Silverstone Grandia GD02-MT Case

Packaging & Contents

Packaging & Contents
 
The case comes in a sturdy cardboard box, which is adorned with images of the case contained within. There is quite a bit of information printed on the box with all the major selling points being covered. On the top of the box is a picture of the case both in the black and aluminium finish, with some text highlighting the major features. The sides of the boxes give the specifications and and some short intro text. 
 
Grandia GD02-M2 Box Top Grandia GD02-MT Box Side
 
Upon opening the box, we found the contents to be well secured with foam and cardboard inserts. Under the top layer of card was the case, which I thought was wrapped in some black material. 
 
Grandia GD02-MT Box Inner 1 Grandia GD02-MT Box Inner 2
 
Once I removed the case from the box I realised that the material was in fact a drawstring bag. I'm not sure what use it could have after the case has been used, but it keeps the case in tip top condition during transit. Silverstone have also protected the front panel and LCD screen with a moulded plastic cover.
 
Grandia GD02-MT Case in Bag Grandia GD02-MT
 
Within the outer box was two smaller boxes. In one there was the accessories, and within the other was the remote control. We shall discuss the remote control further into the review. The accessories were as follows:
  • Driver CD ROM with iMon Software
  • Installation guide
  • Motherboard, PSU, HD, and CD/DVD screws
  • Motherboard stand offs
  • Allen key for top panel bolts
  • Slim Optical drive adapter & screws
  • 3pin to molex power adapter
  • 2 cable ties 
Grandia GD02-MT accessories Grandia GD02-MT Remote Control
 
All in all, the packaging was more than adequate and the box would have to be thrown around alot for the contents to be damaged. As LCD screens can be quite easily damaged, it was good to see that Silverstone had taken some consideration into protecting it during transit.
 
On the next page, we take a look at the case externals.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-11-2008, 11:09:58

TopSecret
Silverstone's new media centre friendly case gets put under the microscope today in our full review.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...161342648l.jpg

Read the full article here.

16-11-2008, 12:04:07

Luigi
Nice review there, Similar to what ive got atm, the thermaltake DH104...

I found the LCD to be a real dissapointment, took me ages for it to actually find my media, and then I had to use the desktop app to get at it as the LCD didnt find it :S

Anyway, nice one once again stuart!

16-11-2008, 17:06:57

TopSecret
Thanks mate.

16-11-2008, 20:11:58

Rastalovich
Great review. Dont see enough of these reviews about.

Fair comment with the construction points and limitations.

Personally I think the prices of these scare people. They look good, have some nice gimmicks, but when all the screws are taken out - it's a pc case. For the same price u can get one of those oversized LL server eatx thingies.

17-11-2008, 03:06:16

PV5150
Great review as always Stuart, and I'm inclined to agree with Rast's comments above. A thoroughly enjoyable read though

17-11-2008, 10:25:19

TopSecret
Thanks alot fellas, glad you liked the review. I was concerned over the price too, till I found out the price of small LCD's alone. I was shocked to hear how much they retail for (around 150ish). Considering this, I don't think that the price for the case was unfair. As Rast mentioned though, the LCD's are quite gimmicky and the novelty would soon wear off.

17-11-2008, 11:36:19

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='stuartpb'
Thanks alot fellas, glad you liked the review. I was concerned over the price too, till I found out the price of small LCD's alone. I was shocked to hear how much they retail for (around 150ish). Considering this, I don't think that the price for the case was unfair. As Rast mentioned though, the LCD's are quite gimmicky and the novelty would soon wear off.
Thats exactly what I found, it was also rather frustrating getting it to diplay my music

It seems crazy they cost so much, I looked into it a while ago, you can get a reasonable desktop LCD for the same cost.

17-11-2008, 12:15:03

Rastalovich
A good gimmick would be for the lcd to display what something like vlc or mediaplayer displays, like the scope/equalizer/album info etc etc - or equally an itunes output, that'd be something apple would jump on (for their pc-itunes ofc )

(this is where u step in and say they do )

17-11-2008, 12:21:00

TopSecret
They do

It has a graphic equaliser function, with the track name etc. when playing music. I don't think it shows the album art though or works with iTunes.

17-11-2008, 12:36:10

Rastalovich
Yeah it's their "own thing" type of equalizer aint it. I reckon some1 should be bold and map exactly what the players display.

17-11-2008, 16:10:42

Kerotan
Good review, but I think you should change the load/idle temp graphs so they both scale in x from 0 to 70, as at first glance I thought you were getting lower load temps! I dunno whether I could be fussed with an LCD tbh, does add a bit of wow factor to the case though.

11-04-2010, 14:47:45

dwf1
"Take, for example, the very limited space between the PSU and the hard drive when installed. I cannot understand why Sliverstone did not pick up on this when the case was still in the design stage."

Don't you think a 750 watt ps is overkill? 400 should be more than enough for a htpc and you can find a smaller size ps that won't have the space issues. IMHO Thanks for the review the build is helpful b/c I am about to use a simular case if not the same.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.