overall I was quite impressed with the appearance of the case. It draws away from the convention of the boxes that PC users are used too, while not being ridiculous or impractical. The thick sheet of aluminium gives the outside of the case a good quality feel too.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-03-2007, 17:45:30

Ham
I got the opportunity to look over this creation from Spire, designed by a prestigious Italian firm.

See how it faired here

28-03-2007, 17:48:21

FarFarAway
I have to admit I really like the sleek looks of this baby. Damn it's nice

Good review Hamster

28-03-2007, 18:01:26

equk
nice review

when I first saw the image of the case I thought it looked ugly

I think it's all the curves etc.

But after I read thru the review it began to seem pretty good

I like the way the side opens with the mobo (like the old mac g4's) so you can work on the internal components easier than fiddling inside a case.

Looking at the back of the case, the left sidepanel doesn't seem to fit flush

28-03-2007, 18:05:46

Ham
Cheers guys.

This is a funny case, it seems to grow on you the more you look at it.

The pannel fits a bit better than in the pic, but you have to push the side that slighly stiff extra 1/8th of an inch so it clicks in properly. As i was lifting it up by the side handles to rotate it to take the pics i must have not pushed it back, oops...

28-03-2007, 18:20:49

chudley
I do like the butterfly effect, but am not too keen on the whole case design itself (as in shape ) reminds me of some film thing but the stela is stopping me from naming it atm.

Would not of thought that a bigger fan would cause more noise -what happened there?

28-03-2007, 18:29:58

NickS
Not a bad review matey

That case looks very sweet on the outside, and the way the side panels are is cool. I wouldn't mind it.

With two Arctic Cooling 80mm's, a silent PSU, yate loon 140mm up front, the case would be very quiet.

Pair that with a mobo that has passive heatpipe cooling, a heatsink like the Thermalright Ultra-120 and a GPU sink that's passive or quiet, you'd have yourself an inaudible rig

28-03-2007, 19:51:54

Allsorts
Good review Hammy! I particularly liked the abundance of nice pictures . I have to say that case looks so easy to work with, especially having the mobo and expansion card areas integrated into the side panel (although it only folds out, not detatches?).

29-03-2007, 07:47:31

jiffz
Nice in depth review matey! I love the ghetto photoshoot: http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?type=3&id=179&page=3&desc=spire_pininfarina_mid-tower_atx_case

You are the king of ghettoness

29-03-2007, 07:53:36

FarFarAway
Infairness it's bloody hard shooting a case so his solution was a good idea imo

29-03-2007, 08:19:05

FragTek
Great review, and a nice looking case too! However it is a bit disheartening to see such a nice externally appealing case have the same run of the mill cheep arse Chinese stamped steel internals that you find in a $10 case.

29-03-2007, 08:56:46

PV5150
Excellent effort Ham and a great review to boot. The case looks extremely slick...keep up the great work

30-03-2007, 09:05:52

borschtBomber[SS]
Nice review. This case is a mix for me...I really like the external look, but the inside leaves a lot to be desired for me. You pretty much hit on all the points that bugged me, good job

01-04-2007, 19:06:38

jiffz
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Infairness it's bloody hard shooting a case so his solution was a good idea imo
I wasn't trying to be harsh! I know that to take a pic of a big case, you need a bloody big background! I just love Ham for being the king of ghetto

02-04-2007, 08:48:27

Raz0r3d
hehe, gotta the same mobo, but, the CABLES! pls put them a bit better...

The case is very nice, but, before i'm buying it i want to know how good u can place the cables

if i had a better cam, or bring my webcam to work under linux, then i could bring you pics of my well-cabeled inside.... (missing an english-german translation prog for linux...)

02-04-2007, 09:06:40

Ham
The cable tidying options weren't fantastic tbh. With a bit of modding it could be improved, but that is the same with most cases.

I didn't really bother tidying the cables much as that setup was only in there for about 1 and 1/2 weeks.

Nice choice of motherboard btw. Mild overclockable, one of the best feature sets ive seen and less than 1/2 the price of a lot of conroe 775 boards!

02-04-2007, 09:31:25

Toxcity
Nice case.. and Nice review Ham..

But it looks a bit tight for my likeing..
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.