SilenX Ixtrema 80 & 120 Quiet Fans

Testing

Temperature Testing

For this part of the review I'm going to compare the Ixtrema 120mm fan against the stock case fan included with my Silverstone TJ05 case. Unfortunately I don't have any specs for the stock fan, but this should give you a good idea of what temperature differences you will see by replacing your stock case fans.

Temperatures for the Ixtrema 80mm fan will be compared with the fan both enabled and disabled on the G.Skill RAM.

All readings were taken after 1hr of prime95 with room temperature maintained at 21oc.


80mm Temps

Without doubt the Ixtrema 80mm fan reduced the temperature of my RAM significantly. What's more impressive is that it did it without adding any noticeable noise to my machine.

120mm Results

Results from the Ixtrema 120mm were equally as impressive - cooling my internal case temperature a further 3.1°C over the stock Silverstone case fan.


Noise Testing

At present Overclock3D doesn't have the correct equipment to reproduce accurate stats on the dBA output, so for the moment you will have to rely on my ear :)

SilenX certainly live up to their name in this department. Both the 80mm and 120mm Ixtrema's were so silent I was hardly able to ear them running at 30cm away. Only with my ear pushed up close to the fans could i hear the whisper of air being pushed out of the fan. I would estimate that the dBA of the fans to be a little higher than the 14dBA as rated by SilenX - but only by a small margin.

I have no reservations in recommending these fans to people who are looking for silent HTPC solutions, or for those people who simply want a quiet fan to sit atop their heatsink.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-05-2006, 07:07:50

JN
Silence is golden, but gold always comes with a hefty price tag.

If you are looking to silence your machine, are the SilenX Ixtrema series of fans worth your money?

See the Review Here

30-05-2006, 07:15:59

WC Annihilus
nicely done man

30-05-2006, 07:28:36

JN
Please note that Page #1 currently has problems. I'm just performing a restore from Sunday's backups

30-05-2006, 07:30:32

WC Annihilus
O wow, it's even worse than it was before...

30-05-2006, 07:44:57

FarFarAway
Review is taken down while XMS repairs the review

30-05-2006, 09:11:38

JN
Fixed

30-05-2006, 09:25:18

Dav0s
still no link

30-05-2006, 09:28:56

JN
Fixed

30-05-2006, 10:49:46

mr_fishbulb
~14dBA at full speed? That's quiet - My 99p 120mm ebuyer ones are in the low-mid 30s!

Good review

30-05-2006, 11:04:12

FarFarAway
Its worth noting the the Xtreme Performance (38mm) ones that are not featured in the review are a fair bit louder

30-05-2006, 13:19:19

Ham
Dam they nice. Could do with one to replace the jet-engine/****cmf fans i have. But 16 for a fan is way out for me .

30-05-2006, 14:24:13

NickS
Nice review man, I enjoyed it. Those are some nice lookin fans, too.

You should try and get some Yate Loon 120MM fan's, people love them!!

Nick

30-05-2006, 14:29:31

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickS

You should try and get some Yate Loon 120MM fan's, people love them!!

Nick
Yeah i might try and see if we can test some of those out - i've heard good things about them too.

30-05-2006, 14:56:36

MeltedDuron
you know if those Ixtrema's come in 92mm? I could really use one for my case...

30-05-2006, 15:02:39

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MeltedDuron'
you know if those Ixtrema's come in 92mm? I could really use one for my case...
They do indeed, and Specialtech sell them

30-05-2006, 17:03:07

glocktodahead
Thanks for the review, I'll be sure to look into them when upgrading my cooling system

30-05-2006, 21:12:48

Raven
looks like good fans but no way they will come to my "backwater" country

31-05-2006, 03:21:49

FarFarAway
SpecialTech would most likely send them mate

31-05-2006, 12:32:33

Raven
they would but the price is abit out of my range so will go with cheaper fans.

06-03-2007, 14:27:37

markkleb
I know you dont like to bring back old threads but this is a good one. Especially now the fans are less $$

Excellent review XMS, probably one of the first that I have read that is accurate.

And they are not just quiet but very well made.

06-03-2007, 14:56:38

mrapoc
My silverstone fans move barely nothing and make nothing but noise lol.

06-03-2007, 15:37:08

FarFarAway
Beware of the deeper fans tho. They shift air for sure, but they can be noisy at full

06-03-2007, 15:40:15

mrapoc
Think ill deffo replace in intake 120mm, does feck all

09-03-2010, 05:55:22

CRAZYCAP
Thanks for the review mate.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.