Spire Pininfarina Mid-Tower ATX Case

Introduction

Introduction

Spire are a fairly well known company among the overclocking community, and have a fair few years experience in manufacturing computer products. Their main focus is on the production of cooling solutions, power supplies and pc cases. They have offices all over the world with a head office based in the USA and factory facilities in China.

Today I will be looking at the Spire Pininfarina case. This new case is designed by the Italian design firm (Carozzeria Pininfarin) who you may recognise as the body manufacturers behind many of today’s cars. Their previous escapades include many cars, including the likes of Ferrari, Maserati and apparently played a part in designing the original Mini.


Packaging

The box the case comes in is big. This was no disappointment however, as it meant that the protection housing the case was more than capable of keeping the case in perfect condition for its long hauls from factory to end user. It's protected by a big thick layer of shaped polystyrene on the top and bottom that holds it steady in the box and as with many cases now is also protected with a plastic wrapping to stop any scratches. On top of that, the Pininfarina has an adhesive backed plastic cover stuck over its flowing front, top and back.

The front design incorporates a large overview of the case and some small phrases advertising the case’s selling points, all under the Pininfarina title.

Box Front

The side shows a similar overview picture and then under that it has the colours the case is available in. The colour of the case in the box is marked out by a small round Spire sticker (Not shown in the side I photographed).

Box Side

The back then showing the case open and gives a few more details about the cases main features.

Box Back

There are a few dents in the box from its long trip to me from Spires HQ, but this can be expected and it did more than a satisfactory job of keeping the case in top condition.


Package

There was very little in the way of loose content that came with this case. Spire have taken the initiative to mount all the fans, mountings and screws into there correct housings before the case is shipped. All the front panel I/O connectors are also plugged into the chassis.

IO connectors

There is a small multi-language installation instruction booklet taped to the motherboard tray that outlines a few of the installation procedures for components in the case. This however, could have done with being a bigger instruction manual. As I had to dismantle certain parts of the case to find some of its more hidden tricks.

Package

While looking over the case I came across the accessories box, which was cunningly hidden inside the case. There was no mention of this extra box of goodies in the manual and it could have easily been overlooked by the excited end-user keen to build his new PC.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-03-2007, 17:45:30

Ham
I got the opportunity to look over this creation from Spire, designed by a prestigious Italian firm.

See how it faired here

28-03-2007, 17:48:21

FarFarAway
I have to admit I really like the sleek looks of this baby. Damn it's nice

Good review Hamster

28-03-2007, 18:01:26

equk
nice review

when I first saw the image of the case I thought it looked ugly

I think it's all the curves etc.

But after I read thru the review it began to seem pretty good

I like the way the side opens with the mobo (like the old mac g4's) so you can work on the internal components easier than fiddling inside a case.

Looking at the back of the case, the left sidepanel doesn't seem to fit flush

28-03-2007, 18:05:46

Ham
Cheers guys.

This is a funny case, it seems to grow on you the more you look at it.

The pannel fits a bit better than in the pic, but you have to push the side that slighly stiff extra 1/8th of an inch so it clicks in properly. As i was lifting it up by the side handles to rotate it to take the pics i must have not pushed it back, oops...

28-03-2007, 18:20:49

chudley
I do like the butterfly effect, but am not too keen on the whole case design itself (as in shape ) reminds me of some film thing but the stela is stopping me from naming it atm.

Would not of thought that a bigger fan would cause more noise -what happened there?

28-03-2007, 18:29:58

NickS
Not a bad review matey

That case looks very sweet on the outside, and the way the side panels are is cool. I wouldn't mind it.

With two Arctic Cooling 80mm's, a silent PSU, yate loon 140mm up front, the case would be very quiet.

Pair that with a mobo that has passive heatpipe cooling, a heatsink like the Thermalright Ultra-120 and a GPU sink that's passive or quiet, you'd have yourself an inaudible rig

28-03-2007, 19:51:54

Allsorts
Good review Hammy! I particularly liked the abundance of nice pictures . I have to say that case looks so easy to work with, especially having the mobo and expansion card areas integrated into the side panel (although it only folds out, not detatches?).

29-03-2007, 07:47:31

jiffz
Nice in depth review matey! I love the ghetto photoshoot: http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?type=3&id=179&page=3&desc=spire_pininfarina_mid-tower_atx_case

You are the king of ghettoness

29-03-2007, 07:53:36

FarFarAway
Infairness it's bloody hard shooting a case so his solution was a good idea imo

29-03-2007, 08:19:05

FragTek
Great review, and a nice looking case too! However it is a bit disheartening to see such a nice externally appealing case have the same run of the mill cheep arse Chinese stamped steel internals that you find in a $10 case.

29-03-2007, 08:56:46

PV5150
Excellent effort Ham and a great review to boot. The case looks extremely slick...keep up the great work

30-03-2007, 09:05:52

borschtBomber[SS]
Nice review. This case is a mix for me...I really like the external look, but the inside leaves a lot to be desired for me. You pretty much hit on all the points that bugged me, good job

01-04-2007, 19:06:38

jiffz
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Infairness it's bloody hard shooting a case so his solution was a good idea imo
I wasn't trying to be harsh! I know that to take a pic of a big case, you need a bloody big background! I just love Ham for being the king of ghetto

02-04-2007, 08:48:27

Raz0r3d
hehe, gotta the same mobo, but, the CABLES! pls put them a bit better...

The case is very nice, but, before i'm buying it i want to know how good u can place the cables

if i had a better cam, or bring my webcam to work under linux, then i could bring you pics of my well-cabeled inside.... (missing an english-german translation prog for linux...)

02-04-2007, 09:06:40

Ham
The cable tidying options weren't fantastic tbh. With a bit of modding it could be improved, but that is the same with most cases.

I didn't really bother tidying the cables much as that setup was only in there for about 1 and 1/2 weeks.

Nice choice of motherboard btw. Mild overclockable, one of the best feature sets ive seen and less than 1/2 the price of a lot of conroe 775 boards!

02-04-2007, 09:31:25

Toxcity
Nice case.. and Nice review Ham..

But it looks a bit tight for my likeing..
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.