Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review

Up Close: Exterior

Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review

Up Close:  Exterior

To describe the case style of the RVZ01 as being similar to the classic Pizza box design of Dell or HP office desk tops would be insulting, never-the-less that's the closest comparison we can make.  It's fair to say though that that is where all comparisons end, as in style alone the RVZ01 kicks some significant bottom.  The Raven lineage can be clearly be seen in the sculpted Aluminium front with even the Black Raven Badge not intruding through the darkness. 

Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review     Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review

 

Although plastic the side panels are beautifully formed and with designs mimicking the roof section venting of the RV04 will provide additional ventilation for the case.

Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review     Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review

 

The removable roof panel is steel and aside from a single 120mm fan mount is otherwise clean.

Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review     Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review

 

So far we've looked at the RV04 in the horizontal position, but should you wish to opt for a more conventional vertical desk top orientation it is extremely easy to stand the case up.  Silverstone are considerate in not pre attaching the rubber feet to the case leaving you free to choose your own style and thus leave the other surfaces foot free as it were.

Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review     Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review  

 

The picture below left shows what would be the base of the case should you plump for the horizontal orientation.  It's reasonable to say that when vertical the two 120mm fan mounts, one of which sports a slim line fan will provide better ventilation, postioned as they are, directly under the GPU area.  The other small area of perforation is there to afford airflow to the PSU.

Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review     Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-03-2014, 04:28:19

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...080257456l.jpg

Silverstone offer up the RVZ01, Raven styling with an M-ITX form factor. Did somebody say Steam-Box?

Continue Reading

03-03-2014, 05:36:15

barnsley
I've got a build log of one of these to do. Its got an i7 4770s (lower power draw), a GTX 780 (with the ugly as sin evga plastic cooler) and the silverstone cooler. It'll be powered by silverstone's 450w gold psu that they released for this case. Its also modular as well. which should be helpful.

03-03-2014, 05:46:21

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
I've got a build log of one of these to do. Its got an i7 4770s (lower power draw), a GTX 780 (with the ugly as sin evga plastic cooler) and the silverstone cooler. It'll be powered by silverstone's 450w gold psu that they released for this case. Its also modular as well. which should be helpful.
Do a proper job then......

03-03-2014, 05:57:25

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Do a proper job then......
Just waiting for the motherboard to arrive as it was out of stock when it was ordered (gg scan). The same for the short cable set. I'm going to build it at the weekend as its at a mate's.

03-03-2014, 10:38:05

Feronix
So much innuendo

Kind of want to do a build in this...

03-03-2014, 10:38:37

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
So much innuendo

Kind of want to do a build in this...
Make a steambox!

03-03-2014, 10:41:58

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Make a steambox!
Truth is that I don't really need a Steambox as my monitor has a TV tuner built-in and I have an Xbox controller for Windows adaptor so if I want, I can sit on my bed (which is conveniently placed against a wall to which I have attached a black baby matress, turning my bed into a couch).

Long story short, for me it would just be €400-500 wasted which is a lot for a student. Still want to downsize my main rig to a Phenom though... Or the RVZ01, hmmm...

Phenom would be cooler/quieter and look better though. Not going to put custom braided cables and mods on the inside of a case where a window makes no sense.

03-03-2014, 11:23:09

Conchubair
beenn following this case for ages now, wanting to replace the family pc with one. Its similar in size to a x360 too.

My only complaint us the ribbed front, which I think could look more like the steambox iFixit did a teardown on, more sleek and curvatious. I actually think that may have been sikverstone built too.

03-03-2014, 11:34:28

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conchubair View Post
My only complaint us the ribbed front, which I think could look more like the steambox iFixit did a teardown on, more sleek and curvatious. I actually think that may have been sikverstone built too.
I think the steambox prototypes were these but slightly modified. Silverstone are releasing a non Raven version of the RVZ01 as well, called the ML07.
http://techreport.com/r.x/2014_1_14_...cases/ml07.jpg

03-03-2014, 11:56:59

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
I think the steambox prototypes were these but slightly modified. Silverstone are releasing a non Raven version of the RVZ01 as well, called the ML07.
http://techreport.com/r.x/2014_1_14_...cases/ml07.jpg
I think I like this one even more!

Don't Silverstone tend to release cases with the same internals twice all the time? One for the Raven series and one for the Fortress series, with different exteriors.

03-03-2014, 11:57:43

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
I think I like this one even more!

Don't Silverstone tend to release cases with the same internals twice all the time? One for the Raven series and one for the Fortress series, with different exteriors.
Yep. The silverstone model always costs more I think though.

03-03-2014, 12:01:45

Conchubair

03-03-2014, 12:13:43

cooperman
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
I think the steambox prototypes were these but slightly modified. Silverstone are releasing a non Raven version of the RVZ01 as well, called the ML07.
http://techreport.com/r.x/2014_1_14_...cases/ml07.jpg
It looks like the CD player off my sony stack system i had about fifteen years ago

26-03-2014, 01:22:07

captainzombie
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...080257456l.jpg

Silverstone offer up the RVZ01, Raven styling with an M-ITX form factor. Did somebody say Steam-Box?

Continue Reading
Tom, are you going to do a video review of the RVZ01? Always love your video reviews and this case would be an awesome one if you have time to do one. Thanks

26-03-2014, 03:09:49

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainzombie View Post
Tom, are you going to do a video review of the RVZ01? Always love your video reviews and this case would be an awesome one if you have time to do one. Thanks
Asking him to do a case review after a written review was already done is pointless.. he does not do request because he has no time.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.