Silverstone Grandia GD02-MT Case

External Impressions

External Impressions
 
The Grandia GD02-MT is designed for one purpose, to be a home theatre PC. It is available in two finishes, black and natural brushed aluminium. The sample we have for reviewing has the black finish. So let's take a closer look at the case externally, starting with the front panel. Dominating the front panel is the 4.5" LCD screen, which can be used as a controller for the PC as it is touch sensitive. Also on the front panel are the power switch and hard drive activity LED. There is a single DVD/CD bezel, with an aluminium slot cover just above the LCD screen.
  
GD02-MT Case Front GD02-MT Case Front with panel dropped
 
Located at the bottom of the front panel is a drop down cover, which is opened by pressing on it at the bottom right. It opens smoothly to reveal the front I/O sockets and a single 3.25" drive bay. The available sockets are:
  • 2x USB2.0
  • 1x IEEE1394
  • 1x Audio in
  • 1x microphone 
GD02-MT Case Front I/O Panel GD02-MT Case FDD Bay
 
Moving around the case, we will now take a look at the sides. Each side is finished in the same colour as the top panel and metal corners. Next, the top panel, which is the access point for the case innards, and is secured in place by four hex nuts in each corner. Considering the likely placement of the built system is going to be under your display on a stand, there was no need for the bling factor on the top and sides, and the finish of these does tie in well with the rest of the case. The side panels are vented, using a square cutout pattern, which should help with air flow within the built up PC.
 
GD02-MT Case Side GD02-MT Case Side 1
GD02-MT Case top GD02-MT Top Panel Fastening Nut
 
Lastly, we come to the rear panel, the business end. As the case is of the micro-ATX flavour, we weren't expecting PCI slots and fan mounts galore. There are 4x full sized PCI slots available, and 2x 80mm fan mounts. The fan mounts are utilised by the 80mm fans provided, and there are no more available mounts within the chassis. We shall discuss the cooling performance later in the review. The VGA lead for the front panel passes out from within the case to the rear panel and the slack can be adjusted with a plastic grommet attached to the cable.
 
 GD02-MT Rear Panel
 
Overall, the case looks very good and should easily be able to blend with your other AV equipment. The addition of the touch screen LCD makes what would be a plain looking case into something more visually pleasing. The finish applied to all exterior surfaces was excellent. 
 
So now we move on to the case interior, on the next page.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-11-2008, 11:09:58

TopSecret
Silverstone's new media centre friendly case gets put under the microscope today in our full review.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...161342648l.jpg

Read the full article here.

16-11-2008, 12:04:07

Luigi
Nice review there, Similar to what ive got atm, the thermaltake DH104...

I found the LCD to be a real dissapointment, took me ages for it to actually find my media, and then I had to use the desktop app to get at it as the LCD didnt find it :S

Anyway, nice one once again stuart!

16-11-2008, 17:06:57

TopSecret
Thanks mate.

16-11-2008, 20:11:58

Rastalovich
Great review. Dont see enough of these reviews about.

Fair comment with the construction points and limitations.

Personally I think the prices of these scare people. They look good, have some nice gimmicks, but when all the screws are taken out - it's a pc case. For the same price u can get one of those oversized LL server eatx thingies.

17-11-2008, 03:06:16

PV5150
Great review as always Stuart, and I'm inclined to agree with Rast's comments above. A thoroughly enjoyable read though

17-11-2008, 10:25:19

TopSecret
Thanks alot fellas, glad you liked the review. I was concerned over the price too, till I found out the price of small LCD's alone. I was shocked to hear how much they retail for (around 150ish). Considering this, I don't think that the price for the case was unfair. As Rast mentioned though, the LCD's are quite gimmicky and the novelty would soon wear off.

17-11-2008, 11:36:19

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='stuartpb'
Thanks alot fellas, glad you liked the review. I was concerned over the price too, till I found out the price of small LCD's alone. I was shocked to hear how much they retail for (around 150ish). Considering this, I don't think that the price for the case was unfair. As Rast mentioned though, the LCD's are quite gimmicky and the novelty would soon wear off.
Thats exactly what I found, it was also rather frustrating getting it to diplay my music

It seems crazy they cost so much, I looked into it a while ago, you can get a reasonable desktop LCD for the same cost.

17-11-2008, 12:15:03

Rastalovich
A good gimmick would be for the lcd to display what something like vlc or mediaplayer displays, like the scope/equalizer/album info etc etc - or equally an itunes output, that'd be something apple would jump on (for their pc-itunes ofc )

(this is where u step in and say they do )

17-11-2008, 12:21:00

TopSecret
They do

It has a graphic equaliser function, with the track name etc. when playing music. I don't think it shows the album art though or works with iTunes.

17-11-2008, 12:36:10

Rastalovich
Yeah it's their "own thing" type of equalizer aint it. I reckon some1 should be bold and map exactly what the players display.

17-11-2008, 16:10:42

Kerotan
Good review, but I think you should change the load/idle temp graphs so they both scale in x from 0 to 70, as at first glance I thought you were getting lower load temps! I dunno whether I could be fussed with an LCD tbh, does add a bit of wow factor to the case though.

11-04-2010, 14:47:45

dwf1
"Take, for example, the very limited space between the PSU and the hard drive when installed. I cannot understand why Sliverstone did not pick up on this when the case was still in the design stage."

Don't you think a 750 watt ps is overkill? 400 should be more than enough for a htpc and you can find a smaller size ps that won't have the space issues. IMHO Thanks for the review the build is helpful b/c I am about to use a simular case if not the same.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.