Silverstone PS 08 Case Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

 Silverstone PS 08 Case Review

 

Introduction

We all know of Silverstone as a truly prolific manufacturer of cases and are most likely familiar with their excellent Temjin, Fortress and Raven lines.  What many don't know is that in the "Precision" series Silverstone also produce a line of value cases.  Latest to wear the PS moniker, the PS-08, is a very small mid tower case.  Standing just over 30cm tall and only a little wider than a 5.25" drive, it's still able to accept coolers up to 140mm and GPUs up to 355mm.  On the surface at just £36 the PS 08 looks like it might be able to provide something stylish for those for whom every penny counts. 

 

Technical Specification

Manufacturer

Silverstone

Model   Number

PS08  

Case   Type

Mid   Tower

Motherboard   Support

Micro   ATX
Mini ITX

Power Supply Support

ATX

 maximum Cooler Height

 140mm

Maximum   GPU Length

355mm

PCI   Expansion Slots

4

External   5.25" Drive Bays

2

Internal   3.5" Drive Bays

4

Internal   2.5" Drive Bays

1

Front   I/O Panel

2 x USB 3.0
1 x Audio
1 x Mic

Colour

Black or White

Materials

Steel/Plastic

Dimensions   (W x H x D)

168x355x400mm

Cooling

Front   1x120mm fitted 1x80mm option

Rear  Option for 1x80mm or 1x92mm

Side  Oversized vent area, no fan mount available

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-05-2013, 04:06:11

tinytomlogan
Here we take a look at the PS 08, a small Mid tower from prolific case manufacturer Silverstone and part of their Precision value line

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...064942351l.jpg


Continue Reading

13-05-2013, 04:44:17

Excalabur50
In my opinion it would have looked much nicer if they left the front flat the indent just don't look right to me, but all in all an alright budget case, A Nice review Gary.

13-05-2013, 04:47:53

maniac
i know it's a budget case and all but i really dont like that shape. it would've been much nicer if it was a box shape imo.

13-05-2013, 07:24:56

barnsley
The white doesn't really help it. On the plus side, it has better cable management then most of the cases in that price point and it'll be better built. Just need to see it in black before I'd use it over something like the K280 from coolermaster.

13-05-2013, 07:43:35

SieB
Really not liking the look of this case. For the money though, it's not to bad I suppose.

13-05-2013, 08:18:23

F-alienware
I love it ! totally retro.

Cheers for the review Gary.

13-05-2013, 10:29:35

Saltire35
Not my cup of tea, but for 35 quid it seems excellent value for money.

Personally though, I think I'd save up a bit more and get the FD Arc Midi v2 or even the Core 3000.

13-05-2013, 12:02:01

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saltire35 View Post
Not my cup of tea, but for 35 quid it seems excellent value for money.

Personally though, I think I'd save up a bit more and get the FD Arc Midi v2 or even the Core 3000.
What I like most about it is that it's stunningly ugly. I'd love to pack a pocket rocket in there with a GTX 670 and have the last laugh.

I have a Core 2 Wolfdale rig sitting about somewhere and I think once I can afford a GPU for it I will pick up one of these and build a fragbox with it.

13-05-2013, 12:05:50

Robi_G
Try reviewing some casecom cases at the 30 mark, toolless drive bays, behind motherboard cable management, lots of ventilation I'd say something like the K5-9388 (they don't seem to do names) would be better than this.

14-05-2013, 11:45:45

badtaylorx
hey tom, can you get a new Raven and STOMP it into oblivion please???
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.