SilenX Ixtrema 80 & 120 Quiet Fans

Appearance

Appearance

Painted in colour I can only describe as gun-metal, and with the looks of a Jet engine the Ixtrema fans look like they mean business.


Ixtrema 80mm Ixtrema 120mm

Ixtrema 80mm Ixtrema 120mm

Ixtrema 80mm & 120mm

Each fan comes with a 3-pin fan cable, which is capable of sending fan speed information to your motherboard. Also included in the pack is a 3pin to 4pin converter, 4 standard fan screws and 4 rubber fan plugs that can be used in place of the screws to dampen vibrations.

80mm In Case

Unfortunately my Silverstone TJ05 didn't have any space for an 80mm fan, so I thought it might be a good idea to put the fan to use on my heavily overclocked G.Skill memory, which was hitting 44oc and giving me a few stability issues. After a bit of messing around, I found some screws long enough to bolt it on to the holes in my Swiftech waterblock. The Ixtrema made an amazing difference to the temperature, as you can see on the next page.

120mm Installed

120mm Installed 120mm Installed

As you can see from the pictures above, the 120mm Ixtrema could easily be installed using the standard fan screws, however, in order to use the vibration dampening plugs I was required to remove the fan grill as the plugs were too short.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-05-2006, 07:07:50

JN
Silence is golden, but gold always comes with a hefty price tag.

If you are looking to silence your machine, are the SilenX Ixtrema series of fans worth your money?

See the Review Here

30-05-2006, 07:15:59

WC Annihilus
nicely done man

30-05-2006, 07:28:36

JN
Please note that Page #1 currently has problems. I'm just performing a restore from Sunday's backups

30-05-2006, 07:30:32

WC Annihilus
O wow, it's even worse than it was before...

30-05-2006, 07:44:57

FarFarAway
Review is taken down while XMS repairs the review

30-05-2006, 09:11:38

JN
Fixed

30-05-2006, 09:25:18

Dav0s
still no link

30-05-2006, 09:28:56

JN
Fixed

30-05-2006, 10:49:46

mr_fishbulb
~14dBA at full speed? That's quiet - My 99p 120mm ebuyer ones are in the low-mid 30s!

Good review

30-05-2006, 11:04:12

FarFarAway
Its worth noting the the Xtreme Performance (38mm) ones that are not featured in the review are a fair bit louder

30-05-2006, 13:19:19

Ham
Dam they nice. Could do with one to replace the jet-engine/****cmf fans i have. But 16 for a fan is way out for me .

30-05-2006, 14:24:13

NickS
Nice review man, I enjoyed it. Those are some nice lookin fans, too.

You should try and get some Yate Loon 120MM fan's, people love them!!

Nick

30-05-2006, 14:29:31

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickS

You should try and get some Yate Loon 120MM fan's, people love them!!

Nick
Yeah i might try and see if we can test some of those out - i've heard good things about them too.

30-05-2006, 14:56:36

MeltedDuron
you know if those Ixtrema's come in 92mm? I could really use one for my case...

30-05-2006, 15:02:39

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MeltedDuron'
you know if those Ixtrema's come in 92mm? I could really use one for my case...
They do indeed, and Specialtech sell them

30-05-2006, 17:03:07

glocktodahead
Thanks for the review, I'll be sure to look into them when upgrading my cooling system

30-05-2006, 21:12:48

Raven
looks like good fans but no way they will come to my "backwater" country

31-05-2006, 03:21:49

FarFarAway
SpecialTech would most likely send them mate

31-05-2006, 12:32:33

Raven
they would but the price is abit out of my range so will go with cheaper fans.

06-03-2007, 14:27:37

markkleb
I know you dont like to bring back old threads but this is a good one. Especially now the fans are less $$

Excellent review XMS, probably one of the first that I have read that is accurate.

And they are not just quiet but very well made.

06-03-2007, 14:56:38

mrapoc
My silverstone fans move barely nothing and make nothing but noise lol.

06-03-2007, 15:37:08

FarFarAway
Beware of the deeper fans tho. They shift air for sure, but they can be noisy at full

06-03-2007, 15:40:15

mrapoc
Think ill deffo replace in intake 120mm, does feck all

09-03-2010, 05:55:22

CRAZYCAP
Thanks for the review mate.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.